English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2012, 10:46   #61
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 74
FuriaRAM - Add RAM for Furia accelerator

REVIEW
http://www.amigaportal.cz/forum/show...ll=1#post67511
http://amigatimes.wz.cz/furiaram.htm
Boboo_SK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 February 2012, 11:43   #62
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
How much does it cost?
Akira is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 12:14   #63
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Any English reviews?
seuden is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 13:13   #64
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
How much does it cost?
Furia S628 sold out
8MB Memory modul for Furia 42,- Eur
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 13:30   #65
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boboo_SK View Post
Furia S628 sold out
Aren't you making a new run?
Akira is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 20:33   #66
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
69 euros!! is that correct? I def be interested myself at that price.
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 21 February 2012, 20:49   #67
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by keitha1200 View Post
69 euros!! is that correct? I def be interested myself at that price.
But he just said he's sold out and has not confirmed he'd be interested in a new run. Which is sad
Akira is offline  
Old 22 February 2012, 10:38   #68
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
But he just said he's sold out and has not confirmed he'd be interested in a new run. Which is sad
I agree

An innovative and brilliant design at such a reasonable cost

The Amiga community is certainly a rich and talented place
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 22 February 2012, 12:00   #69
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
But he just said he's sold out and has not confirmed he'd be interested in a new run. Which is sad
Furia S628 CPU card I will not produced. Is developing a new more powerful accelerator and 8MB FastRAM directly on the board.
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 22 February 2012, 12:47   #70
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 191
I particularly liked the statement (courtesy Google Translate) under one of the pictures:

"Whores MC68SEC000AA20, cell Furia is modular, composed as LEGO."

EAB Translate: That's a whole heap of Pr0n!

and later on:

"Cousin bitch on base of HC, is a classic 16MHz 68HC000, da overlock, but loses stability."

and we all know how that feels.
squidbass is offline  
Old 22 February 2012, 13:16   #71
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boboo_SK View Post
Furia S628 CPU card I will not produced. Is developing a new more powerful accelerator and 8MB FastRAM directly on the board.
WHEN WHERE HOW MUCH
Akira is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 05:32   #72
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boboo_SK View Post
Furia S628 CPU card I will not produced. Is developing a new more powerful accelerator and 8MB FastRAM directly on the board.
As Akira wrote... :

WHEN WHERE HOW MUCH
Supamax is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 09:19   #73
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
WHEN WHERE HOW MUCH
Vote, What should be the accelerator

Anketa:
http://www.amigaportal.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=4593
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 10:24   #74
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Everyone wants a as fast accelerator, for as little cash as possible. But isn't the target something along the way of making a A600 in to a perfect little WHDLoader? So 20-25MHz 68020, 8-12MB ram, and 69:- Euro, or less, would be the perfect space to fill.

Sorry, the link is just jibberish to me, my linguistic skills are lacking.
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 11:44   #75
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
From the littke I think I understood, I think the best option is to have a 68SEC000 furia at 42Mhz like before, but with 8MB of ultra fast access RAM, and keeping the. Ost to something like 80 euros.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 15:35   #76
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
I concur

A slight boost in power on the original A600 and additional ram is in my opinion: a balanced and sensible approach for two reasons:

1) Games compatibility:
  • Avoiding the incompatible problems/issues of the A1200/A4000 040/060 cards. 'Think' 030 rather than 040/060.
2) Cost:
  • 70 odd euros is an ideal price for a games machine, which is likely to be playing a poor second best to the 1200/4000 models.


In conclusion: I would happily settle for the original speed, as this would give me greater 'game' compatibility and would hopefully keep the development within a reasonable price range, with either 4 or 8mb ram. I do however completely understand that other's will have different opinions, but from a good return on cost-development prospective? The greater the uniformity (hence software reliability) should generate more sales.
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 05:38   #77
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Still wonder about the evolution of the S628. On the poll you guys don't have an option for a PGA (full) 68020, which is a good option because it will permit more than just 8Mb of FAST RAM.

Are the PGA sockets that hard to get?
rkauer is offline  
Old 15 June 2012, 10:33   #78
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 74
I work on the new Furia accelerator, it will be a surprise :-)
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 15 June 2012, 22:20   #79
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Expel the beans, Boboo! What are you researching?

I asked about the PGA 020 because I have a short supply of 16MHz units in home, crying to be used in a decent cause (Amiga, of course).

Since the PGA units are full blown 020, with 32bit addressing (same as 030), it will be dead easy to add lots of memory to such a card. And 16~20MHz is enough to most Amiga classic games and applications.

BTW: can you send me the correct size of the Furia and the number of holes the board have? I'm trying to make a batch from a communal group directly in Brazil.

BTW2: can the board be mounted using a through-hole 68k PLCC socket instead the SMD socket? This way it will raise enough to clear the IDE header.

Last edited by rkauer; 15 June 2012 at 23:23.
rkauer is offline  
Old 14 November 2012, 08:39   #80
hyami
 
Posts: n/a
Progress?

@Boboo,
how are things going? Any progress? Or will you really surprise us when you've finished the new Furia?
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale "The Wild The Weird & The Wicked" A600 with 2GB CF Card DDNI MarketPlace 8 27 September 2011 20:33
Super Low Cost Amiga CF Card Reader AmigaMAD75 support.Hardware 5 26 January 2010 19:41
MS WheelMouse stuck with any "low-key" config. when plugged into a PS2 port NewDeli support.WinUAE 37 02 October 2009 20:40
What is a "Low Density" Active terminator? DDNI support.Hardware 7 05 November 2007 22:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36072 seconds with 11 queries