English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2012, 12:53   #521
d0pefish
Registered User
d0pefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England UK
Age: 29
Posts: 102
Sweet monitor, Nova!

I think I've found some nice square NEC MultiSyncs that may be suitable for my needs.
d0pefish is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 March 2012, 13:28   #522
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I want to talk about what I was wondering. I did the preorder with Vesalia a couple of years ago (july, 2010), but now I can't make the payment (new preorder) till day 10.

I've contacted Vesalia and they have been very kind. They have given me my number of "proforma invoice" that I have registered with them, and they have told me that they will keep my place in the first preorder if I pay by then as I said.

So... it will be first than the new preorders .

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 March 2012 at 03:27.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 March 2012, 13:43   #523
d3v147
 
Posts: n/a
I am so excited about this! I built an A1200 off ebay parts (Motherboard, case, keyboard, all seperate, found a FDD in my shed of a trashed A600), got got an Indivision 42 MHz board and then found I could only use composite on my sh*tty 34cm TV. After buying one of those crappy ebay/mame analog scan doubler boards and finding it's rubbish, finally this comes out!!! So happy! The mark 1 been catching a ridiculous price on ebay (on the rare occasion they appear). Happy Days! My childhood shall be finally relived!
 
Old 31 March 2012, 00:36   #524
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Modded HDMI Cable

Hi All,

Here's a pic of the modded cable that will feed audio from the HDMI header. Using the modded cable and attaching the L.R, wires to the header will allow you to feed the audio through this cable. I managed to find 3/4" heat shrink tubing that has a shrink ratio of 3:1 so it would slip over the connectors.

kipper2k is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 00:48   #525
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
looks factory made kipper2k
johnim is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 01:10   #526
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Which is the resolution the MKII has using Dvi/Hdmi, 1080i, 1080p...? And which is the resolution using the common scart cable without Indi?

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 March 2012 at 01:26.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 12:41   #527
qrulf
Registered User
qrulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Aarhus/ Denmark
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I think only CRT's support 100hz input though, most LCD's prefer 60hz
Some accept 120Hz, like the old Samsung 2233RZ. TVs rated for more than 60Hz are usually just filling in extra frames to compensate for artifacts.

Last edited by qrulf; 31 March 2012 at 12:45. Reason: Link added
qrulf is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 13:46   #528
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Which is the resolution the MKII has using Dvi/Hdmi, 1080i, 1080p...? And which is the resolution using the common scart cable without Indi?
You're just throwing standard names, but I have a feeling you don't understand what they mean.

1080 means 1080 lines, and that in turn would mean that the screen is at least 1440 pixels wide. Now the 1080 video standards are cinema-format 16:9, so we're talking 1920 pixels on the X-axis. With SHires being the best pixelclock from the Amiga, you'd have to make a line that's longer than chipmem-refresh would allow. If you go by the book, then going beyond 1536 pixels on AGA chipset means reducing the refresh rate below what's allowed for the memory chips used in the Amiga. You'd lose pixels every now and then, sound breaks, mouse pointer gets corrupted and floppy operations become impossible. In short: The computer becomes unusable.

The question for 1080i is kind of pointless for a flickerfixer: The "i" stands for "interlace", and the flickerfixer's job is to turn any mode into a "p" mode (progressive scan).

Ratte's 800x600 mode for Indivision ECS already tickles the limit - he uses the trick of reduced sync areas in order to stay within chipset limits. It may be possible to port this mode to AGA and turn it into a 1600x1050 screen for AGA chipsets and have Indivision AGA MK2 output this as 1680x1050@60Hz (with black borders left and right). This would be the absolute maximum of what the hardware of Indivision AGA MK2 can do: That mode will require 147MHz pixelclock for output and more than 467 MBytes per second memory performance. Possible, yes, but currently not supported and no date when it will be supported (if we can ever support it with the DVI-chip - I didn't get it to lock at that high pixel clock yet, so no promises beyond 135MHz output pixel clock).

To get you back on the ground (and those who are already dreaming of 1600x1200), I'd like to repeat that the initial release version of Indivision AGA MK2 will do LESS than the MK1 design does. Only DVI-out will be the advantage over the old design. I will of course continue to work on flash-updates to add screenmodes and output modes, and you'll be able to install them with the flashtool, but it's nothing you can expect within the first weeks after release of the product.

Again: The only two modes I guarantee for the first release are:

PAL input screenmode with 62.5Hz VGA/DVI output screenmode
NTSC input screenmode with 75Hz VGA/DVI output screenmode

Both these output screenmodes use 71.5MHz output pixelclock (S-Hires pixelclock times 2.5, so there are differencies between actual PAL or NTSC boards). PAL/NTSC screenmodes can be Lores, Hires or S-Hires and all 24 colour bits will be displayed.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 14:41   #529
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, I don't know about the matter. I just know about how I can watch for example an Xbox using one cable or another, even I found the difference between using componet or vga, and it was 1080i vs 1080p; that's why I was asking to know the difference between using scart rgb or Dvi.

Ok, so let's think in the 1600x1200, 62.5Hz Pal using Dvi and the MKII in a future. Which is the resolution without it and using the rgb Scart? I think it's a good thing to know, as in my Led Tv I can see the interlaces modes (although don't know how it does either).

And sorry for my poor knowledges, but just want to know the difference as I can't (still) watch it. Well, perhaps a HD video could show it.

EDIT: Sorry, I was asking what I already know: my actual resolution using rgb scart is 1372x544, 50Hz (Pal Super High-Res Laced). So the point to compare is that of 1600x1200, 62.5 Hz. That's what I wanted to know. Thanks.

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 March 2012 at 15:10.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 15:20   #530
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Ok, so let's think in the 1600x1200, 62.5Hz Pal using Dvi and the MKII in a future.
Now you're randomly mixing numbers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Which is the resolution without it and using the rgb Scart?
Through Scart, you can normally only transfer 15kHz line frequency modes. RGB-Scart is seldomly supported by modern TVs, and it has nothing to do with Indivision AGA MK2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Well, perhaps a HD video could show it.
Probably not. Please read a little about how a video picture is generated, and how much data you have to move around in order to get a stable picture. Only if you do the actual math, you'll be able to understand what pixelclock and data rates mean in the real world.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
EDIT: Sorry, my actual resolution using rgb scart is 1372x544, 50Hz.
This may be true for other devices, but not for the Amiga, and it has nothing to do with Indivision AGA MK2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
So the point to compare is that of 1600x1200, 62.5 Hz. That's what I wanted to know. Thanks.
OK, so let's do the math: First of all, don't mix the 62.5Hz of Indivision AGA MK2 with a standard VESA screenmode - better use the standard target frequency of 60Hz:

1600 pixels per line
plus 64 pixels front porch
plus 192 pixels actual sync pulse
plus 304 pixels Back porch
------------------
total: 2160 pixels per line

1200 lines per screen
1 line front porch
3 lines actual sync pulse
46 lines back porch
----------------
total frame=1250 lines

Total pixels per screen:2160*1250=2.7 million
total pixels per second at 60Hz: 2700000*60=162 million

Result: You need to output the picture at 162 MHz pixel clock. This is more than the 135 MHz currently verified on Indivision AGA MK2. Conclusion: 1600x1200 is not possible. Got it?

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 31 March 2012, 15:42   #531
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Sorry I only taked your numbers (1600x1200) and Pal 62.5Hz. It's true as you explain that it's imposible 1600x1200, but not my fault, as when you exposed it it was looking you could do it in a future:

"those who are already dreaming of 1600x1200), I'd like to repeat that the initial release version of Indivision AGA MK2 will do LESS than the MK1 ..... I will of course continue to work on flash-updates to add screenmodes and output modes.....but it's nothing you can expect within the first weeks after release of the product."

About scart I was asking without indi, I know it has nothing to do with the Indivision.

About the HD video to show the difference. Yes; "probably" (you) and "perhaps" (me) are sinonims. I also think it won't show the differences (although I've seen videos showing using different cables in an Xbox).

"my actual resolution using rgb scart is 1372x544, 50Hz"
"This may be true for other devices, but not for the Amiga, and it has nothing to do with Indivision AGA MK2."
That's what the Amiga tells me it's using in screenmodes (without Indi, yes).

"1600x1200 is not possible. Got it?"

Yes, as I've told you perhaps you didn't use the right words to tell it.

Edit: I just was wondering about the difference using it or not as I already use as I said Pal Super Hi-Res laced in my led Tv. Anyway I've already made the checkout today with Vesalia, just waiting for their answer and payment, so I will see the difference in a month more or less. I beg you pardon and hope I won't have disturb with my noob questions.

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 March 2012 at 22:28.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 00:43   #532
golem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 31
+1 Preorder from me.
Thanks Individual Computers and AmigaKit. This bit of Amiga kit has got me as excited as when I got my first accelerator.
golem is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 01:09   #533
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Many thanks!
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 10:59   #534
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Can you even show 1600x1200 without using all of the Video chip ram anyway?

As long as I can get workbench in 800 by 600, (or preferably 1024768) and my games on the same monitor I'll be happy.
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 11:36   #535
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
will the amiga slow down using these higher res modes

i have never had an indy before

i do have a blizzard 1230 and 1260 but im just wondering if the miggy never had any upgrade
johnim is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 15:02   #536
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
At this time and age I'd assume that most ppl (not everyone of course) would want a sd/ff to get miggy's display on a modern 16:9 panel - in that case, a resolution of 1600x900 (1280x720 too) would be more desirable and (as it contains significantly less pixels) more feasible to have. But, of course, there's still ppl with 4:3 monitors and I'm by no means suggesting that they should be left out in the cold. Just throwing an idea for when the new modes will be available for MK2.
vulture is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 15:08   #537
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
1280*720 is already available thanks to HighGFX
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 22:29   #538
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
Post

Allways remember the ChipMem limits ...

HighGFX (1024x768) in 8 bit = 768kb
HD720 (1280x720) in 8 bit = 900kb

if (but it is impossible)
FullHD 1920x1080 in 8bit = 1,98 MB !!!

sound, diskbuffer, prepareemul, expansion.library, exec.lib .. they all are inside the chipmem ... ?!?!
Ratte is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 22:33   #539
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 724
HD720 (1280x720) in 8 bit on AGA outta be dead slow anyway. If you need high resolutions
just get a gfxcard.
fryguy is offline  
Old 01 April 2012, 22:50   #540
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
Its good for presentations or just for gfx-art.
(HAM8 is outstanding in this resolutions !!!)

For daily use i would prefer MagicWB with 8/16 colors.
Thats nice and fast ..

(Jens .. xtreme is still ready to go )
Ratte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.52761 seconds with 12 queries