English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2011, 12:26   #241
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
When choosing "Detail View" in wanderer, aros reboots.

Also when trying to scroll the window in any file requester (eg. multiview), aros reboots (winuaelog_1.txt )
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (56.1 KB, 115 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog_1.txt (42.8 KB, 117 views)

Last edited by amiga_user; 05 November 2011 at 13:10.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 November 2011, 13:16   #242
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
I don't care about Wanderer, it is too slow and resource hungry for m68k machines.

Also large (native or aros m68k) applications are too time consuming to debug.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 02:43   #243
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya Toni,

Just out of interest, roughly how far are we aware from being able to soft-kicking an Aros ROM in a real classic machine (or FPGA) and then loading up OS3.x?

Are we talking months, or years based on the current progress?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 07:07   #244
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya Toni,

Just out of interest, roughly how far are we aware from being able to soft-kicking an Aros ROM in a real classic machine (or FPGA) and then loading up OS3.x?

Are we talking months, or years based on the current progress?
Should be already possible, at least when using unmodified OS3 installation. (Make sure no one has added any system hack/patch utilities to startup-sequence, most of them can't work because they poke private structures)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 November 2011, 07:27   #245
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Should be already possible, at least when using unmodified OS3 installation. (Make sure no one has added any system hack/patch utilities to startup-sequence, most of them can't work because they poke private structures)
Really, well that's very impressive, well done

This will make it much easier for FPGA makers (CloneA?) to produce 'new' Amiga computers
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 November 2011, 20:23   #246
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
@Toni:

I tried to launch Rexxmast (AmigaOS version) and Aros reboots
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (44.4 KB, 121 views)
 
Old 12 November 2011, 13:04   #247
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga_user View Post
@Toni:

I tried to launch Rexxmast (AmigaOS version) and Aros reboots
AOS libs:rexxsyslib.library includes huge amount of undocumented functions that AOS RexxMast requires and uses. (=it is not possible to mix different rexx system files)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 November 2011, 14:07   #248
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
AOS libs:rexxsyslib.library includes huge amount of undocumented functions that AOS RexxMast requires and uses. (=it is not possible to mix different rexx system files)

I replaced aros rexxsyslib.library with AOS rexxsyslib, and rexxmast now launches properly(1); even arexx scripts DO work !

NOTE (1): sometimes upon being executed, rexxmast gives the following recoverable alert: "file handler closed more than once". But despite this error, rexxmast works subsequently, arexx scripts get executed.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (38.7 KB, 116 views)
 
Old 19 November 2011, 16:06   #249
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
I cannot get a CD to show up, is it possible?

I have tried setting uaescsi.device and it says it's mounted but I cannot access the CD, is there a different method in AROS?
Ian is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 21:38   #250
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
I can boot the nightly build by extracting the .ISO to a folder and mounting that. I couldn't get WinUAE to boot the ISO using AROS ROM though.

Is it just me or is desktop and window wallpaper broken in the nightly builds (and for a while now)?

It would also be nice if Show All worked for icons some day (also seems an issue with current non-68K AROS nightlies)...


What is sweet though is that AMOSPro now launches correctly from Wanderer/Workbook with RTG and correctly switches back with Amiga+A... Anyone want an updated "AMOS for Windows"?
Mequa is offline  
Old 28 November 2011, 18:43   #251
DeafDaz
Deafdaz
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Blackpool Egland
Age: 42
Posts: 201
Is there any news on the Aros Replacement KS? and is there any where I can download it to test?
DeafDaz is offline  
Old 28 November 2011, 20:10   #252
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafDaz View Post
Is there any news on the Aros Replacement KS? and is there any where I can download it to test?
http://aros.sourceforge.net/download.php#nightly-builds - "Nightly Builds" has the very latest version of AROS-68k. The latest builds are from 2011-11-28 (e.g. today), so it's still active

You'll want "amiga-m68k-boot" for the Kickstart ROM replacement, and the much larger "amiga-m68k-bootiso" for the complete desktop experience with Wanderer (Workbench replacement).

After downloading and extracting, you'll need to configure e.g. WinUAE to run them.


P.S. The latest WinUAE already contains an AROS replacement KS, but the AROS Nightly Builds are more "bleeding-edge".

Last edited by Mequa; 28 November 2011 at 20:18.
Mequa is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 07:00   #253
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444



?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 08:54   #254
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
It means what it says on the main page

Working m68k C++ crosscompiler exists. Mesa (and other C++ projects) can be compiled now.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 November 2011, 16:01   #255
amiga_user
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It means what it says on the main page

Working m68k C++ crosscompiler exists. Mesa (and other C++ projects) can be compiled now.
@Toni (& Jason):


This means that the apps in Contrib can now be compiled ?If so, Jason could try and compile them and let'em available to us so they can be tested on various configurations.
 
Old 06 December 2011, 00:25   #256
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Octamed and HippoPlayer are now fixed (I finally remembered to debug these problems..)

Quote:
This means that the apps in Contrib can now be compiled ?If so, Jason could try and compile them and let'em available to us so they can be tested on various configurations.
There was some problems with build machine configuration. Next nightly should work. Maybe.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 January 2012, 23:29   #257
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post

After downloading and extracting, you'll need to configure e.g. WinUAE to run them.


P.S. The latest WinUAE already contains an AROS replacement KS, but the AROS Nightly Builds are more "bleeding-edge".
Does it run on a Minimig + ARM Controller ?
gibs is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 12:21   #258
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Does it run on a Minimig + ARM Controller ?
Check posts 230 and 231.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 13:05   #259
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
How stable is it?

Would it make sense to check compatibility with games in a systematic way?
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 16 January 2012, 19:23   #260
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgamesh View Post
How stable is it?
No one can answer that kind of question

Quote:
Would it make sense to check compatibility with games in a systematic way?
Possibly. Anything that is easy to duplicate and which does not depend on dozens of different libraries and stuff (this usually equals big applications) is "acceptable" compatibility test.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ChipQuik and substitute kipper2k Hardware mods 18 27 September 2013 11:55
AROS m68k Bug Reports Ezrec Amiga scene 1 03 October 2011 23:40
AROS m68k running on WinUAE turrican3 Amiga scene 1 01 January 2011 05:07
Kickstart substitute gilgamesh request.UAE Wishlist 19 17 January 2009 16:37
New Bounty-Project started for AROS: Kickstart replacement Paul News 0 26 December 2004 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25532 seconds with 12 queries