English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2011, 18:12   #1
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Possible ACA for A500/500+/2000 etc thread.

It's being discussed deeply in other forums but not here so i thought i would start this thread.

Would you buy one if Jens does indeed develop it and what sort of specs would you like to see in place on the board?

Myself i would like to see at least an 030@25mhz and 32bit fast ram outside the zorro 2 address space, this for me coupled with an IndyECS will make my 500+ a very capable machine in Amiga respect.
I will almost definately buy one if produced and that's even if it is an 020 as discussed on other forums.
Amigafanboi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 January 2011, 18:19   #2
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
<€100 / SEK1000 (same as ACA1230/28)
020
Fastmem
IDE

Possibly:
Clock port
Some Ethernet card/expansion port


Will the older A500 PSU with 2,5A@5V be enough?
duga is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 18:21   #3
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
<€100 / SEK1000 (same as ACA1230/28)
020
Fastmem
IDE

Possibly:
Clock port
Some Ethernet card/expansion port


Will the older A500 PSU with 2,5A@5V be enough?

A clockport leads to Subway expansion which leads to cheap USB to Ethernet adapters amongst many others
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 18:57   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Dont forget;

Needs to fit CDTV, .
FOL is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 19:29   #5
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
I'd be interested to see how it'd fit a CDTV without some form of tardis attachment; if Jens can do it I'd be impressed!

Clockport or, better still, integrated Subway controller and integrated IDE are the real demands from me
chiark is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 20:25   #6
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Harddisk interface on board? Is this confirmed? It's a super-logical necessity of course, just not seen a post by Jens confirming it.

And yes, I have no doubt a normal brick PSU can handle A500+accelerator, since the A600 PSU can.
Photon is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 21:15   #7
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 332
Sidecar. 8 meg 16 bit fast RAM with twin SD card slots for storage.
No accelerator required for me

Frank
frank_b is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 21:44   #8
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
A lot of a500 bashing on the amiga.org thread, seems they forget an a2000 is basically an upgraded a500 mobo with ZorroII slots.
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 21:51   #9
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 28
Posts: 325
Out of mild curiosity, are there any plans for a CD32 accelerator? Is the CD32 similar enough to the A1200 for this to be simple?

But I guess the A500 is more popular n such.
twiggy is offline  
Old 24 January 2011, 22:10   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
<€100 / SEK1000 (same as ACA1230/28)
020
Fastmem
IDE

Possibly:
Clock port
Some Ethernet card/expansion port


Will the older A500 PSU with 2,5A@5V be enough?
^_^ +1

I will say that just the card with the 020 and RAM would easily be powered by a reasonable condition A500 Power Brick, - the use of a Hard-disk may end up with issues... by far better would be a CF socket tied to IDE? that way low power consumption CF cards / MicroDrives can be used.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
Out of mild curiosity, are there any plans for a CD32 accelerator? Is the CD32 similar enough to the A1200 for this to be simple?

But I guess the A500 is more popular n such.
I would love to see a simple Board adapter that allows you to convert the 182 pin MCA socket of the CD32 to a 150pin Edge connector for an A1200 accelerator card.


/Zetr0 has wistful dreams of a 256MB Blizzard 060@50 + SCSI in his CD32

Mmmmm Happy places ROCK!

Last edited by TCD; 24 January 2011 at 22:19. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use multi-quote.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 25 January 2011, 15:09   #11
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
I would go for such a card, just for IDE. I would love to have WB 1.3 set up on my A500.
RAM is not an issue. Could be as low (cheap) as possible. I don't know what is the lowest possible solution Jens has around 16, 32MB...?
Better CPU ? Not a necessity. But if it could be done with a cheap 14 MHz 020, fine.

And Zetr0's idea about getting a CF socket tied to IDE is brilliant. Would solve a bunch of possible problems.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 25 January 2011, 17:02   #12
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 939
If it's possible via some kind of socket mirror adapter, A1000 compatibility would be really cool.
ajk is offline  
Old 25 January 2011, 20:50   #13
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Suffice to say that the DIL socket is key to Jens's solution, and that it has to have a harddisk interface if it ever hopes to sell or even compete.

Likely he doubts the market (for certain reasons), a misplaced doubt in my opinion partly due to the fact that his accelerators has sold well (no, I don't have any figures), and the _potential_ market is larger, if done right. (A500/A500+/A1000/((A2000))).

My thinking is the same as Amir expressed. A tiny card with "any" cpu, harddisk interface and 4MB fastram will be a good selling point for all the above models, if better or lower priced than the two others being developed by others now. Even all 3 developers might be needed to satisfy the demand to throw out irky old cards and side expansion, who knows?

My personal hope is a tiny card with just SMD 68000+harddisk interface to plug an ACA630 into. But very likely that solution will be discarded, sadly. Unlike A600/A1200 there are reasons for not abandoning a 68000 mode for these platforms.
Photon is offline  
Old 26 January 2011, 01:30   #14
Siggy999
Registered User
Siggy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Las Vegas/Nevada
Posts: 104
I'd love to replace the GVP 030 combo in my 2000 (which sadly 'failed to proceed' after my last move). If all it had were the features on that card:

030 25mhz
Fast ram expansion
HD controller

I'd FIND the money to buy one and have it sent to the US, it would still be a huge step forward. New hardware lasts longer. Any ram solution would be better than trying to source those fiddly sims GVP chose to use, and the HD would more than likely be IDE - easier to find better, faster, more reliable drives.

It would just make more sense for me to throw him the dollars than cruise ebay looking for 20 year old parts.

Now, if he threw a clockport on it.. he'd find me cruising his website and hoarding my pocketmoney for more of his products... like his ethernet adapter.
Siggy999 is offline  
Old 26 January 2011, 13:08   #15
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
A cheap A500 turbo (< 100e) would make quite a lot of useless A500 usable again I think.

I would probably buy one if it was cheap enough, just to support IC, not that I really need one :-)

CD32 turbo (or memory expansion) + CF-slot + clock port for USB would be awesome!
cv643d is offline  
Old 26 January 2011, 22:35   #16
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
I figured out what the card would be a few days ago and apparently got it right When I discovered the thread on a1k.org I got pleasantly surprised, because it seems to get two more features, 68000 fallback and possible support for more turbo cards than his ACA1230.

This is what I deduce as preliminary specs, Jens let me know if I read something wrong or specs have changed.

Specs:
CPU: 14 MHz 68020 (not 68EC020)
RAM: 8MB non-SDRAM asynchronous fastram

Performance:
- likely slightly under a synchronous-memory 14MHz 68020-card (conjecture by me from talk in the thread)
- chipram access speed 3,5 MB/s (no FastChip etc)

Interfaces:
- IDE non-DMA interface supporting f.ex. 1 CF card + 1 CD-ROM. Max rate is 8 MB/s, though real-world performance will likely be quite a bit lower.
- Clockport

A1200 adapter:
- Allows 68000 fallback (whole accelerator with IDE and fastram switched off)
- Plug in A1200 turbo card here (kills 68000 fallback)

Edit:
The idea for the adapter is to remove the 68020, plug in the adapter, and plug turbo card into it.

Known non-working turbo cards are Apollo 1240 and 1260 (due to their handling of 16-bit addressing). No warranty for ACA520+Turbo card "combos". (Except I presume for ACA520+ACA1230 combos.)

Side "HDD/RAM" expansions:
- "Throw them away. They are slower anyway." (abbreviated short-hand by me from Jens's posts). Known non-compatible ones are M-Tec and CBM A570/590.

Models:
A500: fits.
A1000: fits if floppydrive is removed.
A2000: fits if floppydrive bridge removed.
Edit:
CDTV: Jens posted that DMA-compatibility would make the card 40 EUR more expensive and still slow, and won't fit under the cover [plate]

(no more models were mentioned that I can see. Edit: as in - addressed by Jens, with regards to actually fitting them inside, that is.)

Availability:
- Germany: end of March 2011. (he will make Indivision AGA MK2 first)

Edit:
Price:
- under 100 EUR

Kickstart:
- no onboard ROM sockets
- MapROM possible - only if 32-bit ram possible which is awaiting testing and not known yet.


Wow!

Edit: made a crappy mock-up guess / dream ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aca520-yodawg.jpg
Views:	4837
Size:	162.4 KB
ID:	27689  

Last edited by Photon; 27 January 2011 at 01:50. Reason: added some more info
Photon is offline  
Old 26 January 2011, 22:44   #17
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Awesome...is the apollo deliberately made non compatible? we know Jens hatred of these accelerators
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 26 January 2011, 23:48   #18
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Models:
(no more models were mentioned that I can see.)
Hmmmm,

CDTV!!
FOL is offline  
Old 27 January 2011, 00:42   #19
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
Awesome...is the apollo deliberately made non compatible? we know Jens hatred of these accelerators
I think the reason mentioned was flawed 32- to 16-bit memory interface logic in those accelerators (or something along those lines).
Photon is offline  
Old 27 January 2011, 01:41   #20
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 754
Love the mock up photon.
Although I cant agree with you about sidecars.
The '500 with a full-on sidecar is a thing of true retro beauty.
It will always be preferred over any modern bit of fluff.
rare_j is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACA-630 ,socket konverter ---> a500? Faerytale Hardware mods 12 05 August 2011 23:31
Selling : Amiga 500/2000 Tank Mice NEW Amiga-Digital MarketPlace 4 23 March 2010 14:25
Megachip 500/2000 problem pontium support.Hardware 5 03 March 2009 16:46
Windows 2000 to Amiga 500 (1Mb RAM) problem pakipaki support.Hardware 3 20 September 2007 17:48
FS: Retina Z2 and Z3 & 500/2000 megachip coze MarketPlace 14 12 July 2007 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37669 seconds with 12 queries