English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 July 2011, 21:20   #161
narud17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Leicester
Age: 51
Posts: 117
Hi can I ask a dumb question. How do you get this to work using WINUAE. If I boot uae from a1200 quickstart with the bootdisk-amiga-m68k inserted into dfo I get the loading boot aros.elf.gz for a few seconds and then I get a shell window. What do I need to do now or am I going completely in the wrong direction?. I'm no computer whizz just keen on learning things. Cheers.
narud17 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 July 2011, 22:00   #162
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
I replaced all the AmigaOS files with AROS files in the AMOS for Windows distribution, and added a launcher icon. Included AROS ROM has also been updated.
I also added a zip archive portable version which does not require installation.
(Vairn, would you mind updating it and hosting both, since is still quite slow?)

http://www..com/?sharekey=lpckecw1ocy55
Mequa is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 22:12   #163
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by narud17 View Post
Hi can I ask a dumb question. How do you get this to work using WINUAE. If I boot uae from a1200 quickstart with the bootdisk-amiga-m68k inserted into dfo I get the loading boot aros.elf.gz for a few seconds and then I get a shell window. What do I need to do now or am I going completely in the wrong direction?. I'm no computer whizz just keen on learning things. Cheers.
arosbootstrap and rom images have been broken last few days. But if you are only going to use it in emulation and want to use latest ROM version: Set WinUAE "Main ROM file" = aros-amiga-m68k-rom.bin and "Extended ROM file" = aros-amiga-m68k-ext.bin.

arosbootstrap method is meant for easy real Amiga testing, no need to burn EPROMs etc..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
I replaced all the AmigaOS files with AROS files in the AMOS for Windows distribution, and added a launcher icon. Included AROS ROM has also been updated.
I also added a zip archive portable version which does not require installation.
(Vairn, would you mind updating it and hosting both, since is still quite slow?)
Remember that AROS ABIv1 is not finished yet, any AROS application can (and will!) become incompatible sooner or later without advance warning.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 23:07   #164
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Remember that AROS ABIv1 is not finished yet, any AROS application can (and will!) become incompatible sooner or later without advance warning.
I'll bear that in mind for any new releases - for now it uses AROS-20110714-amiga-m68k-boot for the ROMs; and some commands, libraries, devices etc. from AROS-20110714-amiga-m68k-system.

Question: Is there a version of C:LoadWB provided in AROS-68k to boot into Workbook (when not using a full Wanderer install)? Or does that file have to be obtained from a real Workbench disk? (It's the only file I couldn't find a replacement for.)
I know Workbook isn't very complete, but I need LoadWB to demonstrate switching between AMOS and Workbook.

Last edited by Mequa; 16 July 2011 at 11:53.
Mequa is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 06:51   #165
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 390
Send a message via Skype™ to Vairn
@Mequa: Check your PM boxie;

Anyway, 2 new links, we should probably move this to a new thread .
EXE
ZIP
Vairn is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 13:01   #166
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
An AMOS for Windows thread has now been created in the news forum.

Toni, one thing which doesn't seem to be working yet in AMOS under AROS is 3D extension. I enclose one of my AMOS 3D games as an autobooting (zipped) ADF file with WinUAE log files. Currently it reboots when using the AROS ROM. Does this look something difficult to fix?

P.S. AmigaBASIC demos (on WB Extras 1.3) seem to be working too with AROS-68k, as well as AMOS and Blitz now.
(But Microsoft AmigaBASIC was crap.)
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (10.9 KB, 218 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (14.8 KB, 207 views)
File Type: zip Operation Gigabyte (autoboot).zip (436.8 KB, 266 views)

Last edited by Mequa; 16 July 2011 at 14:20.
Mequa is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 13:43   #167
narud17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Leicester
Age: 51
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
arosbootstrap and rom images have been broken last few days. But if you are only going to use it in emulation and want to use latest ROM version: Set WinUAE "Main ROM file" = aros-amiga-m68k-rom.bin and "Extended ROM file" = aros-amiga-m68k-ext.bin.

arosbootstrap method is meant for easy real Amiga testing, no need to burn EPROMs etc..



Remember that AROS ABIv1 is not finished yet, any AROS application can (and will!) become incompatible sooner or later without advance warning.
Thanks Toni all I was doing wrong was having the rom selection set to system rom files instead of all files.
narud17 is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 17:04   #168
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Toni, one thing which doesn't seem to be working yet in AMOS under AROS is 3D extension. I enclose one of my AMOS 3D games as an autobooting (zipped) ADF file with WinUAE log files. Currently it reboots when using the AROS ROM. Does this look something difficult to fix?
Something corrupts memory before the crash. Probably needs better test case to solve the problem.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 17:34   #169
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Toni, if you launch my AMOS for Windows (from installer or zip download), select Project -> Load from drop-down menu then select AMOSPro_System:AMOS_3D_demos folder, there are a number of simple AMOS 3D demos.

They all load, edit, test (and even compile: menu User -> Compile) fine, it just resets when they attempt to run (interpreted or compiled). I could compile some simple 3D demos to Amiga executable/bootable ADF if that would be useful?

Typing an AMOS 3D instruction (e.g. "Td Cls" or ' Td Load "" ') into the editor and hitting RUN will bomb.


P.S. AROS 68k and x86 look well synced already: Desktop screenshot (full HD)

Is the AROS-68k ROM working under UAE for AROS-x86 yet? (If so, perhaps it could be built in?)

Last edited by Mequa; 16 July 2011 at 19:13.
Mequa is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 20:18   #170
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Typing an AMOS 3D instruction (e.g. "Td Cls" or ' Td Load "" ') into the editor and hitting RUN will bomb.
I'll try (But AMOS and all other similar languages are something I want to touch too much..)

Quote:
Is the AROS-68k ROM working under UAE for AROS-x86 yet? (If so, perhaps it could be built in?)
No idea. Non-m68k AROS = don't care.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 July 2011, 14:34   #171
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Typing an AMOS 3D instruction (e.g. "Td Cls" or ' Td Load "" ') into the editor and hitting RUN will bomb.
Arghh.. AMOS calls dos.library/LoadSeg() with A6 pointing to ExecBase.. Some stupid workaround needed..

100E0C1C 41fa 0162 LEA.L (PC,$0162) == $100e0d80,A0 ; AMOS:AMOS_System/c3d.lib
100E0C20 2208 MOVE.L A0,D1
100E0C22 2c79 0000 0004 MOVEA.L $00000004,A6 ;eh?
100E0C28 206d 02b8 MOVEA.L (A5, $02b8) == $100b5d24,A0 ;dosbase, double eh?
100E0C2C 4ea8 ff6a JSR.L (A0, -$0096) ;LoadSeg

EDIT: fixed/patched library files attached if anyone cares..
Attached Files
File Type: zip amos3dlibs_patched.zip (4.2 KB, 225 views)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 21 July 2011 at 16:11.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 July 2011, 12:55   #172
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
@Toni:

What's the progress on Aros 68k ?


PS: Can you make this thread sticky, so that it is more easily noticeable ? Maybe even modifying the title a little bit so that people know we are talking about Aros 68k .
 
Old 27 July 2011, 14:22   #173
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Redesign of AROS boot model, it does not fit in AOS model. (3rd party autoboot ROMs and RDB filesystems are something that AROS didn't need to care etc.. It did work previously but it was too ugly)

-> Boot priorities and custom filesystems etc may work strangely until boot rewrite is finished. (Jason is doing this)

I implemented optional Enforcer-like MMU kernel debugging support recently (currently only working and tested with WinUAE 68040 MMU emulation but also supports 68030 and 68060, but only in theory at this point). This also detects early boot invalid accesses because it is rom built-in and starts very early.

I finally had good enough reason to learn 680x0 MMU programming

Quote:
Can you make this thread sticky
Can't do, I am only mod in WinUAE forum.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 July 2011, 14:56   #174
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Can't do, I am only mod in WinUAE forum.
Thread is sticky now. Someone suggest a more fitting title please.
TCD is offline  
Old 27 July 2011, 15:56   #175
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Thread is sticky now. Someone suggest a more fitting title please.
How about: "Free & legal Kickstart ROM + Aros OS" ?
I know it's not the best title
Maybe someone's got a better one.
 
Old 27 July 2011, 19:51   #176
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Aros m68k (Kickstart substitute) ?
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 27 July 2011, 19:55   #177
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Changed for now until someone comes up with a better one
TCD is offline  
Old 27 July 2011, 19:57   #178
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Let's play king of the hill.
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 27 July 2011, 20:07   #179
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
It also includes most WB programs and more but current name is fine with me
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 July 2011, 03:31   #180
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
I was wondering if there are plans to include a replacement "Workbench disk" ADF which will boot into Workbook (not enough space for Wanderer on a floppy), but built from free/AROS-68k code, and perhaps including a few very lightweight applications?

I know AROS-68k ROM can boot original Workbench ADFs, but a free bootable ADF might also be a good idea (even if Workbook is still very limited at this stage).

P.S. Does there exist an open-source build of the "C:LoadWB" executable to launch Workbook under AROS-68k? (Of course this can be copied from an original Workbench disk, but an open-source build for AROS-68k Workbook might be a good idea too).

Last edited by Mequa; 28 July 2011 at 03:36.
Mequa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ChipQuik and substitute kipper2k Hardware mods 18 27 September 2013 11:55
AROS m68k Bug Reports Ezrec Amiga scene 1 03 October 2011 23:40
AROS m68k running on WinUAE turrican3 Amiga scene 1 01 January 2011 05:07
Kickstart substitute gilgamesh request.UAE Wishlist 19 17 January 2009 16:37
New Bounty-Project started for AROS: Kickstart replacement Paul News 0 26 December 2004 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25158 seconds with 12 queries