English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2011, 18:18   #81
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
yep will do as soon as i get a working copy
Roy try the orig cd versions they work all the others dont.

you can find them thru torrent sites if your in to warez? (pc version)
klapdeur is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 September 2011, 19:22   #82
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by klapdeur View Post
Roy try the orig cd versions they work all the others dont.

you can find them thru torrent sites if your in to warez? (pc version)
yep took the words right out of my mouth.

had a go of broken sword 1 and 2 and i am having problems with them in the same places as you.its worse in the second one im affraid because it locks up my system completely,its a shame it looks like an awsome game to play.

i got monkey island 2(dos version)to run
no beneath the steel sky yet.
discworld 1 and 2 have got them ,but not tried yet.
plus a few others when i get time

thats about it for today.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 01:52   #83
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Thanks for this. Great to have Discworld and the SCI games now playable on RTG.

Been testing on WinUAE will try it on my A1500 eventually... A few notes:

Your date stamps are wrong maybe you need to upgrade your LHA?

http://aminet.net/util/arc/lha_68k.lha

Launching a game by cli no longer works will you be reimplimenting that? I like to launch games with their own project icon.

Attempting to add the amiga versions (dowloaded from BTTR) of some SCI games on your list results in ScummVM locking up (Hoyles, Colonel's Bequest, Hero's Quest).
Most of the others work - there are a few I haven't tried yet.
It looks like the colours on Conquest of the Longbow are messed up? (Never played it before) - These may be general ScummVM engine problems?

The Humungous games are missing from your list. All the 320 res games work but none of the 640 res. Working games are (only demos tested):

Fatty Bears Birthday Surprise
Putt Putt Goes to the Moon
Putt Putt Joins the Parade

OpenQuest also works.

People with fast systems should also try ScummVM 0.10.0r2:

http://www.amigafuture.de/downloads....ail&df_id=2050

It supports Broken Sword 1/2 and COMI with anims as well as Inherit the Earth, many of the 640 res Humungous games, Feeble Files, Gobliiins 1-3, Bargon Attack, Touche,
Ween e.t.c.

It is also worth keeping hold of version 1.2.0 as this allows higher scaling.

Hiya James,

Thanks for the feedback.

Yes my LHA needs updating (it's on my todo list).

I didn't mean to add support for any Humungous games so it's a bonus if some are supported

SCI support in ScummVM itself is still in it's early days, v1.3.1 is the first release that I've managed to get at least some SCI games working on 68k. BTW, try to get the 256 color mode working with SCI games.

I removed the launch from Shell option because this is a WB friendly application and should only be launched from the WB.

My old v1.2.x used the SDL which was very slow on real Amiga's, people with the real thing are better off using this new v1.3.x release.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 01:54   #84
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by klapdeur View Post
Roy try the orig cd versions they work all the others dont.
Hiya klapdeur,

Are you saying that Broken Sword 1 & 2 are now working without any issues with the BETA?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 09:37   #85
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
hi novacoder

me and klapdeur are having problems with both the broken sword games.especialy the second one.(yes i understand its not supported)

plus discworld 1 works but sound is a bit strange(talky bits) discworld 2 dont work.

edit: tried broken sword 1 after a bit of tweeking the ini file ,it seems to work ok
broken sword two still crashes but it does it at the bookcase instead.tried this six times and gave up.

i havent got back to discworld 1 and 2 yet.

regards roy

Last edited by roy bates; 14 September 2011 at 17:01. Reason: testing latest version of scummvm
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 23:27   #86
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya klapdeur,

Are you saying that Broken Sword 1 & 2 are now working without any issues with the BETA?
Hi Nova

Yes im saying with the beta broken sword 1 +2 are almost working the startup you can play Broken sword a little then it crashes Broken sword 2 carshes at the beginning.


Roy what did you do in the ini files then ?

Regards
Klapdeur
klapdeur is offline  
Old 14 September 2011, 23:35   #87
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
try the new beta in the zone and see if it's any more stable with broken sword.

I'd also like to know what Roy what did you do in the ini files to make it more stable???

Last edited by NovaCoder; 15 September 2011 at 02:16.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 September 2011, 09:28   #88
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
try the new beta in the zone and see if it's any more stable with broken sword.

I'd also like to know what Roy what did you do in the ini files to make it more stable???

sorry about that ,i just changed the dither settings(for broken sword 1) because the game wouldent startup thats all,then changed the stack in the tooltypes to 120000.im not sure it had anyting to do with stability or not.

Last edited by roy bates; 15 September 2011 at 09:38.
roy bates is offline  
Old 15 September 2011, 09:51   #89
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
That's interesting.

The dither settings (which can actually be changed via the UI) would not have any effect on Broken Sword 1 but upping the STACK could make a difference.

So by upping the STACK to 120,000 bytes (120k?) it fixed the crashing problem with Broken Sword 1 on your system?

Try increasing the STACK even more to see if that gets Broken Sword 2 working ok.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 September 2011, 10:04   #90
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
That's interesting.

The dither settings (which can actually be changed via the UI) would not have any effect on Broken Sword 1 but upping the STACK could make a difference.

So by upping the STACK to 120,000 bytes (120k?) it fixed the crashing problem with Broken Sword 1 on your system?

Try increasing the STACK even more to see if that gets Broken Sword 2 working ok.
tried doubling the stack already it had no effect.it crashes where you are about to interact in the game(broken sword 2)in the same place every time.the stange thing is it looks like a buffering problem.cant comfirm though.
roy bates is offline  
Old 15 September 2011, 10:06   #91
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Try the new BETA (that's in the Zone now v1.3.1.004) to see if that works any better with Broken Sword 2.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 September 2011, 10:11   #92
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Try the new BETA (that's in the Zone now v1.3.1.004) to see if that works any better with Broken Sword 2.

already tried yesterday.if thats the one you put in yesterday.

thats why i had to adjust the ini file .it wouldent start.ile have to put the version im testing in the comments.

ok.this goes for broken sword 2.

when the games loads i skip the intros.then when the game starts you see the spider crawling across the floor while the screen scrolls of to the right.when the spider reaches the main person,he kicks back the office chair and scoots back to the book shelf.
then the crosshair appears for you to interact with the surroundings.as soon as you click on the book shelf,it begins to load the scene.then the crosshair disapears and is replaced by the mouse pointer and freezes.thats as for as i got .
this happens in the same place every time.which is a bit farther than before.

regards roy.

Last edited by roy bates; 15 September 2011 at 12:31. Reason: explaining what happened.
roy bates is offline  
Old 16 September 2011, 19:46   #93
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Hi Nova

well i tried it with broken sword 1 and it still hangs in the pub. that was blown up


regards
Klapdeur
klapdeur is offline  
Old 24 September 2011, 01:31   #94
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
hi nova

monkey island 2 working
beneath a steel sky working
broken sword 1 working


i just added to the stack 2500000.wow thats alot.

regards roy.
roy bates is offline  
Old 24 September 2011, 05:44   #95
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya Roy,

Cool thanks for find that out, yes that's a huge STACK.

I've just ordered original copies of both Broken Sword 1 & 2 for my own testing.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 September 2011, 10:05   #96
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya Roy,

Cool thanks for find that out, yes that's a huge STACK.

I've just ordered original copies of both Broken Sword 1 & 2 for my own testing.

let us know how you got on will you?just to see if theres any inconsistences.

regards roy
roy bates is offline  
Old 25 September 2011, 18:42   #97
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya Roy,

Cool thanks for find that out, yes that's a huge STACK.

I've just ordered original copies of both Broken Sword 1 & 2 for my own testing.
Wich version did you use Roy??


Greetz
klapdeur
klapdeur is offline  
Old 26 September 2011, 18:28   #98
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by klapdeur View Post
Wich version did you use Roy??


Greetz
klapdeur

hi klapdeur,the last one i think erm 1.3.1.004,if you mean the front end.
im not sure wether it made it more stable in increasing the stack but some games wont work unless i do it anyway.

regards roy
roy bates is offline  
Old 02 November 2011, 13:13   #99
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Hi Novacoder

Are you still working on scummvm rtg and aga versions?
klapdeur is offline  
Old 02 November 2011, 14:20   #100
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

Yes I'm still spending a little bit of time on these.

I think I know the problem with Broken Sword 1 and 2, it's the same issue that effects some of the other games sometimes (AHI timing callback interrupt). The problem is that it's not an easy thing to fix.

I've also been applying Amiga specific memory copy routines throughout which should further increase performance.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 02 November 2011 at 14:37.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM ported to AGA NovaCoder News 560 29 August 2017 05:29
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to ECS NovaCoder News 121 02 March 2017 14:16
Scummvm windows version so good and so fast clauddio Retrogaming General Discussion 1 01 April 2012 15:33
ScummVM 060 RTG H0J support.Other 3 05 October 2011 03:01
Latest version? emuola project.KGLoad 13 30 May 2010 12:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23287 seconds with 12 queries