English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2011, 01:59   #21
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Hmmmm,

CDTV!!
See added info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Love the mock up photon.
Although I cant agree with you about sidecars.
The '500 with a full-on sidecar is a thing of true retro beauty.
It will always be preferred over any modern bit of fluff.
Thx, read his posts about the possible A1200 Adapter more closely and so the board is bound to look at least a bit different...

The terse sidecar info was abbreviated by me from Jens's posts, even though if he pulls this off I could agree. Yeah, sidecars look cool, so maybe mod the shell to make a coffee cup holder, put an Action Replay inside, put the CD-ROM there instead of modding the A500 case, or get a rare ethernet card with BNC connector

Last edited by TCD; 27 January 2011 at 08:25. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use multi-quote.
Photon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 January 2011, 11:15   #22
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
would buy one for cdtv.
I can preorder if needed.
gibs is offline  
Old 27 January 2011, 21:05   #23
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
I feel this should be at the same level as the ACA630. But if it must be an 020, why on earth would this be released at only 14MHz? At a very minumum it should be at 28MHz for a slight speedup over A600 speeds. IMHO that is just too slow, even for simple WB maneuvering to launch WHDLoad games!

I also think an 'adaptor' should be made to use this in the A1000 and CDTV. The A2000 does not need this as there are a plethera of CPU cards for it and it would just be too much to try and make this thing fit ALL three platforms. (can't make everyone happy)

I will definately be buying one. But if it was an 030 with more than 8MB I would be buying 3.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 28 January 2011, 01:13   #24
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
tjlazer, there are more than you who would have liked accelerators comparable to the ones Jens has sold already. But that would have ended the expansion at 68030, no further. Also, it would have been much more expensive - perhaps an 'ACA530' one with IDE/clockport would have been above 200 EUR!

It could have made people think twice about paying a higher sum, as I did with the ACA630. I of course bought one, but if there was an ACA530 at near or above 200 EUR, I'm not so sure. (Mainly because I have an A500-040, so might not apply to most A500 owners.)

I like the idea of the card as a 'launch platform' - more now than I did a few days ago..! Suddenly the A500 in your closet will be usable (CF card, internet/USB via Clockport, not super-slow in Workbench), which could mean that more A500s get used, and that's a huge win in my book (if you know me )

Not only that, but with the A1200 adapter it could support some, maybe even many, turbo cards above 68030. THAT is something I could spend hundreds of EUR on...

Certainly when this is released, people will (as with ACA630) buy clockport expansions and Indivisions with it, to get a "full solution". With new products.

Instead of hunting for 'the right side expansion', 'that rare ram card for A1000', and 'a good condition CRT' and all that, and not having to learn trickeries with cables, software, and kickstart versions to make the setup play nice.

Some people, like me, won't mind fiddling with those things, or will be happy with CRT and no internet, and still then with just the card they have made a usable Amiga spending not much money and not much time.

No, I think Jens on the right track here, especially if MapROM and 68000 fallback is included - since the 68000-based models before A600, like the A600 with ACA630 switched off, can then run the huge base of demos, and games. (If you know me, not leaving 68000 behind is another win in my book! )

14-MHz 68020 will be close to stock A1200 performance, reason for 14MHz is likely RAM speed vs. available 68020-stock MHz. IDE speed will still be excellent, I think, which also affects how fast an Amiga feels. I'm quite sure it will match or even surpass the fastest side expansions in feeling of harddisk speed.

If I have the facts straight, if you also get the Indivision ECS and use the extra modes, native resolutions' bitplane DMA wouldn't choke the Workbench graphics/GUI redraw speed - so it might even feel faster than a stock A1200 without Indivision in Workbench.
Photon is offline  
Old 28 January 2011, 11:10   #25
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
i suppose is simply create a adaptor like a500ide to socket on the aca630
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 28 January 2011, 21:35   #26
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
A 14 mhz 020 with fast ram will be twice as fast as a stock A1200, 4x as fast as an A500/A600.
khph_re is offline  
Old 28 January 2011, 23:15   #27
HenryCase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
I can preorder if needed.
Jens doesn't believe in user pre-orders.
HenryCase is offline  
Old 29 January 2011, 00:55   #28
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Thought about replying to that with, "oh, we'll all pre-order" That's usually what happens for many of Jens's products
Photon is offline  
Old 26 March 2011, 23:44   #29
TotO
 
Posts: n/a
A friend and me needs a CPU/Fast Mem for CDTV too.
 
Old 27 March 2011, 12:52   #30
RoC
 
Posts: n/a
I would be interested too, in particular if this would be A500 _and_ CDTV compatible.

Regarding pre-orders, a trick would be to ask for some money to "validate" it, like someone else does ;-)
 
Old 27 March 2011, 19:43   #31
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Still waiting to preorder an ACA520... hope it arrives soon
Photon is offline  
Old 28 March 2011, 12:49   #32
AVH_2009
A1200ERC
AVH_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 35
I wouldt like to get an fully 68030 with IDE/DMA Supported Card for the A500 and the A2000 and the cost of 200€ will be not to expensive for me.

The A1200 Turbocard plugin feature looks cool, but why i shouldt by 2 allercators for one mashine?

Then i plug my Phoenix Turnoboard from georg into the cpu socket of my A500 plus and iīm faster then the oldstyle 68020 cpu.
Sorry but sometimes some more Power for us wouldt be fine.
AVH_2009 is offline  
Old 28 March 2011, 13:18   #33
AndyLandy
Registered User
AndyLandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southampton / UK
Posts: 91
I'd settle for an EC020/14MHz with 4MB FastRAM. I'd sacrifice everything else in exchange for it fitting in the CDTV. Ideally, you'd make one that more-or-less fits the same footprint as the original 68000 CPU, then it could be a drop-in replacement for any DIP 68000 Amiga.
AndyLandy is offline  
Old 30 March 2011, 21:40   #34
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVH_2009 View Post
I wouldt like to get an fully 68030 with IDE/DMA Supported Card for the A500 and the A2000 and the cost of 200€ will be not to expensive for me.

The A1200 Turbocard plugin feature looks cool, but why i shouldt by 2 allercators for one mashine?

Then i plug my Phoenix Turnoboard from georg into the cpu socket of my A500 plus and iīm faster then the oldstyle 68020 cpu.
Sorry but sometimes some more Power for us wouldt be fine.
I think Jens feels that there are many A500 owners but much fewer % of them (than for later models) are willing to spend a lot of money expanding it like you do.

@Andy: I can agree that for CDTV/CD32 that might suffice, but Jens will only make one accelerator, I'm sure. For all Amigas with a 68000 DIL socket, an IDE interface is absolutely vital and a huge boost in usability, even those with a CD drive; even those with a big ol' (or new) harddisk - as a quick transfer solution and instant system-disk, putting it all inside and still leaving room to fit a card, a harddisk - or other nice internal expansions...
Photon is offline  
Old 30 March 2011, 23:06   #35
AmigaDave
Since 1987
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Big Bear Lake/USA
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryCase View Post
Jens doesn't believe in user pre-orders.
I ran the thread on 1k.org through Yahoo's web page translator and found a post by Jens that said if someone were to bring him an order for a few hundred, he would build a CDTV Turbokarte (accelerator). Not exactly a pre-order, but if anyone would organize putting together a group of a few hundred CDTV owners that are willing to pay for such an accelerator, Jens would apparently listen to them.

I for one would be willing to pre-order a CDTV accelerator that would fit into the standard CDTV case, as I don't know of any accelerators designed for the A500/A2000 that fit and the couple of CDTV accelerators that were ever produced are impossible to find these days.

It would be great to have an 020, or 030 w/8mb to 64mb Fast RAM & an IDE controller w/IDE to CF adapter for the CDTV that all fit inside the original case without any cutting of the sheet metal. Also, it would be beneficial if the original CD drive in the CDTV could be replace with a standard drive somehow, as the original CD drives can't last forever.

If anyone wants to put together a list of potential buyers for a CDTV accelerator, put me on the list. Maybe I will suggest such a list to the webmaster at CDTV.org.
AmigaDave is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 00:11   #36
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaDave View Post
Not exactly a pre-order, but if anyone would organize putting together a group of a few hundred CDTV owners that are willing to pay for such an accelerator, Jens would apparently listen to them.
If someone comes up and states "hey, you know this product you don't believe in? Well, i do. I believe in it enough to order 500 without them even being more then an idea. Hit me up in a week, and give me a delivery window." then ofcourse he can justify the development. But judging by the amount of people i know owning a CDTV, and the willingness of them to spend money on them, i understand why he isn't exactly pushing the issue on his own. Demand isn't high enough.
(Number of known CDTV's amongst my friends... 0 Will to spend money on something like a CDTV amongst my friends... Are you kidding? They look at me and ask if i'm nuts when i tell them i bought a few things for like 20 euro for the Amiga. I haven't told them i spent another 250 on a ACA 1230/56 yet...)

On top of everything, don't get me wrong, but with a accelerator in a CDTV, you get close to, but not quite there, a A600/1200, with a accelerator. If you want that experience, why not just get one of those? Dont get me wrong, i would love to put a CDTV under my LG LCD TV, just to the right of the A1200, above the XboX, and above & to the right of my PSX. It looks slick. But it doesn't provide anything you cant have with the rest of the Amiga family.
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 00:57   #37
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I would definitely buy an ACA board for my A500+... Jens should think about it as there are sooo many A500 owners

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
A lot of a500 bashing on the amiga.org thread, seems they forget an a2000 is basically an upgraded a500 mobo with ZorroII slots.
Pffft, bunch of girls... The A500 is mans best friend
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 01:00   #38
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Girls? Where? Where?

Ok, sorry, it's to late, i should get to sleep b4 i write something politically incorrect.
But yes, i sort of agree, and if i figured right so do Jens. As far as i know the plan is to bring the A500 in to the new decade with an accelerator "soon".
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 01:09   #39
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPie5000 View Post
Pffft, bunch of girls... The A500 is mans best friend

Erm, second that
TCD is offline  
Old 31 March 2011, 04:04   #40
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 660
I would love to see an accelerator for the 500/2000. A piggy back 060 with couple hundred megs of ram clockport and ide controller. If not would settle for a 030 50 with 128 meg and mmu. Clockport a nd ide. I don't know if the 030 can address that much ram or not but if it can, I would like to see it a reality.
source is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACA-630 ,socket konverter ---> a500? Faerytale Hardware mods 12 05 August 2011 23:31
Selling : Amiga 500/2000 Tank Mice NEW Amiga-Digital MarketPlace 4 23 March 2010 14:25
Megachip 500/2000 problem pontium support.Hardware 5 03 March 2009 16:46
Windows 2000 to Amiga 500 (1Mb RAM) problem pakipaki support.Hardware 3 20 September 2007 17:48
FS: Retina Z2 and Z3 & 500/2000 megachip coze MarketPlace 14 12 July 2007 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.47080 seconds with 12 queries