English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2011, 00:49   #21
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
/me crawls back under his rock now...
f*cking hell all the mistakes I make should be me under the Rock but seriously I think this is what makes the minimig intresting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Likely because then nobody could run all the thousands of disk images of games/demos, which is basically what it's for. That's the reason why it didn't have one, no reason why it theoretically _couldn't_ have one.
I was thinking its more a technicall or maybe cost issue I dont think a 68020 would cause to many problems.
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 January 2011, 11:37   #22
HenryCase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
I was thinking its more a technicall or maybe cost issue I dont think a 68020 would cause to many problems.
The newest Minimig hardware supports HDL 68k CPUs (simply because the FPGA has the space to store one). Plan is to build a 68030 core, though current Replay/FPGAArcade uses an enhanced 68000 core (larger cache, higher clock speed, etc...).

In other words, a 68020+ accelerator is unnecessary for Minimig apart from the first commercial hardware, which is due to be replaced in the next few months. Keep track of the latest progress using these links:
http://www.fpgaarcade.com/
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=55885
HenryCase is offline  
Old 30 January 2011, 08:45   #23
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryCase View Post
The newest Minimig hardware supports HDL 68k CPUs (simply because the FPGA has the space to store one). Plan is to build a 68030 core, though current Replay/FPGAArcade uses an enhanced 68000 core (larger cache, higher clock speed, etc...).

In other words, a 68020+ accelerator is unnecessary for Minimig apart from the first commercial hardware, which is due to be replaced in the next few months. Keep track of the latest progress using these links:
http://www.fpgaarcade.com/
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=55885
Hello ,

I know this project and i'll probably make part of future buyers if i don't buy first an A1200 , BUT i don't think Minimig is due to be replaced as you said , because if we think like this why some people would bother to make new hardware for A600/A500/A1200 and some shops as Amigakit/Vesalia etc would continue selling harware ?
I think it's cool , thanks to them , to be able to update our old machines , it's why there is a so big Amiga comunauty no?
So if theoretically it would be possible to make some new harware for the Minimig , for my part i would make part of buyers.
lolafg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aca 1231 on 3.0 rom Prosonic support.Hardware 11 19 May 2013 01:27
aca 1232? orko Amiga scene 8 30 January 2013 13:40
ACA 1231/42 Problems sywhofloats support.Hardware 15 08 June 2012 08:14
For Sale : ACA 1230/56 coze MarketPlace 1 01 August 2011 19:41
Best AWeb for my ACA Retrofan request.Apps 7 06 March 2011 21:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11038 seconds with 11 queries