English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 September 2012, 16:39   #321
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
wow you mean AROS don`t boot to a CLI
Where did I say it does not boot to CLI? Of course there is boot Shell/CLI.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 07 September 2012 at 16:51.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 September 2012, 17:40   #322
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
core was worried for a moment then

hehehehe not really as this is what the amiga dose \o/ and thanks toni your

cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 21:05   #323
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Could you compile it to run on a ColdFire CPU?

hmm...
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 21:23   #324
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Aros m68k is Aros compiled for m68k. Of course you could compile Aros for Coldfire targets (with some minor adjustments).
But still Coldfire is not really compatible with legacy Amiga software. You could add an emulation layer for legacy code. But then why not use an emulator in the first place?
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 21:48   #325
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Coldfire* is mostly binary compatible with m68k, only a few instructions/addressing modes need to be trapped and emulated. Also asm can be re-assembled without modification because the removed instructions can be replaced by exactly equivalent sequences of other instructions, and even bytecode can in some cases be reprocessed.

But if the OS was entirely Coldfire compatible, we could at least do something. Also there are bigger differences in supervisor mode than in user mode I believe, which most application software won't touch.

Just an idea...

*Version 4 even adds back some of the instructions originally removed
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 21:59   #326
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Yes, but reassembling is what an emulator does. And straightforward messing with object code will break a lot of things, first of all the (conditional) jumps. And if the the code does something fancy like modificating itself things get really messy.

Imho ARM has won over Coldfire.
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 22:05   #327
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
Could you compile it to run on a ColdFire CPU?
Of course, if someone is interested. Boot code and at least some parts of m68 assembly kernel code needs replacement. (Don't really see much point)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 September 2012, 22:12   #328
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgamesh View Post
And if the the code does something fancy like modificating itself things get really messy.
Never do this anyway if you want it to run on a CPU that has a cache.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 22:22   #329
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Well, since we're talking about software for the 68000 that's not a problem anyway. Did things break on 68020 I wonder? I mean, did they implement some bus sniffing code flush or something?
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 12 September 2012, 22:45   #330
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
I'm not sure what point you're trying to make here. There will always be some code that doesn't work whenever you upgrade anything, usually because the programmer thought they were being clever but were in reality being stupid. Some A500 software stopped working if you put a memory expansion in. I guess then we shouldn't bother with memory expansions.

If any amiga software at all could be made to work on coldfire, I'd be happy, to be honest. If you just want to run old games that's fine, but I'm pushing the envelope here. Or pushing something, at any rate. My luck, probably. No need to whizz on my buzz.

Fortunately self-modifying code is rare, because on the whole it's difficult, dangerous and pointless. The biggest problem, as far as I gather, is opcodes that are still valid on Coldfire, but behave differently. That might be a problem, because they wouldn't throw an exception so you couldn't trap them. How often that would happen, I don't know. But UAE could be made to emulate coldfire I guess and we could try it there... worth giving it a shot, just to see what happens?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 September 2012, 16:57   #331
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
My point is that I don't think any more Coldfire is the ideal choice for Amiga clones. Nearly compatible isn't compatible. Others disagree. There is also an interesting discussion of Coldfire's performance for Amiga clones.
There is CF68KLib which is used in the Atari Coldfire Project.

Sorry for straying off topic.
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 13:49   #332
amigan1
 
Posts: n/a
@Toni:

PostED (a simple note-taking utility) gives an "Illegal Instruction" Guru when trying to move its window across the screen.


http://hd-rec.de/Archive/PosTED.lha


Here's log:
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (24.4 KB, 87 views)
 
Old 24 October 2012, 10:17   #333
corpsicle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 59
So i just read through this thread and in my eyes the aros 68k project has gone from "interesting experiment" to something that looks like it could be the actual future of classic amigaos. Amazing work.
corpsicle is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 04:01   #334
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I think that in the future (hopefully not too far off), AROS 68k will find it's natural home on an FPGA Amiga project.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 02 November 2012 at 04:40.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 November 2012, 02:11   #335
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
another feature: http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/v...C&type=&mode=0
aros owb working on an amiga 4000/060 (screenshots).
join in aros68k and lets get some boost on that.
wawa is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 19:08   #336
corpsicle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 59
Wow!
I think its time for me to devote a weekend sometime soon to try out aros on one of my amigas.
corpsicle is offline  
Old 08 February 2013, 14:56   #337
aros
 
Posts: n/a
@Toni Wilen:

When launching ImageFX, aros reboots!

I know that you don't like to debug complex programs; still what may tha cause of the crash be ? Can you look into it, please ?

Here's log:
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (75.4 KB, 72 views)
 
Old 05 June 2013, 18:24   #338
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
Is it posible to run Aros68k on A1200 030 32mb (blizzard 1230 with fpu)?
amigappc is offline  
Old 06 June 2013, 08:33   #339
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post
Is it posible to run Aros68k on A1200 030 32mb (blizzard 1230 with fpu)?
From what I've heard you really need an 060 to run it because it's more demanding than standard 3.x
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 June 2013, 10:04   #340
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,925
In my opinion it is not meant to be "used". Especially Wanderer (AROS WB), it is too bloated for m68k. I only consider it a proof of concept and ROM replacement boot loader for programs that take over the system.

Requirements are simple: 68000 or better and enough RAM.

Some programs work, some don't work (bug in some feature, missing feature, bug in program that only triggers under aros and so on..)

Speed is not a goal because one major reason for lack of speed is gcc m68k support which is not that good. (optimization isn't that good, weird looking code at least when compiling for plain 68000, register function parameters are not supported and so on). (EDIT: This is not the only reason and may not be the major reason but there are too many other reasons that makes it pointless. Premature optimization is bad)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 06 June 2013 at 10:20.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ChipQuik and substitute kipper2k Hardware mods 18 27 September 2013 11:55
AROS m68k Bug Reports Ezrec Amiga scene 1 03 October 2011 23:40
AROS m68k running on WinUAE turrican3 Amiga scene 1 01 January 2011 05:07
Kickstart substitute gilgamesh request.UAE Wishlist 19 17 January 2009 16:37
New Bounty-Project started for AROS: Kickstart replacement Paul News 0 26 December 2004 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23467 seconds with 12 queries