English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2011, 21:44   #1
Aberuns
 
Posts: n/a
Accelerator or Ram card?

Hi all,

As I said in my intro I have recently bought an A1200 with a HDD and WHDlead in stalled with some games on it. Now I have noticed that the stock A1200 struggles with some games that load form the HDD. I have read that an accelerator card can help.

So my question is: Do I need an accelerator card, if so what type should I get, or will a Ram expansion be enough?

I don't want to play an 3D games like Gloom? just all the old classics like Zool, SWOS, Speedball, James Pond etc.

Thanks for reading.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 March 2011, 22:01   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi!

For what you want to do a 4 or 8mb Trapdoor Ram Upgrade will be perfect

Just don't pay the inflated 60-70 ebay prices, keep an eye on Amibay and our marketplace here or make a wanted ad.

For 85 you can get one of Individual Computers brand new ACA1230 Accelerators

All the best,

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 22:02   #3
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aberuns View Post
Do I need an accelerator card, if so what type should I get, or will a Ram expansion be enough?
For what you are saying you want, you don't need an accelerator card.

For an Amiga 1200 to be a good WHDLoad machine, all you need is some fast RAM, 4M should be plenty..

I had (have, but not installed) an 8M Fast RAM card that I had jumpered to 4M (I could use a software program to enable the other 4M if needed) and that was plenty. I never needed to even add the other 4M for WHDLoad games. They just worked and worked nicely..

Now, I said "have, but not installed".. Why? I got an accelerator with RAM.

For not much more money than I paid for my RAM card, I got the accelerator.

If you can get a really good deal on the RAM card, you'll be happy with it. But for not much more you can usually find an Accelerator/RAM card...

Either way, you score...
In the words of a great American, "Duh, Winner!!"

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 22:08   #4
Aberuns
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the responses, I will keep an eye out on here and Amibay. Glad you told me that 60 - 70 is inflated as I was the other day about to pay 60 for a 4Mb ram card.

I was thinking of a budget of about 60 so I may hold out and see if I can get an accelerator then. If I do go down this route is there a card you would suggest (speed etc)
 
Old 16 March 2011, 22:15   #5
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
past 15 april i was sold my 1230 with 32 for 60€, i suppose plus 10€ from italy to uk
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 22:22   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aberuns View Post
Thanks for the responses, I will keep an eye out on here and Amibay. Glad you told me that 60 - 70 is inflated as I was the other day about to pay 60 for a 4Mb ram card.

I was thinking of a budget of about 60 so I may hold out and see if I can get an accelerator then. If I do go down this route is there a card you would suggest (speed etc)
For 60 you should be able to get a Blizzard 1220/4, Apollo 1220 or even an M-Tec/Viper 1230 Accelerator which as well as adding 4/8mb ram will give your workbench a nice little boost, about 2-3x as fast as a standard A1200 with Ram Upgrade.

Workbench will be a lot more responsive and you could dabble in the odd emulator/3D game if you wanted to. Although they wont really benefit unless you spend out on a faster card like a Blizzard 1230 MkIV.

Somewhere in the middle you have the new ACA cards, these are brand new released in 2010 and you can find them at Amigakit.

You should be able to fine a 4/8mb upgrade would be about 40

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 09:10   #7
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
A plain RAM card will still double the speed of your machine, but i'd avoid them unless you find one much cheaper than an ACA accelerator. ACA has a ton of RAM onboard as well.

Quite a few games will benefit from an accelerator, not just workbench.


3D simulators, doom clones, emulators:Mac, MSX, gameboy, master system and c64 will all be worthwhile with an accelerator.
khph_re is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 13:44   #8
AndyLandy
Registered User
AndyLandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southampton / UK
Posts: 91
Like others have said, the ACA1230/28 is a CPU accelerator (68030@28MHz) with 64MB FastRAM on it. They're retailing for ~85, which is a fantastic price. If your budget will stretch to that, I'd go for it.

If you want to go for something less, pay less for it! Roughly don't pay more than:
70 for an '030 that's limited to 4/8 MB FastRAM
55 for an '020 that's limited to 4/8 MB FastRAM
40 for a plain 4/8 MB FastRAM card

Don't buy a PCMCIA SRAM card, it'll be slow as hell and probably quite pricey too.

I bought a 4MB card on Amibay a few months ago (before the ACAs were announced) and paid about 50, including shipping and some other bits and pieces. I'm very happy with it in my A1200.
AndyLandy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help. Accelerator card breaks startup-sequence scsi.device (CF Card)? ibsimpson Hardware mods 1 09 May 2012 16:12
WTB-A1200 - Accelerator or ram card for WHDLoad machine tekkendp MarketPlace 0 15 June 2010 06:41
For sale on Ebay, Amitek Hawk ram accelerator card with 8 MB simm miggy1974 MarketPlace 2 13 December 2008 23:42
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 14:43
How do I i.d. my accelerator card? Spadger support.Hardware 4 31 March 2006 12:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13438 seconds with 11 queries