English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2011, 07:08   #101
AmigaDave
Since 1987
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Big Bear Lake/USA
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
A month since last post (8 of february, 8 of march).
Any news?
I can't remember any time recently that Jens has announced a product that he confirmed he was going to manufacture where he was grossly late in getting it into the hands of the users and his retail partners.

I am sure it won't be more than a month or two more before he releases this product, or tells us about any problems that are causing its production to be delayed.
AmigaDave is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 March 2011, 19:16   #102
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes. I remember with the ACA1230/56 in it's thread, at first it seemed it was impossible to have them but after Christmas, and suddenly they appeared in Amigakit. I was really surprised. I hope it can happen the same with the Indivisions.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 March 2011, 08:37   #103
sandlbn
 
Posts: n/a
I got a 1 question. Whether the Indivision AGA MK2 will interfere with Elbox Fastata mk2. Will I be able to install them together ?
 
Old 29 March 2011, 12:28   #104
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
It seems that IC are thinking (don't know if working) in a new Idefix Express that would work with SATA. Surely that will be compatible with the new Indivision if the Fast Ata won't.

I would like to know any update about this idea too... expected or max speed for example.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 March 2011, 14:33   #105
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
It seems that IC are thinking (don't know if working) in a new Idefix Express that would work with SATA.
Unlikely they can implement SATA in an FPGA/CPLD at a sensible cost. They'll have to include a PATA->SATA adapter chip on their board.

Why doesn't the old IDEFix Express work with the old indivision? Physical size?
alexh is offline  
Old 29 March 2011, 15:25   #106
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Why doesn't the old IDEFix Express work with the old indivision? Physical size?
It does.
FOL is offline  
Old 06 April 2011, 14:20   #107
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
guys, you can't rush perfection, and I think we all agree that is what we want.

I would rather hear little or nothing from Jens, safe in the knowledge he is spending his time well and building us a fantastic new bit of kit to play with.

Jens - I will certainly be getting one of these new cards for my A1200 when they are available, but take your time, and be happy with your product. Thank you for your dedication (Oliver too!)
Amigaman is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 03:53   #108
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post

I would rather hear little or nothing from Jens, safe in the knowledge he is spending his time well and building us a fantastic new bit of kit to play with.

Why are amiga people such fanboys that they dont want news of amiga developments? Its been far too long without an update. Please Jens tell us whats up. Thanks
magnetic is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 08:20   #109
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
When he has something to tell us I'm sure he will.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 13:36   #110
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Why are amiga people such fanboys that they dont want news of amiga developments? Its been far too long without an update. Please Jens tell us whats up. Thanks

As T said, if Jens has something to say he will.

In the mean time, let him concentrate on making the best product he can.

I think a little more positive encouragement will help Jens feel appreciated.
Amigaman is offline  
Old 08 April 2011, 20:22   #111
AndyLandy
Registered User
AndyLandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southampton / UK
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
As T said, if Jens has something to say he will.

In the mean time, let him concentrate on making the best product he can.

I think a little more positive encouragement will help Jens feel appreciated.
Heh, absolutely. Having already purchased an A603, an ACA630 and an X-Surf, I already know that Jens knows what he's doing and we're not looking at vapourware. He'll give us an update in his own good time. For now, I'll continue to sit tight and drool over the prospect of an Indy Mk2 for my A4000 tower.
AndyLandy is offline  
Old 10 April 2011, 11:15   #112
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 120
jens please continue working on my future indivision mk2, and make good price and a LOT of stock so everyone can buy one
Exit is offline  
Old 11 April 2011, 09:44   #113
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
You know that the Individual Computers Chameleon 64 beta has been released and is getting extensive tweaking right now. don't you?
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 08 June 2011, 03:53   #114
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
One of the most interesting things about the next Indivision AGA will be it's support of Graffiti, for those that don't know much about this graphics mode I've found some blurb about the original implementation here.

Quote:
1. What it does

Graffiti changes the Amiga bitplaned graphics into a chunky
pixel mode. I.e. one byte in memory represents a single
pixel. The value of a byte selects it's colour. The colour
palette is 256 out of 262144 at a time. Possible
resolutions are 640x256, 320x256, 160x256 and 80x256. In
each mode, 256 colours are available, interlacing doubles
the vertical resolution.

3. System requirements, compatibility, limits

For full speed advantages, AGA Chipset are
recommended. For more speed, accelerator cards with
burstmode fastmem are recommended (ACA?).

Due to the limited bandwidth of the chipmemory, the frame
rate of a motion sequence is limited. At about 7MB/s on
AGA-chipsets using 4 Bpls hires, with longword-access about
74 frames/s can be transferred - more than required. Using
word access, it's reduced to about 37 frames/s, and with
byte access only 18 frames/s are possible, so setting up
longwords in the processor registers or in fastmem is
recommended. (Numbers assuming a 384x256 window). Using
the 160x256 pixel mode or the 80x256 pixel mode, the chunky
buffer is completely linear, so you can access four pixels
in a row with a single longword move.

Colour #0 of the Graffiti (external palette, see further
down) must always be set to black (R=G=B=0), because of some
monitors trying to adapt to a 0- level after Hsync. This
causes vertical brightness fading in the first lines if
colour#0 is not set to black. It's different on different
monitors, so this cannot be used as an effect.

4. Activating the card, word definitions

To activate the card, switch to a hires or SHires screen at
1, 2 or 4 bitplanes, depending on the resolution you want to
display. Set the genlock audio bit to 1, otherwise the
standard Amiga bitplaned graphics will be displayed.

The Graffiti card has got it's own color palette that is
called "external palette" from now on. The Amiga-palette
that is set in denise/lisa will be called "internal
palette".

Choosing 4 bitplanes hires or 2 bitplanes SHires sets the
Graffiti to 320x256 pixel. Setting up 2 bitplanes hires or
1 Bitplane SHires selects 160x256 pixel, and a single
bitplane hires selects the 80x256 mode. The highest
resolution available is 4 Bitplanes SHires, resulting in a
display of 640x256 pixel. The Graffiti is
overscan-compatible, so up to 768 pixel and more than 512
lines are possible (depends on PAL or NTSC modes, interlaced
or non-interlaced).

Last edited by NovaCoder; 08 June 2011 at 08:42.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 June 2011, 12:55   #115
AndyLandy
Registered User
AndyLandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southampton / UK
Posts: 91
I'm curious to know whether there'll be any thermal issues with the new Indy AGA. I'd really love to put one in my A4000, but it's a Micronik aftermarket tower jobbie with a huge fat busboard that sits on top of the motherboard, covering (amongst other things) the Lisa chip.

I've heard reports from at least one other source where their Indy AGA overheated and killed itself in this scenario. That would make me sad if it happened, so I'd like to try and avoid the situation if possible.

If there's a sensible way to fit one and cool it, that would be awesome. If not, I guess I'm back to looking for a videoslot scandoubler.
AndyLandy is offline  
Old 08 June 2011, 14:57   #116
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyLandy View Post
I've heard reports from at least one other source where their Indy AGA overheated and killed itself in this scenario.
Could you please name that source? I haven't heard anything like this, and it would be especially surprising if a low-power design like Indivision AGA, which does not require cooling at all, would overheat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyLandy View Post
If there's a sensible way to fit one and cool it, that would be awesome. If not, I guess I'm back to looking for a videoslot scandoubler.
The large variety of features that Indivision AGA offers is partly due to the fact that we have more signals available on the Lisa chip than on the video slot.

However, if it helps your gutt feeling: The next-generation Indivision AGA will be based on an even lower-power FPGA. While the old Indivision AGA uses 2.5V core voltage, the new version uses 1.2V core voltage. And memory is also lower power: Still 3.3V technology, but 65nm process instead of 130nm - resulting in roughly a quarter of the power consumption. This moves the status of Indivision AGA from "no cooling required" to "not the smallest temperature change during operation to be measured".

The one thing that requires cooling is Lisa. She gets quite hot if set to S-Hires modes, which is why the A4000D version had cooling holes added. The same will be done on the next-gen flickerfixers. In some cases, pixel flickeriing appeared during operation, and disappeared when the customer added a fan near those four holes - problem solved.

Novacoder,
Graffiti emulation may not be in the first release of Indivision AGA MK2. However, it's on the wishlist and will be added with a flash update.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 08 June 2011, 23:27   #117
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruņa, Bera
Age: 36
Posts: 426
Thanks for your great work Jens!

Just a question, there will be any firmware updates for the original Indivision AGA?

Regards,

Salva
Xenon is offline  
Old 09 June 2011, 02:34   #118
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenon View Post
Just a question, there will be any firmware updates for the original Indivision AGA?
There's currently no bug that I'm aware of - no update planned for those units. If you're asking for Graffiti support: Unfortunately, that's impossible with the kind of FPGA used (too small, not enough memory).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 09 June 2011, 23:30   #119
TroyDavis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 28
So... when can we get our hands on a Mk2?
TroyDavis is offline  
Old 10 June 2011, 01:06   #120
dannyp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 119
My question is will the new Indivision AGA fit with a 1200 keyboard adapter installed in my custom tower. The original one really doesn't fit as it should and I have to use a DCE Flicker Magic instead because it fits fine.
dannyp1 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25579 seconds with 12 queries