English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2015, 16:21   #401
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Thanks NovaCoder! Did you drop these source trees on GitHub already?
wXR is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 April 2015, 19:24   #402
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Yes it would, I did it about 4 years ago for my DOTT port


Very time consuming though to convert all of those files by hand, it would need to be automated to be practical.

I went from MIDI to MUS (same as DOOM) for DOTT

Another DOTT port used MIDI to MOD

And what was the end result? Decent enough gameplay with acceptable sound?

I think with the MIDI thing, wouldn't it be easier to set up a process where people can either supply their own instruments, or bundle up a preset load of instruments so that it can at least play the music?

If people aren't happy then they could be given the option to add their own samples to get better music out of the whole process.

Or was the DOTT experiment a failure in that regard?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 01 April 2015, 23:29   #403
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
The DOTT MIDI to MUS experiment was pretty horrible, real MIDI playback will sound much better
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 08:33   #404
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Why would you want to use this to play MI2 or PQ3 when there's already native versions of those games?

I know the SCI games run like shit on a 68000 but I would assume on an 020 or 030 they would perform as well as they do on the PC, or is that not the case?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 08:00   #405
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Why would you want to use this to play MI2 or PQ3 when there's already native versions of those games?

I know the SCI games run like shit on a 68000 but I would assume on an 020 or 030 they would perform as well as they do on the PC, or is that not the case?
Terrible colors in the ports?
wXR is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 09:13   #406
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
The ports do look terrible compared to the PC version but most people do not have RTG so any improvement to the graphics would be minimal.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 12:19   #407
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
The ports do look terrible compared to the PC version but most people do not have RTG so any improvement to the graphics would be minimal.
256 color AGA baby
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 23:33   #408
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
256 color AGA baby
Confirmed! I compared the native Amiga version of "Beneath a Steel Sky" with the PC version using ScummVM on the same Amiga and as a result I kicked that poor and ugly converted Amiga version off my harddrive. A shame considering that the Amiga version in question was claimed to be gussied up for the CD≥≤ and should have looked way better than this!
pintcat is offline  
Old 05 April 2015, 00:18   #409
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
If anyone is interested in having non pixelated PC graphics. Then consider TV out on computer. I played many games on PC this way using S-video out and the quality was great!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 10:41   #410
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
256 color AGA baby
I didn't think AGA would be good enough to be able to run some these games smoothly in 256 colours.

Last edited by Hewitson; 09 April 2015 at 10:49.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 11:40   #411
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
AGA is much more capable than people give it credit for, my A4000 runs Full Throttle really well with only an 060, no RTG. And some of the FMV and graphics are really impressive.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 13:43   #412
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
AGA is much more capable than people give it credit for, my A4000 runs Full Throttle really well with only an 060, no RTG. And some of the FMV and graphics are really impressive.
It might run well, but I bet it doesn't run as well as it does on the PC.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 13:56   #413
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
It might run well, but I bet it doesn't run as well as it does on the PC.
My real Amiga runs Full Throttle just well as a real PC would have run it back in the day.

[ Show youtube player ]

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 13 April 2015, 12:54   #414
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Doesn't the SCUMM engine use a low frame rate (10 fps or so) by default - even on PCs?
pintcat is offline  
Old 12 May 2015, 14:09   #415
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Any progress with MIDI, Nova?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 12:15   #416
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Nope I have the flu so I'm not doing anything at the moment
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 12:46   #417
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
And what about this device you bought the other day:

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Roland SC-55 mkII mk2 Sound Canvas GS MIDI sound module
What does it have compared to the MT32 that the Amiga can take advantage of?

BTW you can use WinUAE with Midi emulation in bed . (IO Ports/Midi/Out MT32 Synth Emulator and this)

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 May 2015 at 19:19.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 May 2015, 13:07   #418
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
The SC-55 MK2 is a general midi device, the MT-32 uses it's own standard.
Dos games after +/- 1992 started to use GM midi instead of the MT-32.
For Amiga games I think the SC-55 is not very useful. But you can init the SC-55 into MT-32 mode. It's not fully compatible (you can not send your own sounds to the device) but in most games I tried it will do a good job. It sound's more bright then the MT-32. Most of the time, I put the SC-55 into MT-32 mode and let it play along with the MT-32 it sound really good.
voyager is offline  
Old 14 May 2015, 15:44   #419
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 621
So I have an Amiga 1200 with ACA 1233 030/40MHz (128MB Fast RAM) and internal Compact flash hard drive (will do about 2.2MB/sec). So what I've gathered thus far is that midi emulation is not possible on a 030 CPU with Scummvm AGA. Are there any chances this could be done in other ways? I tried to find older versions of Scummvm AGA where midi was enabled for 030's? but could not find it. I just wanted to test what would happen if I tried to emulate midi.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 14 May 2015, 17:34   #420
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
It doesn't exist a ScummVM for Amiga with MIDI yet, but if you can use ScummVM AGA with your 030 on your Amiga and NovaCoder implements it, I would read this answer of him to my question:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Do you think that leaving the music for the Roland -so improved a lot- then the CPU relieves some resources to improve speed with graphics, or is it "only" a benefit for the music?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Yes for sure, not only does it sound much better than emulated MIDI it also has very little load on the CPU.

This should mean that ScummVM with MIDI music will run a bit faster than when you try and emulate MIDI.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to ECS NovaCoder News 121 02 March 2017 14:16
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to RTG NovaCoder News 200 08 June 2016 11:39
Quake 2 ported to AGA NovaCoder News 130 22 May 2014 18:44
Full Throttle AGA - ScummVM V1.0.0 NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 102 04 July 2011 12:53
ScummVM and AGA Amiga HardStep support.Games 25 05 November 2006 21:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22190 seconds with 12 queries