English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2011, 12:20   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Burning ISO's for Sega Saturn

Hey friends!

I just got a chipped Saturn and want to back up my games

Whats the best tool for burning back the ISO's to CD? I have Alcohol and Nero here if they are ok?

Cheers!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 January 2011, 13:04   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
They always worked for me. Sometimes I used discjuggler for burning discs for Dreamcast, no idea why but it seemed to give better results than Nero for DC.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 13:18   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
They always worked for me. Sometimes I used discjuggler for burning discs for Dreamcast, no idea why but it seemed to give better results than Nero for DC.

Thanks Alexh, I'm trying Alc, just got two Coasters I think the cheap CD media is the issue here. Burn failed, etc, etc.

Any rec'd from you on good media?

Cheers!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 13:36   #4
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I use Discjuggler as well but for some Saturn games I have also had good results burning CD's using ImgBurn.

Some downloads are would burn to CD without sound - probably something I was doing wrong I know but I got more success using ImgBurn with difficult downloads - burning from the Cue file was a good tip someone told me on here... I have tons of Saturn games now - it is still a great console and has loads of good titles....

Just out of interest Steve - what sort of display do you get from your Saturn and which TV do you connect it to?
RIA (Reason I ask - God, did I just invent an acronym...?) is because I have my Saturn set up via a proper Saturn SCART Cable to my LCD TV and rather like a PS1 it gives a some what blocky, pixely picture... I am thinking of actually connecting it to my Philips Monitor which although has a smaller screen gives a first class picture from a PS1.

There are some good Saturn Sites - give me a shout for links if you need them but to be honest they are pretty easy to find on the net.

@Steve - cheers for the switch (from the other thread) by the way!
Give you a shout when I actually get some time to get my A600 back out - had to put it away over Xmas!


EDIT - UPDATE - FYI - I have loads of working Saturn CD's burnt using Verbatim and Sony disks.

Also I found that things like "AnyDVD" or similar programs tended to screw up the burning process on my Laptop so I stopped all these programs first prior to burning.

Last edited by Peter; 09 January 2011 at 14:02.
Peter is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 14:02   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks for the info Peter, I've tried with Nero and the discs burned ok but they are not readable in the saturn (some cheap nasty ebay 99p jobbers)

Will buy some decent Verbatim Media and give it another go.

I'm using the Saturn on my little JVC LCD, the one I use for my Amiga's. Via RGB Scart the display is perfect, I might have a spare Scart lead here if you need one?

Speak to you soon about the switch

Cheers!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 14:16   #6
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I got a proper cable for it but I think it is just my fussy Sony LCD - it only seems happy to display newer consoles properly... have to do a bit of testing I suppose or buy one of these JVC models that seem to play ball with most Amiga and console displays!
Peter is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 14:24   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
I got a proper cable for it but I think it is just my fussy Sony LCD - it only seems happy to display newer consoles properly... have to do a bit of testing I suppose or buy one of these JVC models that seem to play ball with most Amiga and console displays!
Yeah this JVC Roxx! Scart quality picture with my new CD32 on the S-Video
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 18:36   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
I only ever buy one brand of CD-R and that is from the people who invented the technology and the only vendor to guarantee data integrity for many years.

Taiyo Yuden
alexh is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 18:54   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks Alexh, might be a stupid question. But being a EU Saturn, can this only play PAL games?

The problem might be I was expecting USA games to play...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 19:00   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
Yes. EU games only.

Until you get an action reply 4m plus cartridge or modify the mainboard with a series of switches.

Mine has switches for 60Hz and region as well as a modchip. (And I have an Action Replay 4M plus just for good measure!)

FYI I think you can patch all Saturn ISO images to any region before burning.

http://madroms.satakore.com/#SRP
alexh is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 19:10   #11
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 45
Posts: 834
My only concern would be a failing drive over time.Is that much of a concern for people that use their Saturns?
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 19:11   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks thats where I went wrong, I just assumed mod chip would unlock region as well - I forgot in the olden days there were other differences like NTSC...

I'm leeching some PAL games at the moment so will try again with the CD's I have here, the CD's are read it just says the games are not suitable for my system...

I saw a patch for region on Blackcats Games so I'll look at that.

Cheers!

Steve.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Adropac2 View Post
My only concern would be a failing drive over time.Is that much of a concern for people that use their Saturns?

As Ivan Drago said after fighting Apollo Creed "If He Dies, He Dies"
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 19:35   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adropac2 View Post
My only concern would be a failing drive over time.Is that much of a concern for people that use their Saturns?
You buy another. They cost like 5 collect in person on ebay and they made hundreds of thousands!
alexh is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 19:41   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Yay!!!

Playing the best Arcade-Console conversion of Outrun (IMHO)

MK Trilogy on the way...

Alcohol still gives coasters though for some reason, but Nero 3 out of 3 burns successful...

Alcohol 2 out of 2 fails...

Thanks for the help peeps...

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 20:25   #15
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
Is there a way to use copies? But not with swap trick or chip.
s2325 is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 20:53   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Never had any problems to burn Saturn games, no matter which brand, burning software, speed. This Sega CD-Rom drive isn't really picky.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 20:56   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Never had any problems to burn Saturn games, no matter which brand, burning software, speed. This Sega CD-Rom drive isn't really picky.
Yep it seems fine now with my cheap media, it was just me trying to play USA region games on it

Not sure why the Alc' burns coastered so I'll keep using Nero since it seems to do a fine job...

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 20:57   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
ImgBurn works great too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 21:54   #19
wilshy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SouthEast-ish UK
Posts: 362
Send a message via AIM to wilshy Send a message via MSN to wilshy
This has inspired me to chip my Saturn so I can actually play some of the games that everyone rants about without paying the earth for each game.

Steve let me know if you patch any games and they work. Ta.
wilshy is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 23:01   #20
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
I burn Saturn games with Nero and IMGburn, typically on slow speed < 10x.

Some piracy games come in bin and mp3 format, you need to convert mp3 to wav or burn in Nero (converts automatically to wav on the fly) then. There are some tools available that can make cuesheet automatically for bin/ISO + wav files (or MP3). If you dont burn the soundfiles you dont get any music (or sound).

Saturn is very dependable console IMHO, very classy system, silent (even with piracy CDr), elegant. Truly a console for the more sophisticated playerz.

I got my system running with Action Replay 3, its got 1/4MB expansion so it takes most games and is of course import adapter. If 40 euro incl freight for AR3 is too expensive you patch the ISO from NTSC to PAL or vice versa.
cv643d is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sega Saturn Emulator fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 9 19 May 2012 17:25
Sega Saturn question ??? plasmatron Retrogaming General Discussion 169 27 March 2010 17:26
Sega Saturn emulation boing_1000 Retrogaming General Discussion 50 07 March 2010 13:10
Sega Saturn Wanted Uk Sale Only Peter MarketPlace 19 07 March 2010 01:50
Best Sega Saturn Games? Uukrul Retrogaming General Discussion 45 24 July 2009 11:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.56800 seconds with 11 queries