English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2012, 22:40   #1101
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
an update from ebay seller about

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...:X:RTQ:GB:1123

The pins are square and they do not fit each other.

so a no go again for fastata

hmmm i already ordered some from elswhere on ebay...

are you saying the round pins under the ATA will not go in the sockets of these? or that the square legs wont go in the mainboard socket if you've changed them to round pin?
diablothe2nd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 May 2012, 22:41   #1102
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
you'll be able to make all the required adjustments with the config tool. I know it's hard waiting, but I won't waste any more time with test-cores, as these just delay development of the component that you *really* need. Sidenote: iiyama doesn't always display that message; it depends on the model. My favourite is my iiyama MA203DT, which syncs to just about any frequency between 40Hz and 170Hz. The perfect testbench for cores that are way out of range ;-)
thanx

i had tested with my old iiyama E1902...

I will test tomorow with my E2607WSD to compare.

Last edited by CFOU!; 14 May 2012 at 22:47.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 14 May 2012, 22:58   #1103
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
hmmm i already ordered some from elswhere on ebay...

are you saying the round pins under the ATA will not go in the sockets of these? or that the square legs wont go in the mainboard socket if you've changed them to round pin?
No, those square pins are too thick. They won't fit in flat or round sockets unless you file them to be flat (of course they fit under the fast ata), or you desolder the socket of the mb and you solder them there..
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 May 2012, 23:00   #1104
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
No, they are too thick. They won't fit in flat or round sockets unless you file them to be flat.

hmmm i think i've a better idea.... i've got a rather heavy and powerful vice in my workshop.... might be able to squash them flat enough to get them in
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 14 May 2012, 23:32   #1105
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi guys this is getting extreame now i might put mine in my spare tower and use a few riser sockets

Quote:
They won't fit in flat or round sockets unless you file them to be flat
yes true

amigakit we need you

Last edited by prowler; 14 May 2012 at 23:40. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
johnim is offline  
Old 14 May 2012, 23:38   #1106
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I think I'll be able to insert kippers2k's connector if it's as thin as I believe using just a pair of normal sockets (above), but he has to tell how thick it is, and post a photo. I think it should be 7,5-8 mm thick in total or less.

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 May 2012 at 23:49.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 00:04   #1107
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
yes or that its just waiting now i wanted to get it ready for amimeet nevermind

@prowler sorry for double post
johnim is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 00:56   #1108
bbond007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MIAMI/USA
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
or you desolder the socket of the mb and you solder them there..
that is the best idea right there.... you could solder them in at the prefect height or even at an angle....
bbond007 is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 02:43   #1109
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
that is the best idea right there.... you could solder them in at the prefect height or even at an angle....
Anyway you should have to file them if you don't want to make big holes in the mb for those square pins...
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 10:53   #1110
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
I don't have a fast ATA on my 1200 and i hear all this problems about rising it the correct way, it's very simple to increase the legs from those Rom risers, in case you guys aren't able to get your hands on long leg risers. I was able to test my theory when i acidently broke one of the legs of my 500 kick switcher.
If you have a steady hand with the soldering iron yon can use some resistor legs to solder them to those rom risers and it works pretty well, you just have to heat the iron well before you use it and with very little solder just touch with the iron on those legs(about 2 sec.) till a drop of solder falls, and it should grab firmly.
It's a very pacient job but it's a solution, and you can choose how higher you want those risers.
In case you can find rounded long legs rom risers then forget this.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 10:54   #1111
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Man hand soldering those legs is murder. You need to be a solder tech to pull that off.. not easy. But i'm a butcher with an iron lulz.

I really think all you Fast ATA guys need to fork to a new thread.
magnetic is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 12:03   #1112
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Man hand soldering those legs is murder. You need to be a solder tech to pull that off.. not easy. But i'm a butcher with an iron lulz.

I really think all you Fast ATA guys need to fork to a new thread.
I never said it was going to be easy and you're right about one thing, it's time to move this posts to another thread regardin fast ATA
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 12:06   #1113
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
New thread created... lets go

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=818426#post818426
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 12:41   #1114
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Thank goodness!

Just got my Indivision in today, rebuilding my studio so have to wait to install it the a1200 is packed away
magnetic is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 15:20   #1115
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Heres the info on the 20 pin edge card connector that i am using for the custom cable for HDMI (the MKII end of the cable), i am not sure if it is thinner than the one Jens used, it could be sanded down a bit for those that are willing. Its the one without the flanges

http://www.adam-tech.com/catalog/2010/page_328-329.pdf
kipper2k is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 15:27   #1116
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
For what I see it has 10mm, the same than the other.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 17:03   #1117
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 132
Arrived today from Amigakit, play time!


Last edited by Akiko; 15 May 2012 at 22:46.
Akiko is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 17:10   #1118
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Glad it arrived. Thanks for your order!
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 19:16   #1119
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Why didn't I get my MKII shipped in a nice Indivision box I feel unloved now
BarryB is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 19:22   #1120
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Why didn't I get my MKII shipped in a nice Indivision box I feel unloved now
+1
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25546 seconds with 12 queries