English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2011, 13:55   #1
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Workbench 3.1 in 256 colours but icons look rubbish

Me again with another question with a no doubt simple-when-you-know-how answer. Here goes...

Now my A1200 is nicely pimped (28mhz Indiv Comp accelerator & CF hard drive thingy) I thought I'd up the colour count in WorkBench assuming that those nice, detailed icons on some demos and games would like virtually perfect. However, they still look naff.

I have based this sumption (perhaps naively) on how Windows behaves when it displays a desktop background, etc. with 16 colours which then gets progressively better looking as you up the colour count.

Is this a simple thing for me to fix / tweak please? I'm going to be showing my A1200 to a mate of mine in a week or so and I'd LOVE to have WB looking sweet.

Big ta.
vroom6sri is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2011, 14:01   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri View Post
Me again with another question with a no doubt simple-when-you-know-how answer. Here goes...

Now my A1200 is nicely pimped (28mhz Indiv Comp accelerator & CF hard drive thingy) I thought I'd up the colour count in WorkBench assuming that those nice, detailed icons on some demos and games would like virtually perfect. However, they still look naff.

I have based this sumption (perhaps naively) on how Windows behaves when it displays a desktop background, etc. with 16 colours which then gets progressively better looking as you up the colour count.

Is this a simple thing for me to fix / tweak please? I'm going to be showing my A1200 to a mate of mine in a week or so and I'd LOVE to have WB looking sweet.

Big ta.
Check out Classic Workbench

http://classicwb.abime.net/

Its a bit more than a little tweak though!

If you just want to correct colours on your current bench I think you need to edit the pallet pref's.

There are also Icon packs you can install, have a search of Aminet if you just want to update your current workbench.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 14:47   #3
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 563
Original icons just have 4 colors. MagicWB icons have 8 colors. NewIcons can have up to 256 colors, most are 16+, though.

MagicWB and NewIcons look funny when the required patches aren't running.
Konrad is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 14:52   #4
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
You could have a look at this thread and see if you can find something you like. Then ask what you need to achieve a similar look, if it's not explained.
ajk is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 17:55   #5
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Thanks for the info. Thinking about it, the "fancy" icons look like actual picture snapshots from the game or demo so presumably these are special ones that require patch(es) for "NewIcons". I will see what I can find...
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 18:03   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
NewIcons icons can be identified easily: open the icon information for one of these icons and then look at the tooltypes. If there is one reading "don't remove the following lines" followed by a lot lines all reading IM1=rubbish and another lot lines all reading IM2=rubbish, then the file also contains a palette-mapped image for use by the NewIcons patch. Note that "rubbish" is not real rubbish, but holds the image in encoded form. Do not touch these tooltypes.

If the icons are not NewIcons, they probably need a fixed palette. Change the screen mode to 8 colors and run the Click_Me program from the MagicWB archive. If the icons then look fine, you need to install FullPalette and fix the first eight pens to MagicWB palette.

If you run OS 3.9 you can also enable the "Use MagicWB palette" checkbox in Prefs/Workbench. But if you ran OS 3.9, you wouldn't have problems with NewIcons.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 18:36   #7
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Something else to bare in mind is that a 256 color Workbench in AGA is horribly slow. Even on an '060 (8x the raw speed of your system or thereabouts) 64 colors is about the best you'll get and have it acceptably fast. For an '030 Id stick with 16 colors, or at most 32 if you're willing to sacrifice some speed.

There really is an art to making a nice looking AGA/ECS workbench, and it doesnt necessarily have to mean more colors. Unfortunately learning the art will take a lot more than a week.

Last edited by fishyfish; 13 January 2011 at 18:41.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 20:25   #8
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Thanks for more info. I've reduced colour count to 32 and checked some of the icons in question. None refer to "IM..." and only 2 mentioned the word "icon" at all - "ROMicon".

I've found MagicWB 2.0 on Aminet so will try it out when I move the next load of bits N bobs over to my CF hard drive.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 23:40   #9
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,671
You could try out my experimental WB 3.1 configuration for 256 color icons.

These two archives offer you a minimal setup to show OS 3.5 icons on a system with OS 3.1, nothing more. The RAR file contains an ADF-image.

Update: Added WbCtrl to the startup-sequence to save ChipMem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GlowingWB31.png
Views:	2034
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	27560  
Attached Files
File Type: lha GlowingWB31.lha (267.9 KB, 300 views)
File Type: rar GlowingWB31.rar (244.1 KB, 235 views)

Last edited by PeterK; 14 January 2011 at 07:11.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench colours wilko777 support.Other 3 05 October 2012 15:12
Is it possible to somehow make Amiga version of some games 256 colours? ancalimon project.Amiga Game Factory 7 06 December 2009 03:27
More colours than 256 possible in A1200??? ORSM T New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 15 May 2007 22:55
Workbench Colours Djay support.Apps 9 06 September 2002 14:27
a4000 0s30 and 256 colours torr support.Apps 2 01 August 2002 12:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14688 seconds with 12 queries