English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2011, 21:20   #1
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
minimig question - should i buy one?

Hi Guys,
I currently use a 1200 with whdload and cf card adapter.
I was just wondering if a minimig would also serve my purpose?
can it play whdload titles and AGA and CD32 etc
thanks for your time
Steve
pubzombie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 February 2011, 21:25   #2
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,489
A minimig will not be usefull for that. Think of the Minimig as an expanded A500/A600 but nothing more.
Instead just look forward for the soon to be released FpgaArcade (http://www.fpgaarcade.com/) which supports AGA and has a performance of an expanded A1200.

My 2 cents.
gulliver is offline  
Old 18 February 2011, 21:31   #3
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
A minimig will not be usefull for that. Think of the Minimig as an expanded A500/A600 but nothing more.
Instead just look forward for the soon to be released FpgaArcade (http://www.fpgaarcade.com/) which supports AGA and has a performance of an expanded A1200.

My 2 cents.
My new friend
your 2 cents may be worth much much more
ty
pubzombie is offline  
Old 18 February 2011, 21:59   #4
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,489
No problem

Cheers
gulliver is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 00:25   #5
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 42
Posts: 431
Yeah the minimig is not AGA. But it does have scandoubled VGA out which is nice.
Parsec is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 21:01   #6
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubzombie View Post
Hi Guys,
I currently use a 1200 with whdload and cf card adapter.
I was just wondering if a minimig would also serve my purpose?
can it play whdload titles and AGA and CD32 etc
thanks for your time
Steve
Well ,

With Minimig with 2mb of ram , you'll be able to perfectly replace an A500 as Yagube did a lot in last firmware.

Adding it 2mb for an amount of 4mb , without ARM controler you won't have much more , of course you'll be able to emulate an A600 with hard drive but that will be really slow.

Now 4mb + ARM controler +SPI mode , you'll have a nice A6OO with HD and whdload for a lot of games !!

The real thing to keep in mind is that the Minimig was done to "replace" an A500 and it does it perfectly...AND Yagube is still there and is looking for IPF on Minimig so the story continue !!
lolafg is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 22:04   #7
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 37
Posts: 1,120
Does the Minimig works 50mhz with the last update?

The Minimig only fails for not having AGA but is a BIG mistake.

FpgArcade sounds very interesting,when will it be available? and how much?
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 22:14   #8
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by frikilokooo View Post
Does the Minimig works 50mhz with the last update?

The Minimig only fails for not having AGA but is a BIG mistake.

FpgArcade sounds very interesting,when will it be available? and how much?
Yes Goal!friend , 50mhz with last firmware .
It boots a Classic workbench in 3 seconds...
lolafg is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 22:15   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,565
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolafg View Post
Yes Goal!friend , 50mhz with last firmware .
It boots a Classic workbench in 3 seconds...
If you have the ARM Controller, .
FOL is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 23:39   #10
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 37
Posts: 1,120
It is no very important to me but are there future plans for the implementation of the AGA chip on the Minimig?
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 01:11   #11
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
fol are amigakit gonna be stocking the fgp arcade when its ready to be shipped?
Kitty is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 01:14   #12
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,489
@frikilokooo

Hola,
The FpgaArcade will be 200 euro + shipping costs in the first batch (to cover NRE costs). Later batches are estimated at about 150 euros.
There is an add-on with some extra features that is included on some FpgaArcade models, available at 20 euro extra.

I dont know if this is a fact, but I believe there isnt enough space on the fpga of the Minimig to build the AGA functionality. Anyway, it will probably require a talented Amiga and fpga coder to implement it. Chances are that when the FpgaArcade gets released, someone will pick their AGA implementation sourcecode (as it will be open source), and build upon it for the Minimig.

Availability of the FpgaArcade I was told was estimated in 1Q2011

Saludos
gulliver is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 01:33   #13
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 37
Posts: 1,120
Will FpgaArcade have any case?,I know it's an amateur project but the external appearance is very important to me,thanks!
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 07:37   #14
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,489
Will fit inside PC ITX cases. It is just a fully populated motherboard, nothing else.
gulliver is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 12:02   #15
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 37
Posts: 1,120
I suggest a box like this

frikilokooo is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 13:45   #16
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
WTF -
the misses would throw me and the minimig out. Its cold in the shed this time of year.
still tempted to get the minimig to play my very old faves
pubzombie is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 15:30   #17
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
where you planning on buying the minimig 'cause amigakit have been sold out for a while now.
Kitty is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 17:49   #18
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
We are not sold out of Minimig. We have stock at the moment here:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...g/?cPath=40_97
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 18:04   #19
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
well looking at some of the silly bids i get trumped on @ Erobber - this may be a very good purchase for R&D at work
pubzombie is offline  
Old 09 March 2011, 11:29   #20
Emu Amiga
Super dooper Amiga fan
Emu Amiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles / USA
Age: 50
Posts: 109
Looks pretty sweet to me, I gave up my old A500 years ago. I really don't play AGA games so i really tempted to pick up one as soon as i can. Great thread.
Emu Amiga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MiniMig Video generation question... Hardware guru's help :) bloodline support.Hardware 19 16 January 2013 11:46
Minimig question lolafg support.Hardware 10 01 October 2010 16:55
minimig memory question webhead Hardware mods 2 28 July 2009 14:50
Minimig parts to buy Joe Maroni MarketPlace 233 06 June 2009 09:47
A4000T - to buy or not to buy? DPainter MarketPlace 31 31 May 2002 00:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25961 seconds with 11 queries