English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 May 2012, 21:41   #1021
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
this info do you mean the indivision logo
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 May 2012, 00:57   #1022
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132 Send a message via Skype™ to seb132
Quote:
Originally Posted by p@rity View Post
However, in my case at least, a fan is still necessary. I am building one in over the weekend.
Would be cool if you could show pictures of your fan installation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Yes, only if you actually see the trouble.

It might make the machine unstable. That's the reason why it's not installed on Indivision AGA MK2 by default.
Perhaps a jumper on the card and the resistor already installed would be a nice improvement.

Last edited by prowler; 11 May 2012 at 01:03. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
seb132 is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 01:36   #1023
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinamp View Post
This is my solution for potential overheating.
A small cpu fan, with a tiny drop of hot glue at the four outermost corners.
And in the grill at the top of the Amiga a slightly larger fan. (the aca 1230 56Mhz is also a lot cooler)
It stays really cool

It looks cool, but is it necessary to cool down the Alice chip or not? I'm starting to get a little confused
If not i'll put together something like you're, also the top fan on the case seems a really good idea.
I'll use hot glue just in case, the super glue solution also didn't make me very confortable.
I'll post some pics as soon as i finish the job.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 01:37   #1024
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Perhaps a jumper on the card and the resistor already installed would be a nice improvement.
I like the current design. Sure, it's just 4 more solder points, bit it still adds (unneeded) complexity, with very little benefit. It would be useful only if swapping the darn thing back and forth a whole lot, and i'm not sure that would be good for the Amiga's in which it's put... With the amount of force needed to put it on, and to remove it again, somehow i feel something has to give if you keep pushing it on, and pulling it of.

B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 04:17   #1025
p@rity
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte, USA
Posts: 18
I added the SMD resistor this evening and ran the system for a few hours. So far, I did not see the same instability that I saw before applying the fix. I haven't had the time to run more extensive tests, but preliminary results look promising.
p@rity is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 05:00   #1026
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by p@rity View Post
I added the SMD resistor this evening and ran the system for a few hours. So far, I did not see the same instability that I saw before applying the fix. I haven't had the time to run more extensive tests, but preliminary results look promising.

What rev motherboard are you using?
What OS?
What cpu?

thanks

I think when guy have problems they should list these specs so we can figure out bugs.
magnetic is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 13:55   #1027
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Here's how i fix the fan over the indi, i use those plastic things (i don't know the english name for it) instead of using any kind of glue and it's very well secured, having lyra installed help a lot.



Now i have to figure out how am i going to fix the other fan on top of the Alice chip, you can see in the picture the fan i intend to use over Alice, it's a perfect fit, it has rubber around it.
Any sugestions?



By the way here's my 1200 configuration.

Motherboard Revision 1D4, NTSC with the alice chip 41 pin lifted for it to boot on Pal
Kick 3.1
ClassicWB 3.5
CF HD 8Gb Kingston
CDRW/DVD Rom
E-matrix 1230/50Mhz 32Mb Ram with FPU 68882
Lyra 2, Silversurfer and reset fix installed

Last edited by paulo_becas; 11 May 2012 at 14:07.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 15:01   #1028
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
this info do you mean the indivision logo
Yes, I mean that logo.

BTW, few more facts.
I wrote yesterday that Super Hires modes were not displayed correctly. Today they look fine, even after 30 minutes of work and we have very hot day in Warsaw.

I've viewed 3 scene demos - Captured Dreams, Ocean Machine and Exit Planet Dust - and they looked OK.

My config: A1200 rev. 2B, Apollo 1240/40 Mhz, 32 MB Fast, E/Box tower, Compaq 15" CRT monitor.
PopoCop is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 15:12   #1029
p@rity
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte, USA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
What rev motherboard are you using?
What OS?
What cpu?

thanks

I think when guy have problems they should list these specs so we can figure out bugs.

Rev 1d4
OS 3.1 (CWB)
CPU 68030 (ACA 25)
MKII with added 1K resistor
p@rity is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 15:50   #1030
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
the logo is the designers company logo

and gives screen info
johnim is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 19:44   #1031
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Could embed a hotkey in the firmware to pop that info up rather than each time the screenmode changes.
BarryB is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 22:14   #1032
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
That's disappointing to read that people are still experiencing problems with the MKII. Time to leave the Indivision behind (with several MK1 batches and the new MKII i think we are done), and move to the ACA520, isn't it Jens?
Calabazam is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 22:17   #1033
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
That's disappointing to read that people are still experiencing problems with the MKII.
Still? It's been out for a week.
duga is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 22:37   #1034
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
That's disappointing to read that people are still experiencing problems with the MKII. Time to leave the Indivision behind (with several MK1 batches and the new MKII i think we are done), and move to the ACA520, isn't it Jens?
Gawd! The config tool will solve most display issues when it's released and users are solving the niggles as they find them. Give the bloody thing time to get the support that's promised then we can judge.
BarryB is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 22:44   #1035
p@rity
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte, USA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
That's disappointing to read that people are still experiencing problems with the MKII. Time to leave the Indivision behind (with several MK1 batches and the new MKII i think we are done), and move to the ACA520, isn't it Jens?
If you take the time to read about the issues (and resolutions) you will find that they are not related to the MKII, but to the chipset of the Amiga. The MKII actually has some features to resolve some of these issues... Besides, as has been said before, we're working with old hardware so you will occasionally need to be a bit creative getting things to work the way you want.
p@rity is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 23:13   #1036
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi guys with fastatas an update these wont work they dont fit in new rom sockets or origional ones

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SIL-Socket...item35bbdc0ef4

i just tried mine

Last edited by johnim; 11 May 2012 at 23:29.
johnim is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 23:26   #1037
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi guys with fastatas as update these wont work they dont fit in new rom sockets or origional ones

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SIL-Socket...item35bbdc0ef4

i just tried mine
I've just received mines from Spiratronics. You are true, they have square pins. I'll have to try with the normal socket.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 May 2012 at 23:46.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 23:42   #1038
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
maybe this might work but need to ask seller if round pin or square

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/40-Pin-0-6...item3f03e34992
johnim is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 23:51   #1039
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
hi guys with fastatas an update these wont work they dont fit in new rom sockets or origional ones

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SIL-Socket...item35bbdc0ef4

i just tried mine
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
What length do you need ideally for your setup? Please describe what you will want and we can put some together. Theres no need to go elsewhere.
What about Amigakits offer? just need to give them some info
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 11 May 2012, 23:54   #1040
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
yes your right but to get the info we need to get the correct angle and mesurements and working
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26108 seconds with 12 queries