English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2002, 11:44   #21
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Sorry guys .. I got carried away pressing the submit button. new mozilla is so ssssllllooowww

Last edited by Miggy2TheMax; 01 August 2002 at 11:52.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 August 2002, 13:30   #22
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
@Miggy2TheMax i used to run a cluster of 10 IBM dual pentium pro machines, damn it was fast, but alas they all perished in an unfurtunate house fire and i found better things to spend the insurance money on
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 01 August 2002, 20:04   #23
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Yes I too thought about a Beowolf cluster using a flavor of *nix but I really don't have the room unless I do some major cleaning of my basement

As for the space, I do collect a lot of stuff and run a private FTP server so that resolves where the space is going.

Also note that since I deal with a couple of local wholesale vendors for PC hardware, I can get a lot of stuff pretty cheap expecially hard drives. Those two 120GB WD drives were less then $200 (USD) and of course they are the SE units with the 8MB cache instead of just 2MB
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 08:14   #24
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Mick_AKA: A cluster of 10 duals .. very nice! Drooling already. Geez I'm sad

jmmijo: No need to do major cleaning, just use the machines to form two stacks roughly hip height, put a plank of wood on top and a table cloth as a final touch and use it as a table... no one will every know... assuming you run the cabling carefully

8mb cache on hardrive.. very smooth indeed, nice price too!
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 09:45   #25
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
It's interesting on how dirt cheap hard drives are now a days, when you consider their respective sizes, it's really hard to beat.

I still remember what I paid for my forst hard drive for my Amiga, I think it was 1988/89 or so and I contacted a local wholesaler for the best price on a Seagate 48MB, 3.5" drive. Something like $450 plus (USD)!!!

And the funny thing is, I still have this drive and actually tested it on my A4000 and one of my A500's and it still functions even after being dropped. It's done a complete low-level format with bad sector re-allocation as well. Not sure if there was any problems afterwards as it still showed 48MB of space
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 15:33   #26
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
my first hard drive (suprascsi interface for a500, 30mb drive) was $1200 if i remember correctly
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 15:50   #27
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
I remember the 100mb Hard Drive for my IBM XT costing about 1500, of course this was back when 20mb was pretty huge.
I still have the Seagate 100mb HDD but unfortunately id does not spin up.
On another note I found out why the 2.2gig drive I had In my A1200 was not working properly, after running a surface scan I found over 80% of the drive was bad sectors! Guess i will temporerally have to go back to my 220mb Maxtor HDD
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 17:54   #28
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Hey Mick, with all that computer gear in there I was expecting the pic to be something like, I dunno, JURASSIC PARK
Akira is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 20:22   #29
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
@Mick_AKA, you should take apart that fubar drive so you can see how it works inside, if you've not done this already

Kind of interesting to see the mechanical side of the r/w heads, the platters and the magnetic head actuator goes together and all. Of course the platters make good wind chimes or mobile or even coasters too
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 22:02   #30
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Hmm, i have taken hard drives aprt many times but i cant say I have ever considered making wind chimes!
*rushes off to get a hard drive*
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 02 August 2002, 23:49   #31
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Mick_AKA
Hmm, i have taken hard drives aprt many times but i cant say I have ever considered making wind chimes!
*rushes off to get a hard drive*
Well you know they are aluminum platters painted with a magnetic solution like coating
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 06:26   #32
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I heard you can make wind chimes with pubes and bottle caps.

The pubes would go *fsss* *fssss* like when they get stuck between teeth.
Akira is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 10:49   #33
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I heard you can make wind chimes with pubes and bottle caps.

The pubes would go *fsss* *fssss* like when they get stuck between teeth.
Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa :happy
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 August 2002, 15:34   #34
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I heard you can make wind chimes with pubes and bottle caps.

The pubes would go *fsss* *fssss* like when they get stuck between teeth.
LMFAO!!!!!!
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 07 July 2008, 17:59   #35
jurgen36
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 41
Send a message via Yahoo to jurgen36
My drives are. Installed in a full tower.

2 x 320 Gbyte SATA
2 x 160 Gbyte SATA
2 x 120 Gbyte IDE
2 x 16 speed DVD writers
1 x 250 Mbyte zip drive
1 x 1.4 Mbyte floppy
1 x 80 Gbyte external USB drive
2 x external 16/32 Gbyte CF drives mainly for Amiga forever and transfers to Amiga

I just was looking yes that seems to be all the installed drives. At least at the moment, sometimes I fit a SCSI card and then have another 7 drives available. Power supply is a 1000 watt. The whole thing is cooled down with 7 speed controlled fans and the CPU does not use a fan but a proper centrifugal blower looks like a jet engine. Uses of course plug in drive cards to take care of the drives. Its really not that much storage, a bit over 1 terrabyte. But its filling up slowly. Remember my first drive an IBM monstrosity, 5 Mbytes did cost 6000 dollars and lasted 5 month, of course was outside the case and looked like a small drum. How times have changed.

Last edited by jurgen36; 07 July 2008 at 18:10.
jurgen36 is offline  
Old 07 July 2008, 18:04   #36
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
yay, it's "show your drives" thread!

Shoonay is offline  
Old 07 July 2008, 18:27   #37
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
is this topic about drive whores??
Anubis is offline  
Old 07 July 2008, 18:27   #38
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,943
I don't think that I should play this game.... no-one has more storage than me (cept maybe google). Perk of designing chips for RAID arrays.

Here is a pic of my external firewire disk, nice huh? (Sorry about the picture, dunno how to capture screens on Mac yet so I used my phone)

I've got three more the same size.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00346.JPG
Views:	155
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	17036  

Last edited by alexh; 07 July 2008 at 18:37.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 July 2008, 18:29   #39
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
is this topic about drive whores??
we don't wanna hear how many "drives" you can handle
Dizzy is offline  
Old 07 July 2008, 21:30   #40
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
1x300gig
3x500Gig
2xdvd writers

aprox 1.8 terabyte
roll on christmas when hope replase 300gig with a terabyte drive
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy Drives peter taft New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 21 June 2010 08:46
PC Floppy Drives adewakd support.Hardware 1 14 March 2008 19:36
SCSI CD Drives Fingerlickin_B MarketPlace 10 02 November 2007 16:27
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 01:44
FS: 2.5" drives Jope MarketPlace 0 01 February 2005 19:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29572 seconds with 12 queries