English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2011, 02:44   #1
amigapd
Registered User
amigapd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: london / uk
Posts: 378
File not executable

Whilst waiting to solve the cd32 hard drive toolkit problem I ve tried copying the cd game folder over to a CF card on my Amiga 1200 Pcmcia slot and accessing the games by clicking on the main game file. This works for most games but some games like Jumpem and Lethal Formula (to name but two) require me to assign the folders.

On the cd32 toolkit I had start files e.g. Jumpem.start - I first tried copying these over but got the message -"file not executable" - I then created a new file in notepad + and copied this over without the file extension and called it simply startgame - yet again I got the message - file not executable - I even tried the orignial startup-sequence file in the S directory for the game and got the same message.

Is it easy to create an executable start file for the game or is this not possible when running from a hard drive?

I apologise for my ignorance but I did no programming with my Amiga originally and I ve only learnt about start scripts whilst creating the cd32 compilation.
amigapd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 February 2011, 08:13   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,532
Open a shell and type "protect jumpmem.start +se", this will set the script and executable bit and you can then start jumpmen just like a normal AmigaDOS executable.
StingRay is offline  
Old 22 February 2011, 10:17   #3
amigapd
Registered User
amigapd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: london / uk
Posts: 378
apologies if this is a silly question but am I correct in thinking I will have to give the full file location

protect Cf0:jgames/jumpem.start + se
amigapd is offline  
Old 22 February 2011, 17:59   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,532
Yes, you have to specify the full path of course. Notice that there is no space between + and se, i.e. the correct line would look like this:

protect Cf0:jgames/jumpem.start +se
StingRay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make it executable from WB? bodhi Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 01 August 2013 02:40
Executable script file/arguments shrub3056 support.Apps 1 26 July 2011 18:08
File not executable ancalimon support.WinUAE 8 15 February 2008 17:18
Cybernoid 1 and 2 executable... the wolf request.Old Rare Games 0 29 June 2004 01:54
Genetic Species - the executable Korodny request.Old Rare Games 3 16 March 2003 11:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11882 seconds with 11 queries