English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2011, 23:12   #21
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I'd still recommend fitting a 60Hz switch.

http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/sega/saturn5060.htm
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 January 2011, 23:15   #22
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
60Hz switch is a must! There have been some problems with 60Hz mod and RGB cables though.

The Saturn has great RGB output BTW. I hook up my Saturn to a 1084 monitor, its a perfect match. Many games support Tate mode so it is easy to set up the monitor for those games since the monitor is compact and stable also on its side.

Older games just look weird on our 52" LCD IMHO, on the 1084 its like having an arcade game in your home, especially with those Sega arcade games such as OutRun.
cv643d is offline  
Old 10 January 2011, 00:23   #23
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv643d View Post
There have been some problems with 60Hz mod and RGB cables though.
Not heard that. Like what?

The only problem I've ever encountered was displaying PAL games at 60Hz if the game was optimised for PAL (i.e. uses all the screen) you loose some of the picture.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 January 2011, 15:54   #24
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
There was some dude on assembler forum board or was it racketboy, his TV did not auto switch with the 60Hz mod IIRC, or the image was slightly off. I think he did mmonkeys mod too. Someone else had the same problem.

Could have been noobs who cant handle soldering irons though..
cv643d is offline  
Old 10 January 2011, 19:51   #25
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Having a quick google I see that it is once again caused by badly wired SCART cables with lots of missing grounds

This off centre issue affects 3rd party Sega Saturn and Dreamcast SCART cables. I've personally seen this myself on my DC but thought it was my TV!

Last edited by alexh; 10 January 2011 at 20:05.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 January 2011, 23:43   #26
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 45
Posts: 834
Is it easy enough to swap out the drives? I do miss my Saturn you see and would likely get one back.For a time i thought this to be a more tricky process than simply opening her up and replacing like you do with say the xbox
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 02:59   #27
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
No. It _IS_ too difficult to change a Saturn's drive. There are many different models with different drives. You could struggle to find one with the same drive as yours.

Why would you "swap out" a drive?

Just bin (or sell as spares) the broken Saturn and buy a replacement. They are dirt cheap.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 04:50   #28
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 45
Posts: 834
Yeah that's what i recalled

It's not that i would want to do that Alex but i guessed it's harder to find someone still modding these- It's not likely i would attempt a mod myself.Pal Saturns are obviously cheap enough these days but for the games, i wouldn't want to run them in pal
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 10:56   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
You already have a modded Saturn? Total conversion or just 60Hz?

It might be worth a drive swap for a total conversion (60Hz & Region selector) but in that situation you'll just have to be research the 4 (?) different CD-loaders and do what you can to increase the odds you buy one with the right replacement drive.

Or in fact with nothing to loose you could try to adjust the laser potentiometer on the unit you have first?
alexh is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 15:36   #30
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adropac2 View Post
Yeah that's what i recalled

It's not that i would want to do that Alex but i guessed it's harder to find someone still modding these- It's not likely i would attempt a mod myself.Pal Saturns are obviously cheap enough these days but for the games, i wouldn't want to run them in pal
I got my Saturn modded a few weeks back by Console Passion. With a flick of the reset switch it flips between 50hz, 60hz, US 60hz, Jap 60hz.

It doesn't allow you to play CDRs though.

Last edited by roberthazelby; 12 January 2011 at 00:28. Reason: corrected a spelling mistake - whoops!
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 17:01   #31
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I had my Saturn fully modded by Console Passions - they do a good job.

Getting the Saturn there and back together with the mod work done isn't the cheapest thing in the world but hey what is money where video games are concerned.
Peter is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 17:36   #32
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
I had my Saturn fully modded by Console Passions - they do a good job.

Getting the Saturn there and back together with the mod work done isn't the cheapest thing in the world but hey what is money where video games are concerned.
What did you have done mate, what did it cost (if you don't mind me asking) and what would the benefit be of such a service to me?

I'm guessing since I already have the mod chip I'd be able to play any game from any region on CDR? This would be immense.

Dang, I think we really need to meet up again soon - so many projects to talk about!!!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 17:39   #33
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
A modchip let you play backups, but not other regions. You need an Action Replay, a region switch or just patch the region via software.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 17:52   #34
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
what did it cost and what would the benefit be of such a service to me?
You'd be able to select 60Hz and play backups from any region unpatched.

The service costs 50 for a total conversion or 25 just for 60Hz switch.

http://www.consolepassion.co.uk/modi...ega-saturn.htm

If you just get the 60Hz mod then you can get an Action Replay (which also adds 4Mbyte RAM required for some games) for 23 from http://consolegoods.co.uk
alexh is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 20:27   #35
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
@Steve - I went for the switchless mods - you can see a video of them here...

http://www.consolepassion.co.uk/modi...switchless.htm

I like LEDS but I know Alex isn't bothered... :-)
Peter is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 20:54   #36
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hey that looks great, thanks guys

When I have some pocket money I might just have that done.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 21:08   #37
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 45
Posts: 834
Alex: i had a few Saturns at some stage going back 3 years or so -mostly so i could always play Nights and Radiant - but eventually needed to sell them.Neat system especially the dash and memory management .Looks like it wouldn't be all that hard still to get started again but i have this wierd thing where i want more than one- you know in case the world ends type thing

And Radiant aint cheap
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 21:39   #38
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
My motivation in getting my Saturn modified was to play Radiant Silvergun and all the other rare shoot em ups together with the odd Japanese Football game.
Peter is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 22:43   #39
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
My motivation in getting my Saturn modified was to play Radiant Silvergun and all the other rare shoot em ups together with the odd Japanese Football game.
Yep, I want to play as the Jap Street Fighter's so I'll need to get mine done at some point. Shame as I was expecting them to just work, guess I should have done some research before buying but these things on Amibay, if you snoose you loose!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 23:21   #40
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
This was another game that I just had to have on the Saturn... In the Hunt

[ Show youtube player ]
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sega Saturn Emulator fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 9 19 May 2012 17:25
Sega Saturn question ??? plasmatron Retrogaming General Discussion 169 27 March 2010 17:26
Sega Saturn emulation boing_1000 Retrogaming General Discussion 50 07 March 2010 13:10
Sega Saturn Wanted Uk Sale Only Peter MarketPlace 19 07 March 2010 01:50
Best Sega Saturn Games? Uukrul Retrogaming General Discussion 45 24 July 2009 11:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38081 seconds with 11 queries