English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 June 2011, 07:29   #21
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
A quick port of the latest version of ScummVM (v1.3.0) over to RTG and it looks ok and I've finally got Sierra SCI support working

[ Show youtube player ]

Sorry of the poor quality of the video, it's was a bit of a rush job
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 June 2011, 13:31   #22
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
A quick port of the latest version of ScummVM (v1.3.0) over to RTG and it looks ok and I've finally got Sierra SCI support working

[ Show youtube player ]
Excellent news!
Thanks for all your efforts in porting this!
James is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 10:47   #23
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
@novacoder
just had a little go of this port,can you tell me if it has any configuration options in tooltypes for the rtg version.i.e video and sound.
havent had it running full screen yet and theres no sound on mine sadly.
im asking because the aga version works great!
is there an updated version of the rtg scummvm port and where can i get it?
im using version 1.2 off aminet.
btw.great job on these ports its great fun.
roy bates is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 12:55   #24
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

I've heard that to get it working full screen you need to set up some custom screen modes in the resolutions the game needs (depends on the scaler used).

To get the sound working, make sure you are using the original uncompressed sound files and that you've got AHI setup properly (see AHI prefs for details).

As I don't have a real RTG Amiga I can't test this myself, and as this port is based on the no longer maintained 68k SDL it's not going to get any better than this. My real interest is with the AGA version anyway because that's what I've got myself, the RTG and ECS ports are just extras
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 13:22   #25
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
@novacoder
hi i will try other screen modes is there a way to stop it from saving to the ini file?as every time i run it its a different setting.

ahi is set up correctly on mine as everything works apart from the rtg version of scummvm is there something in scummvm i.e midi emulator or shall i try using the same prefs as the aga version.as in something in scummvm itself

i havent really had much time to look at this so far as ive said where and how do i aquire version 1.3 or doesent it matter?
but apart from that its a good port.it may be a case of im doing something wrong.
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 August 2011, 16:15   #26
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Ok, I've just created a quick 060 RTG release of ScummVM v1.3.1 which doesn't use the SDL anymore and so it should be quicker than the old v1.2.1 version.

It's only a BETA and may not work too well on the real thing (I don't have a real RTG Amiga to test it on).

Go grab it from the Zone and have a play and let me know how it compares to the AGA v1.3.1 (AmiNet).


Oh, and it supports a couple of games:

Maniac Mansion
Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
Loom
Passport to Adventure
The Secret of Monkey Island
Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Day of the Tentacle
Sam & Max Hit the Road
Full Throttle
The Dig
The Curse of Monkey Island
Simon the Sorcerer 1
Simon the Sorcerer 2
Broken Sword 2
The Black Cauldron
Gold Rush!
King's Quest I
King's Quest II
King's Quest III
King's Quest IV
Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards
Mixed-Up Mother Goose
Manhunter 1: New York
Manhunter 2: San Francisco
Police Quest I: In Pursuit of the Death Angel
Space Quest I: The Sarien Encounter
Space Quest II: Vohaul's Revenge
Fanmade Games
Mickey's Space Adventure
Troll's Tale
Winnie the Pooh in the Hundred Acre Wood
Castle of Dr. Brain (EGA and VGA)
Codename: ICEMAN
Conquests of Camelot
Conquests of the Longbow (EGA and VGA)
EcoQuest: The Search for Cetus
EcoQuest 2: Lost Secret of the Rainforest
Freddy Pharkas: Frontier Pharmacist
Hoyle's Book of Games 1
Hoyle's Book of Games 2
Hoyle's Book of Games 3 (EGA and VGA)
Hoyle Classic Card Games
Jones in the Fast Lane
King's Quest I (SCI remake)
King's Quest IV (SCI version)
King's Quest V (EGA and VGA)
King's Quest VI (low and hi res)
Laura Bow: The Colonel's Bequest
Laura Bow 2: The Dagger of Amon Ra
Leisure Suit Larry 1 (SCI remake) (EGA and VGA)
Leisure Suit Larry 2
Leisure Suit Larry 3
Leisure Suit Larry 5 (EGA and VGA)
Leisure Suit Larry 6 (low res)
Mixed-up Fairy Tales
Mixed-up Mother Goose
Pepper's Adventures in Time
Police Quest 1 (SCI remake)
Police Quest 2
Police Quest 3 (EGA and VGA)
Quest for Glory 1/Hero's Quest
Quest for Glory 1 VGA remake
Quest for Glory 2
Quest for Glory 3
Slater & Charlie Go Camping
Space Quest I (SCI remake) (EGA and VGA)
Space Quest III
Space Quest IV (EGA and VGA)
Space Quest V
The Island of Dr. Brain
Discworld
Flight of the Amazon Queen
The Legend of Kyrandia
The Legend of Kyrandia: Book Two: Hand of Fate
The Legend of Kyrandia: Book Three: Malcolm's Revenge


NovaCoder is offline  
Old 20 August 2011, 22:55   #27
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
niiiiiice ile give it a go cheers!!

thankyou very much novacoder
roy bates is offline  
Old 20 August 2011, 23:26   #28
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Ok, cool.

Like I said it's only a BETA and it may not work properly as I've never coded for RTG before.

Anyway let me know if you can get it working or not.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 August 2011, 00:20   #29
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Ok, cool.

Like I said it's only a BETA and it may not work properly as I've never coded for RTG before.

Anyway let me know if you can get it working or not.
no probs when i get time ile try it out and let you know.
again thanks.ALOT

UPDATE

ok ive had a go of this and ....it works great,full screen and sound through sb128.

keep up the good work its well worth the wait,novacoder your the best i love these games.

i would highly recommend this software to anyone with an 060 and rtg and sound card.alot of hard work has gone into doing this and again i thank you novacoder.

Last edited by roy bates; 21 August 2011 at 16:48.
roy bates is offline  
Old 22 August 2011, 12:32   #30
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Cool thanks for the feedback Roy, if this works for other people I'll upload it to AmiNet as the release version.

Can you do a quick compare with v1.3.1 AGA (AmiNet), I'd be interested to know if the RTG version is any quicker (it should be). In particular you should try The Curse of Monkey Island on both because I know the AGA version really struggles.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 22 August 2011, 13:12   #31
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Cool thanks for the feedback Roy, if this works for other people I'll upload it to AmiNet as the release version.

Can you do a quick compare with v1.3.1 AGA (AmiNet), I'd be interested to know if the RTG version is any quicker (it should be). In particular you should try The Curse of Monkey Island on both because I know the AGA version really struggles.

no probs i do have both versions of scummwm there both about the same speed on my system,with music,speech,etc all turned on.

sure no probs when ive got a free minute ile try the curse of monkey island for you and get back to you tommorow.and again thankyou.
roy bates is offline  
Old 22 August 2011, 13:25   #32
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Ok, cool.

Like I said it's only a BETA and it may not work properly as I've never coded for RTG before.

Anyway let me know if you can get it working or not.

Hi NovaCoder

Ive tried the rtg version but i didnt work with my setup

i could open a rtg screen.

could you make one with a screen requester that would be the answer.

on my 4000 with cybergraphx i wont open a screen mode it looking for 320x200 so i created one but still it cant open it. thats the only thing in the error log it creates.


So rtg version with a screenmode requester would be great.


regards
klapdeur
klapdeur is offline  
Old 22 August 2011, 13:26   #33
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
no probs when i get time ile try it out and let you know.
again thanks.ALOT

UPDATE

ok ive had a go of this and ....it works great,full screen and sound through sb128.

keep up the good work its well worth the wait,novacoder your the best i love these games.

i would highly recommend this software to anyone with an 060 and rtg and sound card.alot of hard work has gone into doing this and again i thank you novacoder.
Roy what are you using cybergraphx or picasso (mediator)
klapdeur is offline  
Old 22 August 2011, 16:48   #34
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by klapdeur View Post
Roy what are you using cybergraphx or picasso (mediator)
p96 through voodoo3000 on mediator.hope that helps.
you could try altering the 640 by 480 mode to 60hz.
and do this to all screen modes if using p96.
which card have you got? cv64/3d or picasso4.

yes i second a screen requester please when you have time novacoder.

@novacoder

i have tried the game you asked me to try on scummvm aga and rtg.
the game i tried is as follows:

the curse of monkey island(demo/english) and about 96mb
the curse of monkey island(windows/english) the full fat version about 1000mb! (yep you read that right)

so here goes.
on aga not playerble at all really slow and lagy sound dont really work through paula but it does through sb128.

on rtg playerble stuters a bit but nice. sound plays full speed.

this goes for both demo and full version.if you need more info just ask.

Last edited by roy bates; 22 August 2011 at 17:22. Reason: more to add
roy bates is offline  
Old 22 August 2011, 20:02   #35
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya,

It looks like Cybergrafix is being naughlty and I don't think u can get it working with the beta

Monkey island result is what i wanted to hear!
AGA is maxed out because the chipset cannot handle the throughput but RTG has more bandwith, would love to see a video

Broken Sword 2 may also be playable on your Amiga now.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 23 August 2011 at 03:10.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 August 2011, 10:22   #36
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
hi,

monkey island is only just about playerble in rtg mode,but dont worry about it,its a factor of ten better than 1.2.1,you can see the amount of work thats gone into this frontend.

anyway that monkey island is going to struggle on an amiga anyway theres so much sound and animation to shift then render on screen .at the end of the day,i wont worry about 1 or 2 games not working from a choice of about 30 or so.so im gratefull youve took the time to even bother.
also what was the minimum specs for running this on a pc?.i mean its never going to be uber fast anyway.so im gratefull.

as far as making a video.well sadly i dont have a camcorder.unfortunatly.

and im not going to gripe about the software your working on,in my opinion its awsome i love it.
what im trying to say is there are more peaple with aga than rtg anyway.just the fact it runs is proof of concept.
im looking forward to the next update.it will be worth it!

Last edited by roy bates; 23 August 2011 at 10:27.
roy bates is offline  
Old 23 August 2011, 16:07   #37
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by klapdeur View Post
Hi NovaCoder

Ive tried the rtg version but i didnt work with my setup

i could open a rtg screen.

could you make one with a screen requester that would be the answer.

on my 4000 with cybergraphx i wont open a screen mode it looking for 320x200 so i created one but still it cant open it. thats the only thing in the error log it creates.


So rtg version with a screenmode requester would be great.


regards
klapdeur
I'm not sure if I can get this working with Cybergraphx but I've done another beta which is in the Zone for you to try which I hope will at least open an RTG screen now.

Also don't forget to You should patch exec.library's CopyMem() and CopyMemQuick() routines for faster processor specific versions for more speed.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 August 2011, 20:41   #38
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
hi novacoder

ive had a go of scummvm1.3.1 beta.

im sorry to tell you i cant get rtg in p96 but i can tell you it is trying to open a screen in ntsc that is scrambled, if that helps.
roy bates is offline  
Old 23 August 2011, 23:55   #39
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
ok thanks Roy, looks like it will have to be P96 only for now then
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 August 2011, 01:13   #40
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
ok thanks Roy, looks like it will have to be P96 only for now then
Hi novacoder.
ive tried the 1.3.1 beta and also get a screen but scrambled.

isnt it possible to get a screen requester so user can choose there own screen on p96 and cyberghx????


regards
Klapdeur
klapdeur is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM ported to AGA NovaCoder News 560 29 August 2017 05:29
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to ECS NovaCoder News 121 02 March 2017 14:16
Scummvm windows version so good and so fast clauddio Retrogaming General Discussion 1 01 April 2012 15:33
ScummVM 060 RTG H0J support.Other 3 05 October 2011 03:01
Latest version? emuola project.KGLoad 13 30 May 2010 12:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32168 seconds with 12 queries