English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2011, 21:23   #1
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Question Help me with my possibly unrealistic CDTV plans

I have a CDTV with a standard remote control. The motherboard version is 2.2.1. No keyboard, mouse or floppy drive.

I'd like to run Amiga 500 compatible games on the CDTV but not from floppies.

1) Firstly, even to run most Amiga 500 games from a floppy drive would I need to expand the CDTV? i.e. Memory, ROMs etc?

2) Is it possible, by whatever hack/coding is necessary to run Amiga 500 games direct from a CD or possibly a specially created compilation CD?

3) Alternatively, could I run ADF files from some sort of HDD or flash card? Is this what that WHDload thing is?

I've done a fair bit of searching on the CDTV, but before I spend any more time and possibly money I'd just like to know that these are feasible.

If not then I stick with WinUAE and keep the CDTV as a cool retro-ornament under our main TV. I don't fancy getting an A1200 as I like the whole entertainment appliance concept of the CDTV.

I would consider turning it into a capable "normal" amiga to be able to achieve point 3), even if it means losing the CD-ROM drive capability.

Thanks in advance

Rich

Last edited by CDTV1991; 01 March 2011 at 21:29.
CDTV1991 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 March 2011, 21:53   #2
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
you show be able to run A500 game, any amiga external disk drive will do, you can make a CD compilation http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=cdtv. Here's a cool launcher, by gibs, http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=cdtv.
If you've not got any games you could get a couple from http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43633

DonAmiga is offline  
Old 01 March 2011, 22:01   #3
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
WHDLOAD is basically a method that lets you boot games from your HDD, a lot of games on the Amiga only supported booting from floppy disks. WHDLOAD games are also often patched to fix bugs in the original games, i believe a few improve gameplay on some games.

However most WHDLOAD games require more power than their floppy counterparts.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 01 March 2011, 22:28   #4
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Thanks. I'll check those links out now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
WHDLOAD is basically a method that lets you boot games from your HDD, a lot of games on the Amiga only supported booting from floppy disks. WHDLOAD games are also often patched to fix bugs in the original games, i believe a few improve gameplay on some games.

However most WHDLOAD games require more power than their floppy counterparts.
So WHDLOAD allows non-HD games (floppy only games) to boot from a HDD. So if the CDTV does not have a HDD I'd need to try and run them from a CD.

What do you mean by requiring more "power" than their floppy counterparts, do you mean CPU or RAM or both?

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonAmiga View Post
you show be able to run A500 game, any amiga external disk drive will do, you can make a CD compilation http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=cdtv. Here's a cool launcher, by gibs, http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=cdtv.
If you've not got any games you could get a couple from http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43633

That Tiny Launcher by gibs would the be perfect answer, providing it was editable to add games to the list. Shame it isn't available for download or purchase. Its got to be worth that guy finishing that and selling it. I'd pay a decent sum for it.

Last edited by TCD; 01 March 2011 at 22:33. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use the edit function.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 01 March 2011, 23:33   #5
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
I'm trying Lennon Lives' "AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit" in WinUAE emulationg a CD32 and it seems to work with the games I've downloaded.

Will this work for CDTV? I'll try in WinUAE and if that is ok then try burning a disc.

Last edited by CDTV1991; 01 March 2011 at 23:38.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 01 March 2011, 23:39   #6
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
if you use the CDTV developer kit ! http://static.cd32-allianz.de/downlo...eveloperKit.7z


let me know how you get on, may give it a try
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 00:22   #7
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
You want to check this, a loader from Gibs thats in the works:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ight=gibs+cdtv
kriz is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 04:37   #8
BigFairy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 70
try a floppy emulator, like the HxC Floppy emulator. It allows SD cards to be used instead of real floppy's. I have a 16Gb SD card in mine completely full of ADF images.
BigFairy is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 08:22   #9
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
Hardly any if any!! WHDload/JST Games will run on an unexpanded Kick 1.3 - 1mb chip CDTV - you'd have to use an early version of JST for Kick 1.3
AGS as used by the AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit is AGA only
Gibs CDTV is Kick 3.1 with memory expansion - Menu666 in the Zone should work on your setup - but without the power to run WHDload no commerical games would be possible.

:some games that have there own HD installs like Monkey Islands should work.

BigFairy advice seems like a good option

Last edited by Retro1234; 02 March 2011 at 08:31.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 15:35   #10
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I have read that if you can update the proms to v2.3 then it would be possible to upgrade the kickstart.
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 15:49   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
There is also the 'mini mega chip' that will give you 2mb chip ram.

Commodore originally did an external scsi HD so maybe you could use something similar?
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 16:10   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
AFAIK you are not going to be able to run WHDload titles from an unmodified CDTV.

It has KS1.3 (WHDload requires 2.0+) and has only 1Mbyte of RAM of which some is eaten by the CD-ROM driver & WHDLoad core.

Absolute minimum you are going to need is to upgrade the Extended EPROMs (so you can use a higher version of KS than 1.3) and the Kickstart EPROM (perhaps to a dual KS1.3/3.1) to use WHDload at all. This will be cheap, perhaps 20 for the three chips programmed.

Then you'll probably need a RAM upgrade (which are not cheap for CDTV, 70-100) to be able to run the majority of titles.

You can add a hard drive to CDTV for maximum flexibility, but again not cheap. 80 for a CFIDECP + CF card or 100+ for a Vulcan SCSI controller + SCSI drive.

You could *possibly* create a bootable CD with some HDloaders which do run on KS1.3 (see the JST thing above) but finding such titles will be a feat in itself.

Last edited by alexh; 02 March 2011 at 16:19.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 20:51   #13
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Thanks to everyone giving some really good advice so far. However there's also a few misleading responses.

I now understand that in general WHDload titles can't from an unmodified CDTV. I'll take this as fact and accept that I will have to modify my CDTV.

I also understand that the Lennon Lives "AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit" will not be suitable as it requires an AGA machine, therefore there's no point in looking at it further.

Also the Gibs "Tiny Launcher" is not available, therefore there's no point in looking at this further (until its available)

So the next question is can I run WHDload games from a CD? (providing my CDTV is modified to include the Extended EPROMs + Kickstart EPROM (to give a dual KS1.3/3.1) and a RAM upgrade).

I'm ruling an internal HDD out You can add a hard drive to and ruling out
a floppy drive emulator for now as I'd like to keep it all in one box.

Thanks so far all!

Rich
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 21:23   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
Also the Gibs "Tiny Launcher" is not available, therefore there's no point in looking at this further (until its available)
FYI Tiny Launcher is just a GUI for launching other programs (like WHDLoad).

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
So the next question is can I run WHDload games from a CD? (providing my CDTV is modified to include the Extended EPROMs + Kickstart EPROM (to give a dual KS1.3/3.1) and a RAM upgrade).
Yes, but you cannot (obviously) save. Slaves (games) which try to save (including high score) may have issues but I don't know. WHDload author WEPL will know. As may the author of "Tiny Launcher".

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
I'm ruling an internal HDD out
Yeah, CFIDECP is too expensive for only one or two uses every few months. Such a shame that no-one has mass produced them (or the cheaper IDE68k) to reduce the costs.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 21:57   #15
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
It does seem that the HxC floppy emulator does seem the best way to go. It is 70 from eBay.

I assume I need a RAM upgrade. The Mini Megi 1MB chip mem upgrade is 62 from Vesalia. It would be nice to not need this, perhaps by disabling some of the memory-using CDTV features?

I also assume that with this device I do not need a kickstart or other chip upgrade.

150+ is a lot, but possibly worth it if it works.

Would such a set up be able to run all non-AGA Amiga games?
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 02 March 2011, 23:10   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
It does seem that the HxC floppy emulator does seem the best way to go. It is 70 from eBay.
CDTV has no internal floppy drive connector or power. Not ideal for use with HxC floppy emulator. You will need to buy an external floppy disk drive (any for Amiga will do, 10 off ebay) and replace the internal drive with the HxC floppy emulator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
I assume I need a RAM upgrade.
Not with the floppy emulator. Nor will you require upgraded ROMs. AFAIK, booting from floppy drive disables the CD-ROM drive and releases the RAM it would use. The CDTV's KS1.3 and 1Mbyte Chip RAM will be enough for most floppy games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
The Mini Megi 1MB chip mem upgrade is 62 from Vesalia.
If you get one, make sure it is the PAL version.

Quote:
Would such a set up be able to run all non-AGA Amiga games?
No. Some titles require fast RAM and the MiniMega chip only gives you 2Mbyte chip RAM.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 14:32   #17
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
Thanks for the advice, I'm getting close to a workable solution.

I'm going to buy an external floppy drive from eBay, strip it out and fit the HxC floppy emulator. I eventually hope to fit all this inside the CDTV later, even if it means running the floppy cable out to the rear port. I need to think more about the emulator's LCD screen, buttons and SD card access if I install it inside the machine.

I assume that I can still use the CDTV remote for mouse/joystick use if I booted from a floppy (emulated or not).

The last thing I need to find out is if the floppy disc emulator menu can be controlled by the standard CDTV remote as I don't have a keyboard.
CDTV1991 is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 14:56   #18
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Hi, I use the CDTV remote for mouse/joystick when using floppy's and controls for floppy games.
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 16:10   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
The last thing I need to find out is if the floppy disc emulator menu can be controlled by the standard CDTV remote as I don't have a keyboard.
I'd be curious to know too...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDTV1991 View Post
I need to think more about the emulator's LCD screen, buttons and SD card access if I install it inside the machine.
If the answer to the question above is yes then it doesn't need the LCD screen and needs only one button which (with a bit of electrical & mechanical jiggery pokery) could be wired to the external floppy disk drives eject button.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 21:37   #20
CDTV1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 186
I'll ask the developer of the HxC floppy emulator if the interface needs a keyboard or not for navigation.

I'll mount the floppy emulator inside the CDTV. I'll make a little slot for the SD card at the back. At the least I'd like to create an external button, accessible from the front of the machine. It would be even better if I could take a switch "signal" from a point inside the machine that has been triggered by a press of a button on the remote. I'm assuming that a remote button press would trigger some voltage within the machine that could possibly activate/deactivate a swtich. I suppose its worth a try.

So far this is going well, thanks. However, I'm afraid I've got some more questions:

What type of RAM upgrade do I need to make "more" Amiga games work? Fast RAM, Chip RAM, both?

What chipset does the CDTV have OCS or ECS? Do newer (pre-AGA) games require the ECS chipset?

Thanks

Rich
CDTV1991 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photos, Videos and Future Plans of Finnish Amiga Users Group's Saku Event jPV News 1 08 October 2012 01:54
WTB: CDTV laser, or CDTV drive, or CDTV chiark MarketPlace 15 09 February 2010 11:04
Were there ever plans for theese sequels? plasmatron project.aGTW 44 28 September 2003 01:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24105 seconds with 11 queries