English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2011, 04:02   #101
mutch
Registered User
mutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newcastle Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 18
Solutions like this, and tomthul's boards over on Amibay.....very elegant, very smart. Off to the shed to dig out the spare 500!
mutch is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 July 2011, 14:03   #102
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post

Again, this is preliminary (and old) info, and I may have misread something, but I don't think so. An educated guess puts the release date of Indivision Mk2 and ACA520 at end of August.
I think this time line will not be respected (not for the AC520), but I hope this nice piece of hardware will be available as soon as possible
Omolungo is offline  
Old 25 July 2011, 02:02   #103
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
The a1200 compatible feature makes it more attractive even. So, you could be able to aconnect a a1200 accel. to the 500 photon?.
Looks pretty good!
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 29 July 2011, 00:33   #104
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Any news on this front?. Lately i'm wondering how my apollo 1230/50 would perform with my 500 with this new expansion. it definitely would rock!!!
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 29 July 2011, 01:23   #105
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
No news at all, no. Maybe on a nice vacation

He has said that he promises no support for Apollo cards but it depends on their memory bus interface vs. the solution he ends up with. It will likely be 28 MHz but zero wait states, so I think it will be pretty fast as it is.
Photon is offline  
Old 29 July 2011, 13:02   #106
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
If anyone has Jen's home address I'll send him a gift which will motivate him into action! (still not figured out a present, a woman popping out of cake perhaps?)
Paul_s is offline  
Old 29 July 2011, 13:10   #107
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
i have a girl 39 old very "pork" (blonde with blue eyes) but now searching a man for married
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 02 August 2011, 02:25   #108
Miked
 
Posts: n/a
I'm a little late to the thread but I would purchase a new A500 accelerator.
 
Old 02 August 2011, 02:29   #109
Lobotomika
Registered User
Lobotomika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in the past and present
Posts: 122
I'll be getting at least 2. No doubt.

Edit: This is a dealbreaker = "any expansion meant for side expansion port or CPU socket is not supported"

Seriously? I don't need to turn my 500 into an alien, thanks.
Lobotomika is offline  
Old 02 August 2011, 18:13   #110
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Yeah, I was against that too before I thought about what I would put in the expansion port.

Internal turbo cards talking to sidecar expansions (HDD interfaces, cartridges,...) was sometimes a sticky problem even back in the "GVP" days. Perhaps the thing would become expensive if he couldn't put the ram in the Zorro 2 area (putting it there will conflict with most side expansions).

And > 1 card on the CPU socket (bus) will never work

I could see the need for some expansions that don't do any of the functions of the ACA520, but I don't know of any, except cartridges. Cartridges never/rarely work with non-68000 anyway, so you couldn't keep it with a different turbo card either.

Lobotomika, is it the principle you're after or do you have something special in the side port you want to keep?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
i have a girl 39 old very "pork" (blonde with blue eyes) but now searching a man for married
That sure sounded distinctly pimpy...

Last edited by TCD; 02 August 2011 at 18:26.
Photon is offline  
Old 20 August 2011, 09:13   #111
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Good news, it seems that the ACA520 will be available within Christmas

http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=25280&page=21
Omolungo is offline  
Old 20 August 2011, 10:49   #112
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
by xmas?!? that would be awesome. Time to buy a couple of xmas presents for myself! just awesome!
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 21 August 2011, 03:51   #113
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
You'll never get it in time, you live way too far from the North Pole!!

That's quite a release date change. Who knows, maybe it will be Feb 2012 then.

If you're in need of IDE and Fastram on your A500, and would like to run stuff in 68000 mode, TomThul's board on AmiBay suddenly looks tempting. To me too, and I think Jens makes great stuff!

Hm, I need to think about this. I was supposed to have a A500 demomachine connected to my living room TV this summer, damnit!
Photon is offline  
Old 24 August 2011, 01:51   #114
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
When is the ACAcd32-030 comming!?
cv643d is offline  
Old 24 August 2011, 05:15   #115
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
You'll never get it in time, you live way too far from the North Pole!!

That's quite a release date change. Who knows, maybe it will be Feb 2012 then.

If you're in need of IDE and Fastram on your A500, and would like to run stuff in 68000 mode, TomThul's board on AmiBay suddenly looks tempting. To me too, and I think Jens makes great stuff!

Hm, I need to think about this. I was supposed to have a A500 demomachine connected to my living room TV this summer, damnit!
ha.. yes, I am pretty far from the North Pole I didn't know that TomThul's board existed, thanks for the info! That board does look interesting, will have to get more info on it. Agree also -- Jens does make great stuff!
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 24 August 2011, 05:52   #116
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
It's a good time to be a Classic Amiga user, that's for sure
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 August 2011, 05:58   #117
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
@Migy2TheMax: I can vouch for TomThul's IDE+RAM boards!

It indeed boost the A500 (even an A2000, for this matter) by 33% in speed (because the presence of FAST RAM available to CPU) and make the A500 a very usable machine.

Of course a 2.0x ROM (or 3.1) will make the A500 a nice OCS WHDLoad machine!
rkauer is offline  
Old 25 August 2011, 11:55   #118
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
It's a good time to be a Classic Amiga user, that's for sure
Indeed

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
@Migy2TheMax: I can vouch for TomThul's IDE+RAM boards!

It indeed boost the A500 (even an A2000, for this matter) by 33% in speed (because the presence of FAST RAM available to CPU) and make the A500 a very usable machine.

Of course a 2.0x ROM (or 3.1) will make the A500 a nice OCS WHDLoad machine!
Oh cool, good to hear you have a positive experience with TomThul's board, does he have a website or is amibay the way to go?
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 25 August 2011, 16:10   #119
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
Why is there no update in this thread from Jens, while he speaks on a regular basis on the Indivision nextgen thread? Has the release schedule or specs of the A500 accelerator been confirmed by Jens?
This is important to me to know because i am willing to abandon some amiga models i own to concentrate on only a nice few, and i would like my first amiga ever, the A500 ti be parti of it.
Calabazam is offline  
Old 25 August 2011, 17:26   #120
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Jens concern atm is Indivision AGA mk2. After he finishes that product he will focus on the A500 accelerator as he stated some times.

You can follow the thread over a1k.org if you want more updated stuff:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=25280
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACA-630 ,socket konverter ---> a500? Faerytale Hardware mods 12 05 August 2011 23:31
Selling : Amiga 500/2000 Tank Mice NEW Amiga-Digital MarketPlace 4 23 March 2010 14:25
Megachip 500/2000 problem pontium support.Hardware 5 03 March 2009 16:46
Windows 2000 to Amiga 500 (1Mb RAM) problem pakipaki support.Hardware 3 20 September 2007 17:48
FS: Retina Z2 and Z3 & 500/2000 megachip coze MarketPlace 14 12 July 2007 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33248 seconds with 12 queries