English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2010, 21:16   #41
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
So I don't see the need to replace it with something that is exactly the same but of equal or less compatibility.
Do you see any point in gcc, Linux or OpenOffice?
gilgamesh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 November 2010, 04:12   #42
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
when its released, it should include a readme which states.... free to anyone apart from Amiga forever
Djay is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 05:20   #43
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgamesh View Post
Do you see any point in gcc, Linux or OpenOffice?
No, not really.

>when its released, it should include a readme which states.... free to anyone apart from Amiga forever

Agreed :-)

@Zetro:

>Once a new Kickrom is developed that is as compatible with 3.1 as possible - then looks at a workbench replacements - improved software porting in and out of the AROS community!

AROS is still targeting 3.1 instead of 3.9 even 10 years after the release of 3.9. When will they ever catch up <sigh> ...
Minuous is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 05:43   #44
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
From the Aros wiki FAQ

Quote:
Why are you only aiming for compatibility with 3.1?

Well, to be honest this is a misconception. The base development is aimed at implementing the apis used in "atleast" AmigaOS v3.1. However along the way it has been necessary to revise the plans somewhat where amigaos3.1 didnt support the necessary functionality. The end result is a feature set somewhere inbetween OS3.1 and 3.9 however 3.1 is still used as the _base_ of our goals.
Quote:
What is the relation between AROS and Haage & Partner?

Haage & Partner used parts of AROS in AmigaOS 3.5 and 3.9, for example the colorwheel and gradientslider gadgets and the SetENV command. This means that in a way, AROS has become part of the official AmigaOS. This does not imply that there is any formal relation between AROS and Haage & Partner. AROS is an open source project, and anyone can use our code in their own projects provided they follow the license.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 06:10   #45
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,658
>The end result is a feature set somewhere inbetween OS3.1 and 3.9 however 3.1 is still used as the _base_ of our goals.

Thanks THB.

But your excerpt just confirms what I was saying.

So it's basically OS3.1 with some but not all OS3.5/3.9 enhancements. Similar to the situation with OS4 - they started with ancient OS3.1 and still not all OS3.5/3.9 enhancements have been incorporated - but at least OS4 has ReAction, if I was using AROS I'd be stuck with crappy GadTools or awful MUI.
Minuous is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 09:34   #46
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
@Minuous
You know that noone forces you to use Aros and/or the free Kickstart replacement. I think it's quite a task to reengineer an OS and I think the Aros guys are not doing too bad.
TCD is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 09:37   #47
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
It's loading AROS shell.

http://www.evillabs.net/wiki/index.p...10:_AROS_Shell
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 10:45   #48
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
Neat!

mihcael is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 12:09   #49
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
@Minuous

so U never upgraded your Kickstart from 1.2 to 1.3 or 1.1 to 1.2 wow or 2.0 to 3.0
I utterly fail to see how you cannot see the benefits that a successful project like this will bring to all our lives


@thread
Go team toni, I hope you don`t need your crystal ball to much

I was trying install aros to take to Blackpool but did`t get round to it, seems I`ve got an added incentive to try again now
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 12 November 2010, 14:23   #50
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
>The end result is a feature set somewhere inbetween OS3.1 and 3.9 however 3.1 is still used as the _base_ of our goals.

Thanks THB.

But your excerpt just confirms what I was saying.

So it's basically OS3.1 with some but not all OS3.5/3.9 enhancements. Similar to the situation with OS4 - they started with ancient OS3.1 and still not all OS3.5/3.9 enhancements have been incorporated - but at least OS4 has ReAction, if I was using AROS I'd be stuck with crappy GadTools or awful MUI.
I tihnk that you might be getting caught up on whats going on here Minuous -

We are discussing KickROM not Operating System


There are NO official 3.9 KickROM's these are CUSTOM - tailored to the hardware target that uses them.

OS replacements / updates can come later


As much as I am not an MUI fan - when properly setup its pretty good especially on limmited ECS machines-

I wont hear a bad word about GadTools (I love gadtools) well usually I replace everything in code anyway - but hey its a great bit of prototyping software for me. =)

Last edited by Zetr0; 12 November 2010 at 15:03.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 November 2010, 14:51   #51
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Just had a quick Play - Impressive start, I know nothing is going to work 100% yet but tried a few IPFs
Now gonna try adding some WB Libs and Commands to the Aros Boot disk.

Keep up the good work Guys
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ArosKick1.PNG
Views:	470
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	26995  

Last edited by Retro1234; 13 November 2010 at 14:58.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 13 November 2010, 23:32   #52
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Does it work out of the box now or did you do anything special (with serial port)?
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 14 November 2010, 07:38   #53
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
I just downloaded -loaded the config file and roms
http://www.evillabs.net/AROS/AROS-r35388-EVIL.tar.gz
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 November 2010, 06:22   #54
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
Slightly newer screenshot, looks a bit more natural now!



Nightly Builds for AROS 68K have been implemented!

Quote:
The native version for m68k Amigas or UAE. This version is binary compatible with AmigaOS. This archive contains rom image(s) and all AROS system binaries compiled from the Subversion tree.
Still not at all useable but its another step!
mihcael is offline  
Old 15 November 2010, 12:04   #55
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Looks like Cloanto are one of the Sponsors for the bounty

There were a few more games ran -Yo Joe IPF, Double Drasgon III, Smash TV
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Slightly newer screenshot, looks a bit more natural now!
Is there an updated ROM? AND where can I get it?

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Quote:
The native version for m68k Amigas or UAE. This version is binary compatible with AmigaOS. This archive contains rom image(s) and all AROS system binaries compiled from the Subversion tree.
In the nightly builds

Last edited by Retro1234; 15 November 2010 at 12:09.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 November 2010, 12:57   #56
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,953
Graphics updates are currently painfully slow, most rectangle based graphics routines fall back to getpixel and putpixel if driver does not implement real block based graphics routines.

Blitter routines will be implemented in next few days.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2010, 13:17   #57
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Great work !!
kriz is offline  
Old 15 November 2010, 15:45   #58
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
Just one word: outstanding!
chiark is offline  
Old 15 November 2010, 16:20   #59
terminills
 
Posts: n/a
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/v...d=5410&forum=4


=]
 
Old 22 November 2010, 09:19   #60
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
AROS trying to boot with AROS rom.
[ Show youtube player ]

And from the mailing list today
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason McMullan;

...
Just to let you know, with some not-yet-ready-for-prime-time hacks, I was able to boot to Wanderer with a 2M Chip + 8M Fast configuration. When Wanderer came up (and ate my mouse cursor!)

I had left:
1.7M Chip (good!)
3.3M Fast (what?!? Wanderer ate 4.7M of RAM?)
...
mihcael is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ChipQuik and substitute kipper2k Hardware mods 18 27 September 2013 11:55
AROS m68k Bug Reports Ezrec Amiga scene 1 03 October 2011 23:40
AROS m68k running on WinUAE turrican3 Amiga scene 1 01 January 2011 05:07
Kickstart substitute gilgamesh request.UAE Wishlist 19 17 January 2009 16:37
New Bounty-Project started for AROS: Kickstart replacement Paul News 0 26 December 2004 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29468 seconds with 12 queries