English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2012, 21:04   #1661
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
try the superplus driver it works fine
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 September 2012, 22:34   #1662
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo_becas View Post
Cheers to all amigans and i hope you guys haren't pissed with me or is it too late?
I cant say for anyone else, but were cool. As i said, i'm able to take this whole issue pretty easily since i at least have been able to confirm that the darn thing works, it's just down to getting it to co-operate with the screen(s) i need it to work with.
Mr B is offline  
Old 02 October 2012, 12:51   #1663
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Just to say that the vertical bars I was having while using HighGFX have totally disappeared since I've changed the mobo. I did all kind of timing fixes on my 2Bmb, but surely it remains some yet, surely this:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=2065

And another thing. It isn't that using Superplus I didn't have the vertical bars. They were, but not showed. With the other mb if I would change from Superplus after a time to HighGFX, it was full of blinking vertical bars, just like if I were using it from the beginning.

Edit: I would like to try the ferrite beads, but I can't find them at Ebay. Surely they have another name or something. If someone can help... "0805 ferrite beads - something in the range of 60R@100MHz"

Last edited by Retrofan; 02 October 2012 at 13:02.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 October 2012, 15:30   #1664
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Digikey or Farnells would be the best bet for ferrite beads

http://www.digikey.ca/product-search...ferrite%20bead
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 October 2012, 22:53   #1665
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 132
@Schoenfeld

I've got an SX-32 expansion board that currently doesn't recognize any Fast RAM, do you know if the new config tool will run okay with the standard 2MB of Chip RAM?
Akiko is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 18:03   #1666
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Sure - the tool itself is a few hundred k, and it reserves 1MByte of buffer memory for the flashrom. You'll need a bit more space on harddisk, because the tool loads different cores from a larger selection of cores from harddisk. If you only have floppy, we'll provide a "rescue disk image" as ADF that lets you bring the flickerfixer to a known state (standard settings, conservative enough to be compatible with most monitors).

This disk will just run if you boot from the disk, and no interaction is required. It's meant for a scenario where you've mis-configured the unit and don't see anything any more on your screen.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 21:56   #1667
chocolate_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 212
Any estimate on when the tool will be relased Jens?

Yours patiently
chocolate_boy is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 22:21   #1668
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
next development session is planned for early next week. We're currently busy rolling out all the new products - there's not just Amiga, but also Chameleon (new Beta-8 core just released today) and Nequester, where we're in the last stages of FXS development.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 01:25   #1669
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Hiya Jens,

Glad to hear that progress is continuing on the config tool and cores. I know that you don't like to give estimates on when it will be ready but can you at least commit to a 2012 release?

Also will the first release include Graffiti support or just the standard screen modes?

Thanks

Last edited by NovaCoder; 10 October 2012 at 05:56.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 11:38   #1670
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I know that you don't like to give estimates
Exactly.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 October 2012, 01:19   #1671
Vinamp
Registered User
Vinamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Exactly.

Jens
There are lots of things that I don't like, but must do..
Vinamp is offline  
Old 12 October 2012, 21:53   #1672
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
agreed Vinamp. We all have to tolerate doing our fair share of stuff we dont like. By not giving us even an estimate I think is probably doing more harm than good. It appears to me that making money on other sales is more of a priority than supporting those that have already paid up.

I wasn't impressed by the announcement of the raise in prices, to effectively deter us from returning the card if we want to purchase later when we know it'll work. I also am not impressed by the extended period of time in getting the software from what was promised. granted, we have been given the option to return, but will have to pay more later when it does work. things have happened that are out of jens control, granted, but we've only had vague updates on the situation and then been informed that he has higher priorities. it's a bit of a slap in the face to be honest!

Last edited by prowler; 13 October 2012 at 13:51.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 00:40   #1673
Nipedley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall, England
Age: 28
Posts: 82
At the end of the day, Jens said before the product was released that anyone who isn't happy to wait an undefined amount of time for the Config tool should wait until it is released before purchasing. I got in a pre-order because I didn't want to risk not getting the product, I'm still waiting but I knew that before I ordered and so did everyone else.

I have no doubt that Jens will honour any warranty issues that may be exacerbated by the long wait, he's given us no reason to doubt him.
Nipedley is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 12:32   #1674
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
I kindly request to delete the claim of 20% DOA rate. The total amount of returns is three so far. Two of them were people who have made a short with the ground cable. Short removed->unit back to working.

One unit has been exchanged due to a mechanical defect on the socket. I haven't been able to prove that it was a customer fault, so the exchange was free. We agreed on sharing the shipping cost.

With this number, which I am proud to share with you, you'd imply that only a total of 15 units has been sold. This is obviously wrong - plain badmouthing, just a few days before we are back on development of Indivision AGA MK2 (core and config tool).

I have now started efforts of finding out the street address of diablothe2nd to give him the chance to mention the source of his "information". After all, this is good enough to harm my business. I cannot tolerate anyone running around and spreading rumors about the quality of the products I provide.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 12:58   #1675
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I've had in the past to send two IC products por inspection/repair. Both were for my cause (shorts, wrong connection). I've never seen such a good service. I feel embarrasment to say that they didn't charge anything both times, although it isn't normal.

The problems I was having with my Indi got solved as soon as I changed the mobo, so now I can leave the Indi working with HighGFX for hours without any problem. Well, it's true that I'm using a fan and some copper coolers, but I put them when I was having the problems with the mobo.

Edit: I'm really sorry for Diablothe. I don't know what hapenned to him yesterday.

Last edited by Retrofan; 13 October 2012 at 13:06.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 14:07   #1676
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I kindly request to delete the claim of 20% DOA rate. The total amount of returns is three so far. Two of them were people who have made a short with the ground cable. Short removed->unit back to working.

One unit has been exchanged due to a mechanical defect on the socket. I haven't been able to prove that it was a customer fault, so the exchange was free. We agreed on sharing the shipping cost.

With this number, which I am proud to share with you, you'd imply that only a total of 15 units has been sold. This is obviously wrong - plain badmouthing, just a few days before we are back on development of Indivision AGA MK2 (core and config tool).
Jens, I can confirm that, as requested, the disputed claim has been eradicated from the thread, along with the ensuing 'discussion'. The claim was not substantiated, so let us hope that no harm has been done.

And thankyou for quoting those figures in support of your rebuttal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I have now started efforts of finding out the street address of diablothe2nd to give him the chance to mention the source of his "information". After all, this is good enough to harm my business. I cannot tolerate anyone running around and spreading rumors about the quality of the products I provide.

Jens
Diablothe2nd has been permanently banned from these forums. Please keep to yourselves the details of any follow-up action you may take.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 14:40   #1677
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I have now started efforts of finding out the street address of diablothe2nd to give him the chance to mention the source of his "information". After all, this is good enough to harm my business. I cannot tolerate anyone running around and spreading rumors about the quality of the products I provide.
You have your pockets full of people's money, and all they have is effectively a piece of electronics junk. You raise your prices to make people refrain from returning said junk after they realize it may never work properly. Some of your hardware has flaws that require motherboards to be modified. Some have been reported to be unstable and prone to overheating.

One disgruntled customer asks for answers but gets none and is eventually moderated to bits after which you conveniently appear to ask an already excessively moderated thread to be further moderated in your favor while avoiding to answer any of the pressing questions, and then throw around threats about finding out where people live, but you can't tolerate that he questions the quality of your products and services? Wow.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 15:19   #1678
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Please delete this last post too. It's too offensive IMHO.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 15:30   #1679
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
i have a question...


can anyone return there indi on the grounds the product is incomplete?
roy bates is offline  
Old 13 October 2012, 15:38   #1680
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Please delete this last post too. It's too offensive IMHO.
That is for Jens to judge. The only posts I removed yesterday were either repeating what had already been alleged or were disrespectful to EAB moderation policy.
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27420 seconds with 12 queries