English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2011, 09:41   #41
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Who's gonna want to quit on a CDTV with no workbench?

The downsides to having a 68010 (lots of demos and games on floppy disk no longer work) out weigh the ability to quit WHDload games and return to the OS.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 March 2011, 20:00   #42
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Who's gonna want to quit on a CDTV with no workbench?

The downsides to having a 68010 (lots of demos and games on floppy disk no longer work) out weigh the ability to quit WHDload games and return to the OS.
Valid point considering I've shelled out 70chops on the HxC floppy emulator


I may try this if it frees up some of the memory used by the CDTV only functions:

1 Open the CDTV up, and remove the jumper on JP15, which is near the front centre of the CDTV.
2 Removing this jumper disables the CDTV functions, placing it on the left two or right two pins (it doesn't matter which)
will enable the CDTV functions.
3 Put a SPST switch across the left two or right two pins and this would allow you to disable and enable your CD-ROM.
4 Enabling or disabling the CDTV function should be done with the CDTV power off.


Just to consider costs, where could I find a SCSI to IDE adapter and how much?

Last edited by CDTV1991; 10 March 2011 at 21:09.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 21:46   #43
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Bits have arrived so here's some photos














Last edited by TCD; 14 March 2011 at 22:08. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use the edit function.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 14 March 2011, 22:50   #44
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
It works!

Got Robocod working ok. Gods stopped when it asked me to insert disc 2. Killing Game Show didn't work, but doesn't work in WinUAE either with the CDTV extended ROM.

Now more testing, fitting it inside and making up my joystick and mouse ports
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 00:04   #45
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
where could I find a SCSI to IDE adapter and how much?
Finding a SCSI->IDE adapter is fairly easy (if expensive). Finding the CDTV SCSI host card is practically impossible.

There are three known to work with Amiga SCSI host cards.

1) Acard AEC-7720U and they sell on eBay USA for about $45 cheapest. You'll need to find a way to get it to the UK (i.e. a USA EAB member). They come up in the UK but for many times more.

2) Yamaha V769970, these came with an old SCSI CD-ROM drive they sell about 30-60 on eBay UK.

3) I-O Data R-IDSC-E/R these were available for about 50 but prices have doubled recently

I got a load of these... but they are 2.5" SCSI

http://online.century.co.jp/Bittrade.../chb25int.html

Much cheaper and practical to fit an IDE68k if you want a hard drive. But as you probably know this rules out / makes it impractical to add a memory upgrade.

Last edited by alexh; 15 March 2011 at 00:15.
alexh is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 23:23   #46
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
I'll give the HDD and interface a miss, sounds expensive.

Bought an Amiga to scart cable from eBay, 14

Waiting for the rest of my joystick port bits

More testing of the HxC tomorrow

Last edited by CDTV1991; 16 March 2011 at 21:19. Reason: damned typo!
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 09:57   #47
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
for more compatibilty, remove jumper near fatagnus, it disable extra rom in cdtv
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 13:09   #48
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
Bought an Amiga to start cable from eBay, 14
Heh, SCART... sounds expensive for a cheap one but if it is a good quality one, fully wired then it is a good price.
alexh is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 21:18   #49
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Heh, SCART... sounds expensive for a cheap one but if it is a good quality one, fully wired then it is a good price.
Hate typos!

advert from ebay

CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 21:31   #50
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
I bought a few things from them when they were the Sinclair shop.... my experiences were 50:50. They sent me the wrong PSU for my Amstrad CPC 6128 plus (eventually admitting they never sold one before).

Their Amstrad CPC 6128 plus SCART cable worked great (again I was the first one ever to buy one and had to confirm the pinout for them).
alexh is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 21:37   #51
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Alex, any news on the keyboard?
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 01:19   #52
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
It's sitting on the side waiting for me to find time to re-wire my extender cable to use it with A4000.
alexh is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 14:24   #53
AndyLandy
Registered User
AndyLandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southampton / UK
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
Yes I have, but it seems that I wasn't looking hard enough!

I now see that the CDTV has ECS chipset and 1MB Chip RAM.

Do some Amiga games require more Chip/Fast RAM? It never seemed to be a concern back in the day when I had an A500+ and then an A1200.
Strictly speaking:

There are two chips involved in the difference between OCS and ECS. Denise and Agnus:
Denise is easy: There are two types, the OCS Denise (MOS 8362) and the ECS 'Super' Denise (MOS 8373). The ECS Denise provides the additional display screenmodes associated with the ECS chipset.

Agnus is a little more complicated: There are many different revisions (See the Wikipedia article for more information.) For the purposes of this discussion, there are three 'classes' of Agnus. The original Agnus and Fat Agnus (MOS 8371) can only address 512k of ChipRAM, these are most definitely OCS. The A500+, A600 and A3000 have 2MB ChipRAM Agnus chips (8375, 8372B), these are most definitely ECS.

The only room for debate is the 8372A Agnus, which can address up to 1MB of ChipRAM. You find these:
  • In r6 A500s, configured with only 512k chip
  • In r6 A2000s, configured for the full 1MB chip
  • In the CDTV, again with 1MB chip
(As an aside, Kickstart is often included with OCS/ECS differences, since 2.0 was released at the same time as the ECS.)

Invariably, machines with 8372A Agnuses shipped with OCS Denise and Kickstart 1.3, so it's hard to justify it as 'ECS', but it's certainly a step up from the earlier 512k chips. I tend to refer to it as the 'half-ECS Agnus'

This is the case with the CDTV, it shipped with Kick 1.3 and OCS Denise. Of course, if you swap the Denise for a Super Denise, plug in a Megachip and give it Kickstart 2.0 or higher, to all intents and purposes it becomes a full ECS machine.

Of course, just to cause confusion, there are many examples of people getting mixed chipsets when they bought A500s or A2000s near the ECS debut.
AndyLandy is offline  
Old 17 March 2011, 22:49   #54
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Update:

1. Removed jumper 15 mainly because I needed another one for the HxC it also made a few more games work like killing gameshow and hunter.

2. Decided that I can't fit the HxC LCD screen on the front panel of the CDTV and I'd rather it not be external. Needs a rethink

3. Realised that the HxC buttons are a pain to use. I can't get the HxC auto booting interface to work as I don't have a keyboard. Looks good though.

4. Can't get drive 2 DF1 to work on HxC, needs more learning

5. The new video cable arrived. It's absolutely brilliant, night and day compared to composite video.

6. Bought some a500 chips, will check if one is an ecs Denise


HDD Question : If I need a CDTV SCSI interface AND a SCSI to IDE adapter then it seems like if I can't find a CDTV SCSI adapter then the option of a HDD is scuppered?

Last edited by CDTV1991; 18 March 2011 at 22:16.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 18 March 2011, 22:17   #55
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186


I need to find an enclosure to put this in for the time being, while I think about internal mounting options. Just need somewhere to put that screen

Last edited by CDTV1991; 18 March 2011 at 22:44.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 19 March 2011, 01:00   #56
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
It seems to be going well so far:

The plan:

1. get hxc inside the cdtv box, get keyboard control going to avoid using the hxc buttons

2. fit cd-rom disable switch

3. fit new joystick+mouse ports

possible:

4. compact flash HDD via IDE vid SCSI providing I can do this for less than 75
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 24 March 2011, 15:22   #57
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
4. compact flash HDD via IDE vid SCSI providing I can do this for less than 75
You cannot.

I'll try and sort the CDTV keyboard out next week.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 21:04   #58
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I'll try and sort the CDTV keyboard out next week.
any luck?
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 21:08   #59
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
I can't be arsed to test it. So either you have it sold as seen or I put it back in the loft? Sorry.

I'd ask someone else... there must be lots of people like me who bought their CDTV keyboards soley for the black keys
alexh is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 23:10   #60
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
I broke my CDTV while looking for places to fit the joystick and mouse ports. Booted up to a green screen.

Turns out I put one of the chips in the wrong way

All fine now

Fool!
CDTV1991 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photos, Videos and Future Plans of Finnish Amiga Users Group's Saku Event jPV News 1 08 October 2012 01:54
WTB: CDTV laser, or CDTV drive, or CDTV chiark MarketPlace 15 09 February 2010 11:04
Were there ever plans for theese sequels? plasmatron project.aGTW 44 28 September 2003 01:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32903 seconds with 11 queries