English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 May 2012, 20:34   #1281
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
You see? If I don't ask I never would had found it. Change the link to original anyway, as in english it doesn't work.

When Diablothe2nd opened the Fast Ata thread it was very useful; I think it would be the same about screen modes.

EDIT: In german, direct link to download: http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...3&postcount=33

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 May 2012 at 20:45.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 May 2012, 20:36   #1282
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
sorry guys in the zone now
johnim is offline  
Old 31 May 2012, 20:37   #1283
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
.

When Diablothe2nd opened the Fast Ata thread it was very useful; I think it would be the same about screen modes.

Done

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=821060#post821060


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
sorry guys in the zone now

Last edited by prowler; 31 May 2012 at 23:18. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 31 May 2012, 22:08   #1284
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I have shorted E127R.

I still have glitches Even with 'fblit' now.

I have removed the 1K resistor (the one I put in the FPU place). With the 1K resistance I had 500 ohms at its pins, now removed I have 878 ohms at its pins so with fblit I don't have the glitches anymore (as before).

I have checked the resistance (at the previous pins) on a REV 1A motherboard and it's 950 ohms
I tried the Indivision AGA MKII on the REV 1A, I have the same glitches.
Do I need to Short E127R, Remve E123R, E123C and add the 1K resistor on this revision too ?

Or my Indivision MKII got a problem ?

it seems that glitches appear when I use more than 64 colours @ 1024x768
My background use 16 colours but I need to set screenmode to 128 colours to have the right colours.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-1.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	31778   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-2.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	107.5 KB
ID:	31779  

Last edited by gibs; 01 June 2012 at 00:28.
gibs is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 00:11   #1285
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Finally got some output on my MK2 (havent really tried much been busy) hooked up my a1200 to a dell 22" lcd with DVI and PAL and PAL LACED, Productivity work perfectly (almost its shifted to the right) however NTSC and NTSC laced wont sync. And these are what I need mainly.

Launched some PAL demos and games and they worked well.. though I did notice some glitches on WB a couple of times.

I'll have to try the new screenmodes when I get the amiga back online.

How is progress coming on the software Jens?
magnetic is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 00:53   #1286
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post

How is progress coming on the software Jens?
When it's done
BarryB is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 01:30   #1287
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
When it's done

For the love of all that is Holy please dont use this quote anymore. Its bad enough for the Hyperion fan boys we dont need it here. Its a pathetic quote.
magnetic is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 01:56   #1288
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
For the love of all that is Holy please dont use this quote anymore. Its bad enough for the Hyperion fan boys we dont need it here. Its a pathetic quote.
Well it also so happens to be correct.
Akiko is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 02:02   #1289
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
I asked HOW it was going not When it will be ready.. So actually it does NOT apply.
magnetic is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 03:58   #1290
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I'd also like to know when how the soft-core updates are coming along + also if there is any more news of new features (eg Graffiti).

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 05:49   #1291
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
SuperPlus, Xtreme, HighGFX & HD720.
Link
Ratte is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 08:57   #1292
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Ratte

Thanks for the link and your work on drivers. When I get my amiga back on my network i'll check them out. I really really need NTSC as the whole function of my a1200 is for video work and I have a Supergen SX on the rgb which outputs NTSC for my gfx. Indivision mk2 is great because i can use LCD to do fine gfx touches while I can see the actual NTSC rgb output (ntsc laced too of course) at the same time.

I do have to say the display in PAL laced w/ DVI is stunning! Productivity looks great too.

It sucks because I was running NTSC before (ntsc laced) and all the apps I launch launch in NTSC and wont display on the indivision.. how can I get these programs to launch in PAL? (I'm using PAL laced screenmode 32color)
magnetic is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 09:15   #1293
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
If you are a first-time flickerfixer user and still have your 15kHz monitor connected as a backup, then it may keep your Amiga from starting if the 15kHz monitor is not switched on.

Jens

Hmm interesting read about the Microvitec monitors behaving like that! I have a 22" LCD and a 1084s connected to my a1200 w/mk2 atm. No problems at all if 1084 is off.. just reporting I'll be posting a pic of the setup soon.
magnetic is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 13:38   #1294
bbond007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MIAMI/USA
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
It sucks because I was running NTSC before (ntsc laced) and all the apps I launch launch in NTSC and wont display on the indivision.. how can I get these programs to launch in PAL? (I'm using PAL laced screenmode 32color)
Have you tried to take the NTSC monitor file out of /devs/monitors and placed it in /storage/monitors and reboot?
bbond007 is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 17:52   #1295
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
I asked HOW it was going not When it will be ready..
How? Oh, keyboards are behaving, compilers also work great. Peanut and Cashew supply is good, but we haven't found names for all the configuration bits yet.

SCNR,
Jens

(seriously, what kind of answer did you expect?)
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 18:15   #1296
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Is the 1K resistor fix is for all Amiga 1200 boards or only Rev 1.A ?

Because I have exactly the same glitches appearing with my 1.A and 1D4.
gibs is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 18:39   #1297
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Is the 1K resistor fix is for all Amiga 1200 boards or only Rev 1.A ?

Because I have exactly the same glitches appearing with my 1.A and 1D4.
As i said before, i agree with Jens when he said that must be a chipset issue.
I tried with two identical boards with diferente results (1D4 NTSC).
One works flawlessly and the other i experience the same issues as you.
I think this is a random problem and not board revision related.
Can anyone back me up on this?
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 01 June 2012, 19:43   #1298
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo_becas View Post
Can anyone back me up on this?
Yes, I can.

It was said and written numerous times, and I'm willing to repeat it until everyone understands it:

You cannot tell from the board revision if your board needs a fix or not. Commodore has never used anything that comes close to today's quality management. In everyday business, this resulted in boards being assembled with any combination of chipsets, using any combination of filter components that may or may not fix all issues.

Fixing a board to work in all screenmodes is a trial-and-error job. There are no instructions that are equal for equal board revisions. A scope helps, but what helps the most is a basic understanding of digital circuits. Visible Glitches are mostly caused by violated data-hold times in the data path from memory to Lisa. Measure the end of the Ram-CAS signal in reference to CCK and make sure that the CCK edge comes well before the rising CAS edge.

It's sometimes even necessary to exchange the memory chips on the A1200 mainboard. Note that memory is not purely digital, and memory chips do age. They get slower over time, which may result in Lisa not catching the data, but CPU never finding a problem with chipmem (for example using a memtest program).

Commodore produced a huge mess with all those chipset combinations. Some A1200 boards are even equipped with memory chips that require the address inputs to be stable during the CAS cycle, which is NOT the case for 2M Agnus and Lisa chips. The A4000 has a latch in the chipmem address lines in order to make most SIMMs compatible, but the A1200 mainboard connects Alice address lines directly to the memory chips.

I'm aware that this is getting way beyond the capabilities of a normal solder-junkie, but that's the exact reason why I'm writing this: If you can't get it to work, please seek help from an expert. One of the experts I'm thinking of is registered in this forum by the name "FOL". He works for AmigaKit and I consider him an expert in finding a fault like that.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 02 June 2012, 00:23   #1299
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Ok I understood:

I have 2 A1200 boards : Rev 1.A & Rev 1D4

The Indivision AGA MKII result is the same on my two boards.

I have 2 boards of shit and I'm a solder-junky.

Now to me it's clear ! Thanks
gibs is offline  
Old 02 June 2012, 00:29   #1300
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Gibs just out of curiosity. Are those Commodore boards?
None of my Commodore boards, 1D1 (two) and 2B seem to have problems with it or with the ACA1230/56. Edit: Well, one of the 1D1 boards had the clockport on the other side of where it should be, http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=815007&postcount=13 so I would have fried any Delfina just like you did.

Edit: And solder-junky is referred to any of us that aren't professionals. If you see, Jens is still at the level of electricky...lollol

Last edited by Retrofan; 02 June 2012 at 01:12.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31897 seconds with 12 queries