English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2012, 16:37   #961
BeelzebubUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 51
Got mine a few days ago from Vesalia but only got around to fitting it today.

Installation was easy apart from cutting out the RF shield which I only had a pair of tin snips to do it with

Wanted to post here to confirm that it works straight out of the box on a Dell 2405FPW. Ran PAL Super Hi-Res Laced and its pin sharp and no flickering at all....perfect

Its slightly off-centred by about an inch to the right but I'm sure that will be an easy fix. Very happy with it so far.

BeelzebubUK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 May 2012, 16:52   #962
Vinamp
Registered User
Vinamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 12
I see on some of the pictures that there is no ground wire connected, isn't it that important?
Vinamp is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 17:02   #963
BeelzebubUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 51
I used it on mine.
BeelzebubUK is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 19:21   #964
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinamp View Post
I see on some of the pictures that there is no ground wire connected, isn't it that important?
For functionality, it's not important. However, for CE compliance, it is, because the ground wire is on the pictures of the device in the photo-documentation of the CE screening at TÜV Rheinland. I am only allowed to sell the unit in the form that I've ran the screening, which is why I have to a) recommend putting the RF shield back on and b) recommend to use the ground wire.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:00   #965
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Mines turned up today, I wanted to go down the gym but I may be busy tonite...

As a matter of interest, which is the Alice chip?
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:03   #966
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
"Alice" is written in clear text on the chip in question.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:09   #967
Ech0
 
Posts: n/a
http://safir.amigaos.se/bildgalleri/users2/12469_wb.JPG

This is the way my picture is displayed.

A lot of vertical lines..
 
Old 09 May 2012, 20:18   #968
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Hello,

I have received mine today.
Wich riser or adapter do I need to buy to install it with the Fast ATA MK IV ?

gibs
gibs is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:23   #969
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
4x of these should help:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=676

Thanks.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:45   #970
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 132
@amigakit

What is the lead time at the moment, have ordered mine last Friday.
Akiko is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:48   #971
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
are you stocking the longer legged sockets now?

as two short legged sets by themselves wont fit in a desktop case.

as per a previous investigation of mine, i came to the conclusion that we need to put the fastATA in at an angle. 1 socket tall at front side and two sockets tall on the rear side for an angle that misses the keyboard but also the indi
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 20:50   #972
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
MkII and other goodies should be here today. Damn, i hate having to go to work, its so inconvenient
Oh well, Freezing fog at the airport... plane was soooo close, now it looks like tomorrow unless we have a brave pilot
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 21:21   #973
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Hello,

I have received mine today.
Wich riser or adapter do I need to buy to install it with the Fast ATA MK IV ?

gibs
I'm going to try this way Gibs http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=825




If you don't sand the first socket, the first line of the second socket will keep a little short to rich the socket in the mb, but I haven't tried it yet.

Edit: BTW this guy seems to use 4 sockets without problems http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=61544

Last edited by Retrofan; 09 May 2012 at 21:26.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 21:36   #974
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post

Edit: BTW this guy seems to use 4 sockets without problems http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=61544
he had to remove alot of pins on the fastata to do that, voiding the warranty in the process no doubt.

i removed mine before i found the angled solution. I believe someone else has managed my solution by only needing to bend over some pins and not remove them
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 21:54   #975
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ech0 View Post
http://safir.amigaos.se/bildgalleri/users2/12469_wb.JPG

This is the way my picture is displayed.

A lot of vertical lines..
I'm getting something similar.
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 22:20   #976
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
@retrofan

where to buy those sockets with long pin ?
gibs is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 22:38   #977
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
@retrofan

where to buy those sockets with long pin ?
Mines are normal ones, I think like these http://www.ebay.es/itm/Turned-Pin-DI...item43a92ff3f5

For long pins now I can't find socketed ones. Just these http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SIL-Socket...item35bbdc0ef4 that you could use too. These are ok, http://www.ebay.es/itm/1Pcs-High-Qua...item2a0c829378 but more expensive

I bought this too http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Turned-Pin...item1c25ee3f23 , (the photo isn't right) perhaps you could ask him for more.

Last edited by Retrofan; 09 May 2012 at 23:16.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 23:03   #978
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
I've just had a reply back from Spiratronics found here
http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/spiratroni...id=p4340.l2559

they will be getting more stock of the long pin sockets by the end of the week

Last edited by diablothe2nd; 09 May 2012 at 23:22.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 23:23   #979
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
What length do you need ideally for your setup? Please describe what you will want and we can put some together. Theres no need to go elsewhere.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 09 May 2012, 23:28   #980
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
What length do you need ideally for your setup? Please describe what you will want and we can put some together. Theres no need to go elsewhere.
this:



in that picture i'm using two rom sockets (fixed to underside of the ata) and a single strip of pins at the side to the rear to give the ata the correct angle to clear the keyboard and the indivision.

the problem with this is that the two rows in the middle dont make very good contact and i'm frequently having to press them back in, even with a cable tie holding the ata down.

with long pin sockets i can cut each row to exactly the required length.
diablothe2nd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.46260 seconds with 12 queries