English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 May 2012, 22:01   #1241
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
What is the better Paula sound hack ?

do you use fblit or no ?
gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 May 2012, 22:42   #1242
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
What is the better Paula sound hack ?
http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/BetterPaula
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 09:03   #1243
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Fblit fix this issue.
Correction: It does not fix the issue. It only covers it, but the root cause of the issue, the slow CCK edge, is still there. You should not jump to conclusions if you only make an isolated observation.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 09:36   #1244
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi jens what do we need to do to fix the gfx curruption im using a 1d4 mob0

with fan on indy and a heatsync on alice i still get it if i go over 16col on highgfx:super high res laced

thanks john
johnim is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 09:50   #1245
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi jens what do we need to do to fix the gfx curruption im using a 1d4 mob0

with fan on indy and a heatsync on alice i still get it if i go over 16col on highgfx:super high res laced
answered before.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 10:26   #1246
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi jens what do we need to do to fix the gfx curruption im using a 1d4 mob0

with fan on indy and a heatsync on alice i still get it if i go over 16col on highgfx:super high res laced

thanks john
Well i just made a test on another board that i have, it's exactly the same as my 1200 it's a 1D4 NTSC board and for my surprise the icons started to get corrupted but when i change it back to my 1200 the problem disapear so i guess that this is a random problem, not caused by any specific board revision but like Jens said it's a chipset problem.

Does anyone made the fix told here by Jens? Both on Indi and on the board?
It would be nice to have pictures.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 11:14   #1247
darksun9210
Because i can.
darksun9210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: London
Age: 39
Posts: 25
on a related note, the bvision and indivision mk2 boards kinda fit in the same space, just can't fit the dvi ribbon cable onto the end of the indivision as there isn't enough space.

anyone got any ideas?

cheers,
darksun9210 is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 11:22   #1248
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksun9210 View Post
on a related note, the bvision and indivision mk2 boards kinda fit in the same space, just can't fit the dvi ribbon cable onto the end of the indivision as there isn't enough space.

anyone got any ideas?

cheers,
You can solder cables there or you can solder pins to a pcb board (sanded a little to give more pressure to the connection) up and down, that you "plug" to the Indi. Just an idea.

Last edited by Retrofan; 29 May 2012 at 12:17.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 12:27   #1249
lolof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 39
Could someone tell me where to put the 1K resistor on the cck signal on the motherboard ?? I can do it but as I do not know what and where is the cck line ..... And i do not want to do soldering on the mk2, for warranty and if a day I want to sell it...
Thanks
lolof is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 12:55   #1250
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolof View Post
Could someone tell me where to put the 1K resistor on the cck signal on the motherboard ??
Best place on the A1200 motherboard is the top left corner of the unused FPU socket. There's a via with the CCK signal and a via with VCC very close together. You should ideally use a resistor of 1206 size, so the distance is bridged easier, and it should also be easier to solder.

Other places would be on Paula or on the underside of the board on E127R, but this one allows the mod without having to remove the board from it's shield.

Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CCK_mod_A1200_FPUsocket.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	31754  
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 13:42   #1251
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452


I've marked the place for you to see better.

I used Jens picture for comparing
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 29 May 2012, 17:41   #1252
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Correction: It does not fix the issue. It only covers it, but the root cause of the issue, the slow CCK edge, is still there. You should not jump to conclusions if you only make an isolated observation.

Jens
I haven't done any conclusion. I just try to understand wich fix is adapted for my case. It is clear that it was not my intention to use fblit to patch the "issue".

Here is a video of the issue : [ Show youtube player ]
The Amiga is cold. It is the 1st boot of the day.
Then when I launch Fblit, I don't have any glitches anymore

Now I have soldered a 1K resistor like in the pic above, I have more glitches than before !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	242.7 KB
ID:	31758  

Last edited by gibs; 29 May 2012 at 23:03.
gibs is offline  
Old 30 May 2012, 01:40   #1253
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
If someone has problems with vertical stripes in analog VGA:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=32166
Ratte is offline  
Old 30 May 2012, 08:28   #1254
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Ratte,
removing protective comonents is NOT RECOMMENDED. Use of a cable without the clamping diodes might lead to damage of the DVI encoder chip. Your cable is not complete without the clamping diodes.

Gibs,
Your video title is misleading. What you see is a Blitter glitch, not an Indivision AGA MK2 glitch. Just like the old version of Indivision AGA, this new one takes the AGA chipset to it's limits, and on some, you see that timing errors of the chipset have not been corrected properly on all boards. If you remove Indivision AGA MK2 and display that video mode on a monitor that can handle these frequencies, you will see that the glitches are still there.

You may have to do more tweaks to your mainboard. This looks like a wrong blitter call, where your accelerator's timing does not match the mainboard's timing. I'm assuming that this is the cause for the Blitter doing funny things in your computer.

Your photo shows two arrows and "0.5k" - if that means that the resistance between these spots is 0.5k, then the falling edge of the CCK signal gets too flat, probably making matters worse. Check E127R (might have to be replaced with a ferrite) and E127C (might have to be removed), but also the usual suspects E123C and E125C that may have to be removed for proper accelerator operation.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 30 May 2012, 16:00   #1255
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Thanks Jens.
Ok I understood. This video was just to show the issue.
I will modify the title & the content if I decide to keep it if it can help the community.

Yes I have 0,5Kohms at these spots.
I will check E127R and E127C ASAP.

BTW what kind of ferrite do I need to put ?
Thanks
gibs is offline  
Old 30 May 2012, 18:37   #1256
attila06
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nice / France
Posts: 176
Hello,

A little video in highgfx 1024*768 , 256 colors would be welcome please .

Thanks.
attila06 is online now  
Old 30 May 2012, 20:50   #1257
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Mine is 1024x768
gibs is offline  
Old 30 May 2012, 20:58   #1258
attila06
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nice / France
Posts: 176
Gibs,

Very nice backdrop, how many colors ?
your workbench is very reactive.
attila06 is online now  
Old 30 May 2012, 21:22   #1259
Ritcho
 
Posts: n/a
Question My INDIVISION MK2 - A4000D version

Hi guys!

I receive my Indivision AGA Mk-2 (A4000D version). I did make a little test with my PC monitor and the result was this: https://picasaweb.google.com/1084372...92267524886274

What you thinking about this?

Thank you!
Best Regards!
 
Old 30 May 2012, 21:57   #1260
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I have removed E123R & E123C
I have removed E127C

ATM I let E127R (because I don't know wich ferrite to put instead)

The result is worst

Attila06, my backdrop is in 16 colours (and it's one of my shot)

Last edited by gibs; 30 May 2012 at 22:39.
gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26097 seconds with 12 queries