English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2011, 22:53   #1
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Two A1200s and serial play!

So we spent the afternoon avoiding the TV, the PS2, the XBoX360 and the incessant rain....

What else could we do?



2 x A1200. On the left is a my Danish 1D4 A1200 with 50mhz Blizzard 1230 MkIV with 32MB RAM it is using a Phillips screen.
On the right is my retr0brite A1200 with a 50mhz Blizzard 1230 MkII and 68882 it is using a Microvitec multisync screen.




Joysticks, kinda tricky compared to PS joypads.



All smiles despite both being off the track! The shame



Concentration!
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 February 2011, 23:16   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
nice family photos thanks for shareing
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 06 February 2011, 23:25   #3
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
i am writing a presentation on Lan Parties and their history may I use the top picture on a slide please DDNI ?
I remember playing Stunt car racer like this it was my forst experience of multimachine multiplayer
PZ
pubzombie is offline  
Old 06 February 2011, 23:28   #4
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
No problem with that
DDNI is offline  
Old 06 February 2011, 23:31   #5
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
your first lan party

Thanx buddy -
just a quick question
when was everybodies first experience of lan gaming and what game was it
Mine was pretty much identical to DDNI's setup shown here apart from we had to use an old Bush TV in a wooden box
cheers for these pics - reminds me of happy days
pubzombie is offline  
Old 06 February 2011, 23:48   #6
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 50
Posts: 253
Nice! I also played Stunt Car Racer at home with some friends linking an accelerated A1200 and my (then) unexpanded A600. Next time I have visitors at home I wanna try some WWI dogfighting with Knights Of The Sky.

Now that my A600 has his ACA630 thing working and is connected to the LAN through his own WIFI card I'm going to explore the Amiga On-line Games page in search of TCP-IP games which don't demmand a highly expanded Amiga setup. I think I read Cammy once mentioning DynAMIte as the one to go.

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 06 February 2011, 23:59   #7
pubzombie
Registered User

pubzombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: westmids
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockersuke View Post
Nice! I also played Stunt Car Racer at home with some friends linking an accelerated A1200 and my (then) unexpanded A600. Next time I have visitors at home I wanna try some WWI dogfighting with Knights Of The Sky.

Now that my A600 has his ACA630 thing working and is connected to the LAN through his own WIFI card I'm going to explore the Amiga On-line Games page in search of TCP-IP games which don't demmand a highly expanded Amiga setup. I think I read Cammy once mentioning DynAMIte as the one to go.

--
OMG how could I forget KoTS!!!!! It was just so awesome to shoot at each other back then. Although I multiplayer all the time on flight sims and fps games its never as much fun as being in the same room with friends and playing.
My non yellow blizzard 1200 is packed away ready for our house move atm, I only have access to my old rig. I would love to meet up for a good session of gaming in the future some time.
also when weve moved I want to get my new 1200 on my network and the internet

Last edited by pubzombie; 07 February 2011 at 00:00. Reason: terrible spelling and dyslexic twaddle
pubzombie is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 10:03   #8
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Looks like good fun, You wernt included in the finals

Give Lotus II a try
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 11:25   #9
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubzombie View Post
Thanx buddy -
just a quick question
when was everybodies first experience of lan gaming and what game was it
Mine was pretty much identical to DDNI's setup shown here apart from we had to use an old Bush TV in a wooden box
cheers for these pics - reminds me of happy days
Yet again the mighty stunt car racer on a couple of a500's, great fun
deicidal is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 11:35   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Pretty much the same for me,

Stunt Car Racer, KOTS, Lotus2 and one of my favs Armaggedon, .

We had something like a 10 to 20M lead, stretching from downstairs to upstairs, .
This was needed to stop cheating, lol.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 11:36   #11
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Awesome pictures DDNI, nice to see the young ones enjoying the Amiga. You've got a nice set up there too, congrats!
seuden is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 11:50   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hey DDNI, great way to spend that day

Thanks for sharing.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 12:56   #13
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Looks cool, wish i grew up with 2 Amiga's, we barely had 1.

My first LAN experience was on the PC, playing Transport Tycoon on 2 player, as that was the max player limit. xD Was about 1997 i think.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 13:14   #14
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
This was needed to stop cheating, lol.
Dunno I sometimes found the cheating was the best part, we'd resort to singing and all sorts in attempt to put the other person off. fond memories
deicidal is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 13:20   #15
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Hehe always better to play in the same room, my old house had ethernet cables everywhere, 3 going from the router downstairs to my bedroom upstairs, 1 from my bedroom to my brothers. 2 downstairs for PC and laptop. Never had an Amiga on a network though...
Dreedo is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 13:34   #16
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
Looks cool, wish i grew up with 2 Amiga's, we barely had 1.
My wife would be happy with just one!
Last count, I have three fully configured A1200s (see sig), seven spare A1200s, 3 A600s, two A500s and one A500+.

This is not mentioning the boxes and boxes of games, apps, floppies, cables, PSUs, scanners, drives, goggles, 512k RAM boards, monitors and other miggy gear that hide in every storage space of my house.

One day I will unpack EVERYTHING and take a look.... one day.
DDNI is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 13:59   #17
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Ha, thats crazy. Although I'm guessing most people on here are.

A1200 is selling at over 200 on ebay at the moment, but it does have a 4gb SSD and a pretty deep WHDLOAD setup. And it looks almost new.

My Amiga Gear:

PCMCIA CF 256mb
A600 with PSU and Tank Mouse, 37.300 2.05 ROM or something like that. 2.05 Workbench with faulty fonts floppy. :P
About 15 floppies that i write games to and play with my friend... only 1 friend...
A520 modulator or whatever its called, didn't realize when i bought my A600 it had RCA ports in the back. -_-
Sega Megadrive Pad, really useful to have.
My mate has an Atari 2600 Joystick that we can use for multiplayer games too.

Usually wired up to my 22" LCD HDTV, which seems to work well with it. But at the moment is stored in a box next to my bed in my nans house, due to moving.

That's it.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 14:24   #18
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by deicidal View Post
Dunno I sometimes found the cheating was the best part, we'd resort to singing and all sorts in attempt to put the other person off. fond memories
If playing lotus, my brother would watch my screen to block me, grrrrrrr.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 February 2011, 14:30   #19
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Oh yeah i used to do that a lot on Top Gear 2 on the SNES, split-screen ftw!
Dreedo is offline  
Old 09 February 2011, 07:07   #20
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
That's adorable, how lovely to see the kids having fun on the Amigas just like us.
Cammy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Serial to Amiga Serial lesta_smsc support.Hardware 48 02 December 2015 11:14
FOR SALE: 2x A1200s, monitor, software Bograt MarketPlace 0 11 June 2013 14:25
Help! One of my a1200s died! musojon74 support.Hardware 38 25 December 2011 16:13
How the internal floppy of new A1200s can be fixed to work ? dir_marillion support.Hardware 5 14 January 2006 19:07
Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s Echo support.Hardware 10 24 November 2003 10:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29148 seconds with 11 queries