English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2011, 17:59   #1
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 339
How to softkick A4000 with A3630 (with MMU)?

I have 3.0 ROMs in my A4000. The CPU card is a 3630 (030/25 + MMU + FPU) but lacks maprom jumper. That means that Blizkick won't work.

Right now the drive is found from cold boot but not from warm reset which means that I always have to turn off/on the computer when I want to reboot. What can I do to solve this problem (except buying 3.1 ROMs)?

IDE HDD is configured as master, IDE CDROM is configured as slave.


Edit: made the fault symptom a bit more clear.

Last edited by duga; 30 January 2011 at 15:56.
duga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 January 2011, 21:30   #2
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)

jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 448
try skick.
jrom is offline  
Old 30 January 2011, 13:16   #3
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
but surely the drive is still spinning from a warm boot or am I missing something ??

sounds more like a software fault to me, that is a patch or something
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 30 January 2011, 14:21   #4
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
If the problem is drive not spinning fast enough making a warm boot resolves your problem. It's a no brainer and you have no problems at all having to configure skick.

Skick never worked for me on A3640 until I've found that the board had a MAPROM feature (yes, 14 years later! ) and Blizkick worked really well. But try it on your board to see if it works.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 30 January 2011, 15:52   #5
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
but surely the drive is still spinning from a warm boot or am I missing something ??

sounds more like a software fault to me, that is a patch or something
I'm sorry, of course the disk are still spinning after a warm boot.

I've heard that one solution is to cut off wire 1 on the IDE cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
If the problem is drive not spinning fast enough making a warm boot resolves your problem. It's a no brainer and you have no problems at all having to configure skick.

Skick never worked for me on A3640 until I've found that the board had a MAPROM feature (yes, 14 years later! ) and Blizkick worked really well. But try it on your board to see if it works.
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha...cgi?HARDID=222 says that a "U100" is needed. Haven't checked if my A3630 has one, probably not.

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 30 January 2011 at 17:53. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
duga is offline  
Old 25 June 2011, 13:59   #6
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 339
Solved the IDE warm boot problem by changing from 8 GB Western Digital WD80EB to a 420 MB Quantum Trailblazer.
duga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A3630 FPU question amiman99 support.Hardware 1 26 February 2013 04:33
WTB: A3630 or A3640 card Akiko MarketPlace 1 24 January 2011 22:07
Softkick 3.1 without MMU fc.studio support.Apps 2 05 June 2007 09:39
Strange A4000 kicksart rom chips and EC030 cpu card with mmu? keropi support.Hardware 5 01 August 2006 09:26
[FA] A3630 EC030@25MHz [AMIGA 3000/4000] scan_x MarketPlace 0 16 January 2004 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06308 seconds with 12 queries