English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2012, 00:00   #1041
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
There's the posibility to file their pins to make them thinner (flat, not round, that would be too much work, and the sockets of the amiga are for flat ones) so they would get into the sockets , but tomorrow I will try with normal sockets.

Last edited by Retrofan; 12 May 2012 at 00:05.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 May 2012, 00:01   #1042
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
this:



in that picture i'm using two rom sockets (fixed to underside of the ata) and a single strip of pins at the side to the rear to give the ata the correct angle to clear the keyboard and the indivision.

the problem with this is that the two rows in the middle dont make very good contact and i'm frequently having to press them back in, even with a cable tie holding the ata down.

with long pin sockets i can cut each row to exactly the required length.
maybe diablothe2nd could take the picture with some measurements then we could workout angle
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 00:55   #1043
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Yep I did promise those measurements.. Sorry.

I've been destracted by it being my 30th birthday today
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 01:10   #1044
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
Yep I did promise those measurements.. Sorry.

I've been destracted by it being my 30th birthday today
Happy birthday mate... but you've had your gift before
Retrofan is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 01:12   #1045
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
yes, my fiance bought me the BPPC a few weeks back, but in all honesty i've not actually used it much yet so it's still got the "fresh gift" feeling
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 01:27   #1046
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
yea happy birthday mate


i got mine working today same way as yours but was hard to keep in place. and with fan is arkward. i took some pics but will put up 2moz plus a video
johnim is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 04:22   #1047
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 422
Jens,

I just wanted to say what a phenomenal product the MK2 is. I installed earlier this week and was using a VGA adapter and I was getting artifacts/bars, but then I tried DVI and HDMI and the picture was crystal clear. Never thought I see the day when I would be able to use 1024x768 screen on a 1200.

I used it for about 4 hours straight, playing games and demos and had no problems with heat and gfx corruption. My motherboard revision is 1D and I have an ACA1231 installed. I do however, have a a non stock A500 power supply by Microline.

I received my second MK2 today and will be installing in my other 1200 over the weekend. This one has an ACA 1200/56 and an a500 power adapter.

Thanks again
Abaddon is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 04:29   #1048
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132 Send a message via Skype™ to seb132
@Abaddon: what monitor do you have ?
seb132 is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 06:00   #1049
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Abaddon
Thanks for the report. Sounds good. unfortunately, we hear about problems more than success stories...

My order with amigakit status was uprgaded to "waiting for dispatch" yay

btw your 1024x768 mode what monitor did you use, how many colors in screenmode and how is the speed?
magnetic is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 06:41   #1050
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 48
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
@Abaddon: what monitor do you have ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Abaddon
Thanks for the report. Sounds good. unfortunately, we hear about problems more than success stories...

My order with amigakit status was uprgaded to "waiting for dispatch" yay

btw your 1024x768 mode what monitor did you use, how many colors in screenmode and how is the speed?
My monitor is a Dell "ST2410 24-inch Full HD Widescreen Monitor" about 2 years old. I am using 64 colors. As for the speed it a bit slower than dbntsc with 64 colors (what I was using prior to the MK2), but is very usable.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 08:54   #1051
weiju
Registered User
weiju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 50
Today I finally got a new monitor, so I installed my MK II and here are my results:

- The monitor is an Asus VH232, which has VGA, DVI and HDMI inputs
- I put the RF shield back, but I did not use the ground cable (is that the word for "Massekabel" ?)
- I got my A 1200 from a hardware wizard involved with the Kryoflux project (lucky me), so it was very clean inside and installation was easy even for a person like me whose only hardware skill is being able to take it apart and put the thing back together again

NTSC: - does not work: it's always "out of range", maximum vertical frequency is listed as 75 Hz, which is below the Indy's 76 Hz for that mode

PAL: - always works (I tried up to SuperHires Laced)
* the VGA port gives me the vertical stripes other people have observed earlier
* DVI looks shockingly good, sharp and no stripes !

- no apparent heat problems, picture stays stable (have tested for 1.5 hours)
- the normal RGB out still works like before
- a GVP 030 accelerator and a CF hard drive are installed, no space conflict with the Indivision, however the RF shield needed an extra cut for the cable (which was already in there, since the previous owner had an MK I in there).

So far, I only tried Workbench software, but I mostly use the Amiga for programming anyways.
weiju is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 11:26   #1052
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
@weiju: Have you tried the experimental cores Jens posted here: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=880
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 11:37   #1053
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
johnim,

did you get an answer from the seller ?
gibs is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 13:14   #1054
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
@gibs still waiting
johnim is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 13:36   #1055
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Gawd! The config tool will solve most display issues when it's released and users are solving the niggles as they find them. Give the bloody thing time to get the support that's promised then we can judge.
You're absolutly right, let's give some time for the MKII to be more mature, these opinions are important and it's good that everyone shares their experiences so that we all can help Jens to isolate problems and try to fix them.

So far the only problem i experience was that the picture in the games isn't centered in the screen and i canīt see all the picture but i think it's monitor related issue, yesterday i bought a HDMI 2 DVI cable and i will try it later on my Acer AT2058ML LCD TV Monitor.

I have to say that this is an amzing piece of hardware
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 13:40   #1056
golem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 31
Got mine this morning. After getting nothing on two screens I refitted, and refitted the Indi again. I think what got it fitted properly was applying the pressure to the holed area immediatly above the socket. Haven't tried many modes as what I got for is HighGFX 1024 X 768 and it works great on my VGA monitor. For example pics of my workbench in 64 colours and Octamed can now fit 16 tracks on the screen. Excellent! I've never wanted to tower to get a gfx card and the Indi is the best of both worlds. Booting straight into HighGfx has fixed a problem I've never managed to get to the bottom of with DblPal and 64 colours where the screenmode is not applied correctly until manually applied. Only gripe so far is some OS calls (it seems to me) cause the screen to black momentarily and the Individual logo to reappear and show an updated screen mode. For example, if you call up the Tasks list with SysInspector it does it as do some requestors. Overall, one happy bunny
My board is 1D4, cpu blizzard 060
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wb.png
Views:	308
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	31592   Click image for larger version

Name:	octamed.png
Views:	269
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	31593  

Last edited by golem; 12 May 2012 at 17:02. Reason: sys info for magnetic
golem is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 13:58   #1057
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Golem

Cool! Thanks for the screenshots. What motherboard do you have and what cpu plz?
magnetic is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 14:25   #1058
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo_becas View Post
You're absolutly right, let's give some time for the MKII to be more mature, these opinions are important and it's good that everyone shares their experiences so that we all can help Jens to isolate problems and try to fix them.

So far the only problem i experience was that the picture in the games isn't centered in the screen and i canīt see all the picture but i think it's monitor related issue, yesterday i bought a HDMI 2 DVI cable and i will try it later on my Acer AT2058ML LCD TV Monitor.

I have to say that this is an amzing piece of hardware
It will be an 'amzing' (sic) piece of hardware when the support is in place, Jens already stated it wouldn't be 100% working out of the box and the configtool is needed for that.

But, for those having heat issues try this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bigfan.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	31594  
BarryB is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 14:28   #1059
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post

But, for those having heat issues try this:
if that's photoshopped you did a bloody good job of it!
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 12 May 2012, 14:41   #1060
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablothe2nd View Post
if that's photoshopped you did a bloody good job of it!
Nope:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cmfan.jpg
Views:	298
Size:	107.1 KB
ID:	31595  
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25200 seconds with 12 queries