English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 April 2011, 05:40   #141
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Supported games list (for the next release)

• Maniac Mansion
• Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders
• Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
• Loom
• Passport to Adventure
• The Secret of Monkey Island
• Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge
• Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
• Day of the Tentacle
• Sam & Max Hit the Road
• Full Throttle
• The Dig
• The Curse of Monkey Island
• Simon the Sorcerer 1
• Simon the Sorcerer 2
• Beneath a Steel Sky
• The Black Cauldron
• Gold Rush!
• King's Quest I
• King's Quest II
• King's Quest III
• King's Quest IV
• Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards
• Mixed-Up Mother Goose
• Manhunter 1: New York
• Manhunter 2: San Francisco
• Police Quest I: In Pursuit of the Death Angel
• Space Quest I: The Sarien Encounter
• Space Quest II: Vohaul's Revenge
• Fanmade Games
• Mickey's Space Adventure
• Troll's Tale
• Winnie the Pooh in the Hundred Acre Wood
• Cruise for a Corpse
• Discworld
• Flight of the Amazon Queen
• The Legend of Kyrandia
• The Legend of Kyrandia: Book Two: Hand of Fate
• The Legend of Kyrandia: Book Three: Malcolm's Revenge



Last edited by NovaCoder; 30 April 2011 at 06:43.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 April 2011, 08:49   #142
Foxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Hi Novacoder,

now i have tested some games like DOTT and Sam and Max.
The Speed and the quality are amazing

But i have also some bugs found.

ScummVM works only correct at the first time i start.
At the first time i saw the loading picture and everything is fine.

After i shut down or quit ScummVM i could not start the program correctly.

At the second time im not seeing the loading page. When the program is loaded the screen flashes (flickers) extremly. I am able to start a game, but there is the same problem.
A restart of the Amiga changes nothing. Only the new installation eliminates the bug. (but only for the first start)

The second bug i have is with the PC Indiana Jones 4 (Talk Version)
The problem is i have no speech. DOTT and S&M are working correctly with good speech quality. But Indy 4 im not able to work with speech.
Is that an known problem, or did you have any idea to fix this problem?
Foxman is offline  
Old 29 April 2011, 09:03   #143
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxman View Post
Hi Novacoder,

now i have tested some games like DOTT and Sam and Max.
The Speed and the quality are amazing
Glad you like it, and lots of people said that the later versions of ScummVM were too slow to run on AGA

If you have an 060 you can also bump the 'MAX_FPS' tooltype up to say 25 for most games.

Quote:
But i have also some bugs found.

ScummVM works only correct at the first time i start.
At the first time i saw the loading picture and everything is fine.

After i shut down or quit ScummVM i could not start the program correctly.
I've seen this myself in WinUAE a couple of times and was hoping that it didn't effect the real thing. Not sure who else has this problem?

Quote:
The second bug i have is with the PC Indiana Jones 4 (Talk Version)
The problem is i have no speech. DOTT and S&M are working correctly with good speech quality. But Indy 4 im not able to work with speech.
Is that an known problem, or did you have any idea to fix this problem?
You could try and play with the 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' tooltype, try setting it lower to say 3 and see if that fixes it for Indy 4. What about Full Throttle, do you get speech in that ok?

Lowering the 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' will slow the peformance down a little bit, be warned.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 29 April 2011 at 09:16.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 29 April 2011, 10:10   #144
Foxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Glad you like it, and lots of people said that the later versions of ScummVM were too slow to run on AGA

If you have an 060 you can also bump the 'MAX_FPS' tooltype up to say 25 for most games.
Yes im using an 060 and your new version is actually the best. I will try it with 25 FPS


Quote:
I've seen this myself in WinUAE a couple of times and was hoping that it didn't effect the real thing. Not sure who else has this problem?
I hope you can fix the problem. I think this must be a problem with the scummvm.ini or with another database which will be changed after the first start.



Quote:
You could try and play with the 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' tooltype, try setting it lower to say 3 and see if that fixes it for Indy 4. What about Full Throttle, do you get speech in that ok?

Lowering the 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' will slow the peformance down a little bit, be warned.
I will try it this weekend and give you response.
Foxman is offline  
Old 30 April 2011, 01:29   #145
derLegoMann
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 33
Posts: 35
Hi!

Quote:
But i have also some bugs found.

ScummVM works only correct at the first time i start.
At the first time i saw the loading picture and everything is fine.

After i shut down or quit ScummVM i could not start the program correctly.
I have nearly the same problem, when i first start Scumm everything is working ok.
But when I quit Scumm I can't restart it, only restart my Amiga solves the problem.

greets
derLegoMann
derLegoMann is offline  
Old 03 May 2011, 04:34   #146
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by derLegoMann View Post
Hi!



I have nearly the same problem, when i first start Scumm everything is working ok.
But when I quit Scumm I can't restart it, only restart my Amiga solves the problem.

greets
derLegoMann
Hiya,

Bug found, fixed in the next release.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 May 2011, 15:52   #147
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
v1.2.1.010 in the Zone for testing, let me know of any issues before I send it to AmiNet.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 May 2011, 23:38   #148
Frankls10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ludwigshafen Germany
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Frankls10
openpci.library

Hi ,
When I start ScummVM there comes a popup : Unable to open openpci.library ver 1. I have ver 2.3 beta . Where can I get a working one ?
Greetings Frank
Frankls10 is offline  
Old 04 May 2011, 00:07   #149
Foxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankls10 View Post
Hi ,
When I start ScummVM there comes a popup : Unable to open openpci.library ver 1. I have ver 2.3 beta . Where can I get a working one ?
Greetings Frank
With the installation of ahi you have installed some wrong ahi "drivers".
It isnt a problem with scummVM.
Check your ahi installation. Only filemaster and paula should be in the ahi drawers.
Foxman is offline  
Old 04 May 2011, 00:34   #150
derLegoMann
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 33
Posts: 35
Hi!

I have tested Scumm v1.2.1.010.
The restart problem is fixed, thanks.

No further problems found yet, great release.

@Frankls10
http://www.legomann.lightage.de/download/AHI.rar
try this version.

greets
derLegoMann

Last edited by derLegoMann; 04 May 2011 at 00:41.
derLegoMann is offline  
Old 06 May 2011, 17:58   #151
Foxman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Glad you like it, and lots of people said that the later versions of ScummVM were too slow to run on AGA

If you have an 060 you can also bump the 'MAX_FPS' tooltype up to say 25 for most games.



I've seen this myself in WinUAE a couple of times and was hoping that it didn't effect the real thing. Not sure who else has this problem?



You could try and play with the 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' tooltype, try setting it lower to say 3 and see if that fixes it for Indy 4. What about Full Throttle, do you get speech in that ok?

Lowering the 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' will slow the peformance down a little bit, be warned.
Hi,

also with the new version i have no speech @ IJ4.
Also FOTAQ is without speech. I ve tried a lot (also your tips) but no change.
The speed is in every game more than just good (1260).
Did you ever had speech in IJ4 or FOTAQ?
Foxman is offline  
Old 06 May 2011, 22:59   #152
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxman View Post
Hi,

also with the new version i have no speech @ IJ4.
Also FOTAQ is without speech. I ve tried a lot (also your tips) but no change.
The speed is in every game more than just good (1260).
Did you ever had speech in IJ4 or FOTAQ?

I just tried Queen on my WINUAE setup and I get speech just fine?

Have you replaced the original 'queen.tbl' file that comes with my LHA?

If you have and you still don't have speech, try it with WinUAE for me.

I think I used a demo from here
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 May 2011, 23:13   #153
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I have tried FOTA Queen on the A600 and the speech run fine too...
The game seems to run at full speed except the "Stories" (the intro for example) which run slow...

The colors are poor...need indivisiongfx
gibs is offline  
Old 07 May 2011, 00:39   #154
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Just got my first scaler to work

It's only quick and dirty (no interpolation) but it will aspect ratio correct (stretch) a 320x200 screen to a 320x240 screen and get rid of the black bar at the bottom of the screen, not sure of the performance, this is probably 040/060 only.

Of course you can also enable the video requester in the current version and just choose an NTSC 320x200 screen mode for much the same effect so this is of more use to VGA (MultiSync) users who like a higher refresh rate.


As a side effect it also means that games that are 320x240 in native (eg LOOM FM Towns edition) will be playable
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	normal.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	28597   Click image for larger version

Name:	stretched.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	113.4 KB
ID:	28598  

Last edited by NovaCoder; 07 May 2011 at 00:49.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 May 2011, 05:12   #155
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruńa, Bera
Age: 36
Posts: 426
Wow! At evening I'll try the last version from Aminet. Thanks very much!!!
Xenon is offline  
Old 07 May 2011, 06:42   #156
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Testing now..
Think I might have found my problem with Full Throttle and no voices...
I was looking and I didn't have a monster.sou..
Now, I said earlier I had voices when playing on my PC and I do. ?? ;-)
The files I downloaded had a file called monster.sof
Yes, soF, not soU.

(I couldn't find my original, so I DLd a Full Throttle from somewhere..)

OK, so I went digging in the garage and found my CD. (Yeay!!!)
Transferring the file now..

No idea what an "sof" file is that different from an "sou" file.
(Also, the monster.sof file is about 45M. My monster.sou from the CD is 103M - 50% transferred so far..)

Initially, I'm going to copy just that file, but if that doesn't work, I'll copy the rest of it..

I thought I remembered someone else saying they weren't getting voices with some game too, so I wonder if it's the same thing...

Update: YEAY
"I'm not putting my lips on that!"

Voices.. So, I can now play Full Throttle with speaking on my A1200 with an ACA1230/28!
Now, the videos are fairly painful, but so far the point and click isn't bad.
I'm assuming parts like the bike fight would be pretty tough on this setup, but I'm impressed this is working!!!
(update: the bike fight is basically unplayable with the 28Mhz.. It's either locked up now or just in some really slow loop. :-)

That'll teach me to not just be lazy and DL something from the internet rather than look for my original..

...

...

OK, that won't teach me at all, but let it be a lesson to everyone else!! ;-)

desiv

Last edited by desiv; 07 May 2011 at 07:40.
desiv is offline  
Old 07 May 2011, 18:04   #157
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The sof file is the sou file compresses with flac. For reference so3 file is mp3 compressed. unlikely flac or mp3 decompression will be supported in 68k version.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 09 May 2011, 17:47   #158
Newcomer
 
Posts: n/a
Hello Nova,

today ive downloaded and checked new ScummVM AGA 030 1.2.1.011 from Aminet but ive got a lot of problems with it

At first I didnt remember how it was in 1.2.0 but why does ScummVM_AGA.readme attempt to open with tool ŽEditPadŽand not with Multiview? Im not able to open atm

But my bigger problem is the sound: In 1.2.0 it worked with DOTT, sound and speech - it was stuttering but it worked, now with 1.2.1 i cant hear anything!
I already changed ŽAuto_select_audioŽunder Tooltypes to False and chosen 8bit-fast-stereo with 8000Hz, in Scumm-launcher everything under audio is on default, override-settings under DOTT are disabled! Even when I disable audio to only hear speach it doesnt work, it runs MUCH faster than with midi-on but I cant hear anything, no speech at all

Anyone an idea how to get this sound back??What i am doin wrong with 1.2.1?? Pls help me!

EDIT: now ive managed to open the readme - but cant find any helpful...already checked a lot but got no sound What is it??Need help!

And can you tell me pls why it does startup so slowly EVERY time? In readme i can read lookup-tables created at first startup of interpreter but it takes minutes every startup for me - 1.2.0 started up much faster! What are these lookup-tables for, and are they the reason for slow startup versus 1.2.0? And what can I do to get any sound??!

Last edited by Newcomer; 09 May 2011 at 18:06.
 
Old 10 May 2011, 13:17   #159
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Command line options don't work. I tried a few like -v or -h, but nothing happens.
Also a little feature request: Would it be possible to add tool types (or CLI options) for explicitly entering audio and video modes instead of auto guessing or using a requester?
pintcat is offline  
Old 12 May 2011, 08:15   #160
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newcomer View Post
Hello Nova,


But my bigger problem is the sound: In 1.2.0 it worked with DOTT, sound and speech - it was stuttering but it worked, now with 1.2.1 i cant hear anything!
I already changed ŽAuto_select_audioŽunder Tooltypes to False and chosen 8bit-fast-stereo with 8000Hz, in Scumm-launcher everything under audio is on default, override-settings under DOTT are disabled! Even when I disable audio to only hear speach it doesnt work, it runs MUCH faster than with midi-on but I cant hear anything, no speech at all
hiya,

Very strange if you've got it to work before on your setup

So you are using uncompressed audio files right? As stated above, ScummVM 68k doesn't support compressed audio (eg MP3, FLAC etc).

Do not try to use MIDI, as stated in the readme this will probably kill most games on most systems (it *may* work on some systems with a real AHI card for certain games).

There's nothing wrong with v1.2.1.011, you should hear speech/sfx for DOTT.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to ECS NovaCoder News 121 02 March 2017 14:16
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to RTG NovaCoder News 200 08 June 2016 11:39
Quake 2 ported to AGA NovaCoder News 130 22 May 2014 18:44
Full Throttle AGA - ScummVM V1.0.0 NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 102 04 July 2011 12:53
ScummVM and AGA Amiga HardStep support.Games 25 05 November 2006 21:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30817 seconds with 12 queries