English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2011, 01:37   #1
GurjSagoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Birmingham (UK)
Posts: 30
cd rom drive for the amiga 1200

like the title says people. how to i attach 1. or which 1 do i buy. do i have to get the 1 that was designed for the amiga or can i buy a OMP 1 and connect it

also how do i connect it

thanks people
GurjSagoo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 13 February 2011, 01:56   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 5,543
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi!

You could get a Squirrel SCSI device and then use an external SCSI drive, you'll need one with a 50pin Centronics connector and you will need to terminate the passthrough connector on the drive.

There are other options such as a 4way IDE device and mounting an IDE drive either internally (if you're good with a dremmel) or externally with the cable passed through a gap in the case, obviously this is not the tidiest option and you'd have to find a way to power the drive like a splitter off the Floppy connector.

Another option is an accelerator card with a SCSI kit and again use an external SCSI drive. The Blizzard 12xx cards have SCSI kits available which use a 25pin db SCSI connector and you can get a 25pin db-50pin centronics cable to connect to the external drive.

If you just want a CD Drive to transfer files there are easier options such as Compact Flash PCMCIA adapters.

Steve.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 13 February 2011 at 02:03. Reason: typo
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 13 February 2011, 02:01   #3
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 35
Posts: 1,484
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Amiga uses IDE protocol so you can connect whatever IDE drive or CD-ROM you want.
The only bad thing is that native IDE 44pin header on the mobo isn't buffered, so long 3-way cabling (for HD+CD-ROM) isn't such a good solution.
Finding an buffered IDE interface is a viable solution giving you the option to insert 4xIDE devices (Primary Master/Slave, Secondary Master/Slave).

Ofc putting a CD-ROM is easily doable by mounting an IDE ribbon outside the Amiga, or putting a slim IDE CD-ROM inside the Amiga as many users here done.

The easiest solution though... is getting a second hand PCMCIA Squirrel SCSI interface and putting an SCSI2 CD-ROM to it.
mfilos is offline  
Old 13 February 2011, 09:52   #4
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 38
Posts: 976
hi mate if you need any help im only in sheldon and i could give a hand with any thing amiga. give us a pm
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal CD rom drive Amiga 1200 Aliennerd Hardware mods 7 08 March 2011 23:20
A CD-ROM drive for my Amiga 1200? Amiga Forever support.Hardware 9 15 January 2010 03:12
Strange Amiga 1200 floppy drive... PC drive converted to amiga? jbenam support.Hardware 8 30 March 2009 19:24
WTB: Amiga 1200 External CD ROM Drive CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 11 10 September 2008 01:09
Amiga 1200 6 MB RAM 170 MB Hard Disk CD ROM + Zip drive cd32.co.uk MarketPlace 4 10 October 2005 14:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10588 seconds with 11 queries