English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 March 2011, 14:29   #1
Bishmanrock
Registered User

Bishmanrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK, North East
Age: 29
Posts: 24
Amiga as a live music controller

Iya,
(Apologies in advance if this is in the wrong section, couldn't quite find a perfect place for it and I figured it was probably a bit of beginner question).

Possible stupid question incoming, but trying to google for this doesn't bring up many relevant results: Is there any amazing reason to use an Amiga as a music controller in a live environment (preferably a reason better than street credz)?

I've been looking for a way to incorperate a new sound into my bands performance, and I've got an Amiga 1200 and considering we were looking into incorperating a sort of retro sci-fi feel, the lightbulb inside my head flickered. Looking on Wikipedia turns out some bands who did use them in the 90's, but it doesn't say how and there are no videos of their live performances on YouTube. Anything else I've found is in a controlled studio environment.

Is there any reason to use an Amiga over a laptop\midi controller, or is it just too much of an uphill struggle even considering it? Seems a bit of waste just sat on my desk, I'm sure the poor little guy aspires to be more

Thanks in advance!
Bishmanrock is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 March 2011, 15:17   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Hi! I really hope that someone here can guide you!

Knowing that there is another Amiga out there mixing it up, sounds fantastic!
DDNI is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 16:50   #3
Bishmanrock
Registered User

Bishmanrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK, North East
Age: 29
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Hi! I really hope that someone here can guide you!
I hope so too! If someone can do it with a NES, why not an Amiga?

The only thing I can see being the actual problem is the software side itself. Unless there's some software out there that just boots straight into it and allows switching samples via the keyboard, I guess I'm gonna have to get one of those PSOne LCD screens and latch it onto the Amiga. Can imagine that being a nightmare to use on stage though :\
Bishmanrock is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 18:28   #4
sneeker
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester!
Posts: 158
Theres a video on youtube of a guy called ctrix at debug live, he's using 2 a500's iirc in a live setting, might be worth watching to see what he's using.
sneeker is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 20:02   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
get a sampler, find some software and do some realtime sound effects
and tell us how you get on, good luck and may the ribbits be with you
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 21:22   #6
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
get a sampler, find some software and do some realtime sound effects
and tell us how you get on,
I fear the sound quality with a 8 bit sampler and realtime effects like TechnoSoundTurbo software wouldn`t good enough.

I guess there don`t exists any software for live music performance. Of course you can use an A1200 just for fun. About 10-15 years ago Amigashockforce used two A1200 + soundcard + digiboosterpro for live act. Maybe it depends on what kind of music/style/result/art/... you plan. You can have a look at sound/mod-player, sampling/midi software but how handy that is I don`t know. Just play some samples via keyboard is easy by using tracker software like protracker, octamed, digiboosterpro.
daxb is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 21:50   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
At least KONEY and these Aussies used an Amiga in their performances (quite sure Akira himself did aswell, but can't find any post about it right now).

Last edited by TCD; 14 March 2011 at 23:19. Reason: typo
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 08:55   #8
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 506
I did something similar way back in the 90s for a friend's party. I used a Technosound Turbo MIDI adapter (I'm sure that was the model... I've still got it somewhere) and Octamed Pro running up to 64 channels (although I think, in reality, we only used 16!!). The sound was generated by my mate's uncle's Korg, so the sound was pretty fantastic! Remember, MIDI is only the signal. If you have a good enough sound generator you can get professional sound controlled by any device capable of communicating via MIDI.

We also ran a couple of audio-visual demos on a huge 33" CRT TV Vision Megademo IV never looked so good! The audio for the demos was piped through my Kenwood pro-logic amp and, at the time, seemed brilliant. Whether or not it would hold up today remains to be seen - I've got a Korg Piano Generator which can be controlled by my Acer Aspire One Netbook. Small, light and pro-sounding.

Best of luck with the project and let us know how you get on
LuMan is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 01:53   #9
Bishmanrock
Registered User

Bishmanrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK, North East
Age: 29
Posts: 24
Thanks for the awesome responses! I've been looking into each one since yesterday. Think it's just gonna be a case of getting it set up so it's functional and then just assess it from there.

The idea was to use it in a 80s inspired rock\metal band, the entire band is focused around a sci-fi concept similar to that of The Terminator\Flashback etc, using fairly dark synth sounds. There's no actualy requirement to have an Amiga in the band, I just thought it'd be one of those "Hey, that's kinda interesting" things and give me something extra to do on stage :P

Wether the performance of it will actually suit a band environment remains to be seen, but hopefully I'll know in due time
Bishmanrock is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 10:01   #10
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Indeed I think the best way is to try it out, audio quality is`t everything
Though posting your experiences back here is especily if you got pics and/or some vids

anyway good luck and have fun, and space cadets every where get ready for take off again
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Live Crew cracktro music mai request.Modules 11 03 April 2011 21:07
Amiga Music Preservation Forum goes LIVE! Crown Amiga scene 4 12 November 2009 22:16
Another live Amiga act wilshy Amiga scene 6 02 August 2009 06:36
I must live in an Amiga graveyard... DPainter MarketPlace 24 07 February 2005 18:09
Amiga Live image processor thinlega MarketPlace 2 14 March 2002 22:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26997 seconds with 11 queries