English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2011, 16:09   #1
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Frontier Elite II Special Edition

Frontier Elite II SE

DOWNLOAD

view the readme on the disk for the features and bug fixes

which include
removal of copy-protection check (not cracked)
addition of the navigation computer (also seen in FFE)
extra structures and buildings
various bug fixes

its basically the cd32 version running from floppy disk

a new city scape

extra structures and buildings

the navigation computer addon (top of list)

which means you get to select a target like this
Attached Files
File Type: zip Frontier - Elite II SE (2011)(Gametek).zip (526.4 KB, 2420 views)

Last edited by Djay; 20 February 2011 at 22:05.
Djay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2011, 16:54   #2
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Nice one!

I have just created my own configuration file for this version. Its attached below. It uses JIT and gives super smooth graphics. Flying around Olympus Village on Mars (which usually crawls on a real miggy) is perfectly smooth. I run it in a window as fullscreen mode produces sound glitches. Maybe this is due to vsync being selected? I need to play around with the settings for fullscreen mode.

EDIT: Yes, the sound glitches were due to vsync being enabled. Sound is fixed when vsync is disabled in fullscreen mode!

I flew up to and landed next to the windfarm at Olympus Village on Mars. The motion of the turbine blades is incredibly smooth with the settings I'm using. See the screenshot of my craft landed next to the wind farm.

Actually it feels a bit like home. I live about a kilometre away from a windfarm myself! Haha!

I have also attached a save state of the wind farm location.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wind Farm on Mars.png
Views:	2942
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	27950  
Attached Files
File Type: uss Frontier - Wind Turbines.uss (454.9 KB, 251 views)
File Type: uae Frontier CD32.uae (24.5 KB, 336 views)

Last edited by Steve; 20 February 2011 at 19:09.
Steve is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 17:06   #3
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i am playing on real A1200 and the disk version works great, although i have copied to HD now...

i have a blizzard 030/50 64mb which makes Frontier and other stuff super-smooth

[ Show youtube player ]
Djay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 18:55   #4
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Yeh I used to have a 32meg Blizzard 030 back in the day. They're pretty sweet!

I noticed in your text file one of the fixes is for a 'Bride' bug. Never heard of this one. Hmmm... Lets speculate! Maybe once you become an Imperial Prince you get the chance to marry a sexy Princess from Eta Cassiopia. But during the wedding night the game suddenly gurus! lol. Just a guess?

Or did you mean bribe?
Steve is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 19:17   #5
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
lol....

i will fix the typo and re'up i was tempted to leave it!

--

Fixed and and re'upped to Zone and as attachment

Last edited by Djay; 20 February 2011 at 19:27.
Djay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 19:31   #6
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Ha. I've already edited my ADF.

Did you know about the churches? The clocks actually work and show the right time!

You probably already knew this but for those who didn't here is a screenshot and save state of the church clock 'in action' so to speak. lol.

EDIT: Yes, I am playing Frontier in 1080p High Definition! Its what it was made for! lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Olympus Village Church.png
Views:	22208
Size:	162.1 KB
ID:	27956  
Attached Files
File Type: uss Frontier - Olympus Village Church.uss (456.9 KB, 179 views)

Last edited by Steve; 20 February 2011 at 19:40.
Steve is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 19:42   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
some more







if you find anything else upload some piccies
Djay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 21:23   #8
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
I have renamed the 'DataDisk Save' directory on my ADF to just 'save'. I suggest you do the same.

I noticed once I tried to load one of the save files that Frontier wouldn't display the directory, I presume because it has a space in the name.

Once I renamed it to 'save' it appeared and I was able to load a saved position.

Where is that Aggy's Eco Farm? I've flown around Olympus looking for it but to no avail.

Last edited by Steve; 20 February 2011 at 21:28.
Steve is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 21:37   #9
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
good idea! i shall rename now... i also presume that this version will work with a CD32 controller... so i will test and add the button layout to the readme

ok... renamed the Save folder, tested CD32 controller and updated readme with CD32 button layout and controls

removed from the Zone, updated DOWNLOAD on original post!

Last edited by Djay; 20 February 2011 at 22:06.
Djay is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 22:20   #10
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Great stuff!

I eventually found Aggy's Eco Farm. Its written on the back of the turbines themselves.

It seems obvious now. lol.

EDIT: Its funny cos this version was released in 1994 when there weren't any (or very few) windfarms. Now the bloody things are everywhere! At least they are here in the UK. You can't travel more than a few miles (certainly not in North Lincolnshire where I live) without observing a phalanx of turbines. Its almost like being in the Frontier universe where I live, apart from the lack of space ships, space ports and hyperspace of course.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aggy's Eco Farm.png
Views:	573
Size:	110.4 KB
ID:	27963  

Last edited by Steve; 20 February 2011 at 23:25.
Steve is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 23:20   #11
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Great stuff!

I eventually found Aggy's Eco Farm. Its written on the back of the turbines themselves.

It seems obvious now. lol.
well done.. not an easy one to find...

i will do some digging and see if i can find a really hard one
Djay is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 08:18   #12
freehand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisbech
Posts: 119
Thanks Djay & Steve for sharing.

jay.
freehand is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 00:22   #13
Geraldine
Amigas4Ever!
Geraldine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sunny Scotland. Anarchy System Tech Level 0 No Police Presence. Enter At Own Risk!
Posts: 107
Definitely looking forward to trying this out now my CSMkIII is fixed!
Geraldine is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 11:07   #14
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Great stuff!

I eventually found Aggy's Eco Farm. Its written on the back of the turbines themselves.

It seems obvious now. lol.

EDIT: Its funny cos this version was released in 1994 when there weren't any (or very few) windfarms. Now the bloody things are everywhere! At least they are here in the UK. You can't travel more than a few miles (certainly not in North Lincolnshire where I live) without observing a phalanx of turbines. Its almost like being in the Frontier universe where I live, apart from the lack of space ships, space ports and hyperspace of course.
It's just like driving down the A1077 into Scunthorpe :-p

Well, more like flying down.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 17:34   #15
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Nice one uploading this - still one of my all time favourite games. Runs like a dog on my 060 mind - is that just all the extra stuff? How on earth would that have worked on a bog standard cd32? I get about 1fps looking down at base on Mars.
Cheers again And hello - this must be my first Amiga related post in ages! <must stop with the rl stuff> Hope everyone is well.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 18:13   #16
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yeah this is a classic and I never knew about this version so thanks. Loved the original.

I finished the next release "First Encounters" on my AMD 586-P75, the first PC I ever owned, back in the day and loved it. That and Grand Prix 2. Even though it was buggy, it was still fun to finish and get an awesome ship where Frontier never had an ending, just stat build up.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 07 March 2011, 12:45   #17
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
running fine on my A1200 030/50, 64mb using high detail?
Djay is offline  
Old 07 March 2011, 13:38   #18
KevG
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: U.K.
Posts: 93
Quote:
Its funny cos this version was released in 1994 when there weren't any (or very few) windfarms. Now the bloody things are everywhere!
Another prediction that David Braben made was that there were other planets orbiting other stars (extra-solar-planets). Up until about 15 years ago, we thought that our solar system was the only system with planets in it. Now, hundreds of other planets have been discovered - just as David predicted.

Kev G.
KevG is offline  
Old 07 March 2011, 13:58   #19
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
running fine on my A1200 030/50, 64mb using high detail?
Interesting - maybe an 060 specific problem then....it's unplayable on the Blizz. was also set to high by default when the issue occurred...1fps over Mars base. Tried the original immediately after and very fast fps as normal. Will try on my 030 if I think later.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 07 March 2011, 13:59   #20
Geraldine
Amigas4Ever!
Geraldine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sunny Scotland. Anarchy System Tech Level 0 No Police Presence. Enter At Own Risk!
Posts: 107
And there are loads of Hoopy Casinos about these days too!
That is strange musojon74 that you are getting low frame rates. Have you anything running in the background? On the 060 CS MkIII it flies, my goodness does it fly!
Geraldine is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elite II - Frontier mancity support.Games 78 29 August 2013 17:13
Amiga 500 Limited Edition (Stefanie special edition) alkis21 Nostalgia & memories 59 27 March 2013 03:11
Alien Breed Special Edition'92 - special level mailman Nostalgia & memories 7 14 April 2010 09:03
Harlequin Special Edition and Limited Edition Galaxy HOL contributions 1 20 December 2005 10:02
Frontier Elite Gryphon support.Games 2 25 July 2001 07:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37249 seconds with 12 queries