English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 December 2010, 08:08   #21
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
pvr wise - it can talk and be a frontend to mythtv, so that's not a problem. its easy to launch a web browser of your choice from within xbmc. the gui is pretty decent I think, no problem using it from a remote. you can reskin also if you prefer a different layout.

as for setup. you can get live cds with it on ready to go.

we are not going to agree on this...

your final comparison to be honest, reads from someone who has not actually really used xbmc recently.
BuZz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 December 2010, 09:39   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
why not use any of the hundred other programs with more functionality/hardware support/easier to setup/etc.?
Of which you've listed how many by name?

Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
Setup takes a while, it's high maintenance and very easily broken.
Not sure about the linux version but the Windows7 version installs with no setup and works fine and is pretty much impossible to break.

Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
At the end of the day, I could just use a default player and not lose much.
Which "default player"? Certainly not Windows Media Centre 11 cos it doesn't play some of the more popular codecs out of the box.

I'm interested to consider other alternatives. Get me some details so I can try them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuZz View Post
if you want to watch 1080p x264, then xbmc on some htpc is a decent choice. if you dont care so much about hd, xbmc4xbox on an xbox can be a good cost effective choice still (although if you transcode you can do 720p on an xbox1).
I've found that my xbox1 with XBMC cannot play 99% of scene x264 720p files One of the main reasons I'm looking for an alternative. I wonder if I can get a upnp server to transcode to 720p xvid or something on the fly?

Last edited by TCD; 09 December 2010 at 09:45. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged. Use multi-quote.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 09:55   #23
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
you can transcode on the fly . i tested using ps3 media server i think. not sure though if transcoding that you can fast forward though whilst transcoding.. probably not.. i tend to just run a quick mencoder commandline and then watch it when its done (or during). some "releases" are tagged xvidhd and these play almost perfectly..

im not of course recommending an xbox1 for hd stuff though..
BuZz is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 11:03   #24
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 482
Dont bother.

Get original xbox for 10 , soft-mod it, whack a massive HDD in it and use XBMC, buy far the cheapest and best media centre/player around.
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 11:08   #25
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
And hopefully the next stable release of xbmc4xbox isn't too far away. (tagged as beta2 currently)
BuZz is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 12:06   #26
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Can we stick to the original topic, please. I already know what I need to know about xbmc etc, take it elsewhere. Amiga on 360 is where I'm at.
seuden is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 12:08   #27
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 482
Ok then

Don't hack a 360 and play pirated games.

Amiga Emulator on 360 pretty pointless I think
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 12:15   #28
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 776
I am just waiting for an Amiga emulator for the PS3
deicidal is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 12:20   #29
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Ok then

Don't hack a 360 and play pirated games.

Amiga Emulator on 360 pretty pointless I think
Having a 360, PS3 and a Wii under my tv is enough, so having emulators on these is very appealing. I also want to get my missus into Amiga games which would be easier if it was on the 360 as she loves the 360.

Looking very much forward to this.
seuden is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 13:13   #30
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
I would be interested in this also if it wasn't so risky, chances are you will get caught eventually by Microsoft for Jtagging your Xbox, and then your console becomes pretty useless, you can't do anything that requires the internet, such as get DLC, game updates, play online, chat to friends.

Price is just too high to pay for an Amiga emulator methinks, i'd rather just use my real Amiga which is right next to my 360, or go downstairs and use my PC.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 13:32   #31
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 776
Also dont forget if your 360 gets banned it also removes some features from the 360 like installing games to hdd.
deicidal is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 20:22   #32
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
I would be interested in this also if it wasn't so risky, chances are you will get caught eventually by Microsoft for Jtagging your Xbox, and then your console becomes pretty useless, you can't do anything that requires the internet, such as get DLC, game updates, play online, chat to friends.

Price is just too high to pay for an Amiga emulator methinks, i'd rather just use my real Amiga which is right next to my 360, or go downstairs and use my PC.
a jtagged xbox 360 is the best one you could have... you have the options of copying all your dvds to a usb drive (up to 2TB) and play from there. You have pretty well all the console emulators, you can still watch movies, you can still play all the xblive games and get the DLC without the need of going online. and... (I saved the best for last)

you can play online using the xlink kai service.


It is freaking awesome!!!

forgot to mention, you can also play backups of nearly every xbox 1 games (even ones that M$ never officially supported)

Last edited by kipper2k; 09 December 2010 at 20:29.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 22:16   #33
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Oooh... might have to consider getting one.... but where to find one in the UK?

I guess consoles that old would be susceptible to RROD? Can you even get the Jasper (was that the fixed version of the mobo?) that old?
alexh is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 22:36   #34
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Xlink Kai is still good for Xbox 1 too.

The RROD isn't so bad on the 2nd gen 360's, after hot air on the GPU and the Xclamp fix they never get returned for a 2nd repair to me and they can be had real cheap on Evil bay.
I also do the 12v fan mod which keeps the RROD at bay in the first place.
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 09 December 2010, 23:46   #35
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Oooh... might have to consider getting one.... but where to find one in the UK?

I guess consoles that old would be susceptible to RROD? Can you even get the Jasper (was that the fixed version of the mobo?) that old?
forgot to mention Alexh, Jtagged consoles play all region games and you can get "donor" files for whatever version 360 you have, regardless of region. Jasper is the best but of course trying to find one with the 7371 Dash or earlier is pretty tough nowadays. There are a few coolmods that will decrease the GPU temps and make your 360 less susceptible to RROD
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 December 2010, 12:12   #36
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Oooh... might have to consider getting one.... but where to find one in the UK?

I guess consoles that old would be susceptible to RROD? Can you even get the Jasper (was that the fixed version of the mobo?) that old?
Brought a Jtagged xbox, after i SAW with my own eyes what a jtagged xbox opens.
You can install your "backups" on an external HDD, and play your Live "backups" games from the Internal one.
No more loading time, or disk swapping hassle.
I think a jtagged xbox is incredible (. But also you have These emulators on it
Final burn
Mame (not very good)
Snes(exellent)
Md(exellent)
Pcengine(not tried)
Nes (not tried)
Maybe others.
Just connect a 2TB external hard disk, and you are in heaven.

I brought one from the UK, with a Falcon revision, not jasper.
Go to this website UKmodchips.com
Jgames is offline  
Old 10 December 2010, 13:24   #37
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Won't the 360 Amiga emulator suffer from exactly the same problem the Xbox Amiga emulators suffered from - run at correct speed (50hz), but have 'chuggy' scrolling, or run at 60hz, making games too fast, but have smooth scrolling?
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 10 December 2010, 13:29   #38
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Chuggy scrolling?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 December 2010, 13:40   #39
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Chuggy scrolling?
Yep. There's one thing the Amiga was brilliant at was (and is) super-smooth scrolling. See, for example, Shadow of The Beast, Leander, Flimbo's Quest.

From all the years of faffing about I've done with various emulator settings you can either get the correct speed (50hz) and chuggy scrolling, or at 60hz you get smooth scrolling, but the games run too fast.
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 10 December 2010, 13:44   #40
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Well I've had WinUAEX set up at 50hz and the scrolling was spot on. No "chuggy"ness
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga emulator - XBox 360 outofwork New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 November 2012 22:17
Xbox 360 emulator coming next week to Jtagged 360s kipper2k support.OtherUAE 0 04 June 2011 01:06
xbox(not 360) /amiga emulater help!!!!!!!!!!!! bowfell Amiga scene 7 24 August 2010 19:07
Amiga SWOS on Xbox 360! wakeupbomb Nostalgia & memories 5 06 March 2009 06:19
Such a thing as an Xbox 360 Amiga emulator Jimbo Retrogaming General Discussion 9 27 January 2007 14:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29078 seconds with 11 queries