English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2012, 16:00   #361
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
There will be drawbacks when the first cards reach the customers: Limited screenmodes, limited output modes, no Graffiti emulation and limited control with the config tool. Flash updates will add features and screenmodes one by one.
Will a early adopter, and a later buyer in the end have equivalent products, with the same capabilities? As in, do you foresee any updates that aren't purely firmware updates?
B!
Mr B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 23 February 2012, 16:12   #362
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
Will a early adopter, and a later buyer in the end have equivalent products, with the same capabilities? As in, do you foresee any updates that aren't purely firmware updates?
B!
All updates will be firmware-only. I just want to be honest with the early adopters, as it may happen again that I have to work on Nequester full-time for a few months. I'm also protecting myself from people who complain on the forums like "I bought the unit for [insert funny screenmode here], but it still doesnt support it!".

At some point, the firmware will support more screenmodes and features than the MK1 design does, but in the beginning, the MK1 design will do more than MK2 (well, no DVI...).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 17:00   #363
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 706
Good, then i'm still going to be a early adopter.

Thanks for clarifying... Oh, and i "bought it" to get games and workbench to display at all on my TV. I'll take anything past a fast flicker every now and then...
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 19:39   #364
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 38
Posts: 1,008
any idea on prices for indy2 for 1200
johnim is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 19:51   #365
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
any idea on prices for indy2 for 1200
http://www.vesalia.de/e_indivisionagamk2.htm

J
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 19:52   #366
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 38
Posts: 1,008
thanks Jens
johnim is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 21:33   #367
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 3,655
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
In addition to DVI and VGA, you can use a HDMI cable - just google for them: http://www.google.com/search?q=DVI+to+HDMI+cable
Coudn't be added as an option a connector just for HDMI instead of dvi? I'll be using the first and it's connector is smaller, so better to find a place for it in a full modded Amiga.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 21:45   #368
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Coudn't be added as an option a connector just for HDMI instead of dvi? I'll be using the first and it's connector is smaller, so better to find a place for it in a full modded Amiga.
The connector is on a flying cable.

If Indivision MK2 is really DVI-I capable then someone will be able to make a replacement cable with a HDMI connector instead of DVI.

Last edited by alexh; 23 February 2012 at 21:55.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 22:07   #369
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 3,655
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The connector is on a flying cable.

If Indivision MK2 is really DVI-I capable then someone will be able to make a replacement cable with a HDMI connector instead of DVI.
Yep I've seen his photo , and that is what I was thinking... "someone"...

EDIT: I was thinking perhaps to put it vertical opening the hole of the Composite, or perhaps where I've got the Nic, beside the BVision connector (no room for DVI). If I weren't using the RF place, that would be perfect for it (no room for DVI either). In any case, better smaller.

Last edited by Retrofan; 26 February 2012 at 01:08.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 23 February 2012, 23:39   #370
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 2,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
All updates will be firmware-only. I just want to be honest with the early adopters, as it may happen again that I have to work on Nequester full-time for a few months. I'm also protecting myself from people who complain on the forums like "I bought the unit for [insert funny screenmode here], but it still doesnt support it!".

At some point, the firmware will support more screenmodes and features than the MK1 design does, but in the beginning, the MK1 design will do more than MK2 (well, no DVI...).

Jens
It's funny really, I want you to bring it out as quickly as possible but at the same time, I don't want you to rush it either
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 February 2012, 13:55   #371
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The connector is on a flying cable.

If Indivision MK2 is really DVI-I capable then someone will be able to make a replacement cable with a HDMI connector instead of DVI.

An HDMI connector would be sooo cool on a classic amiga
magnetic is offline  
Old 26 February 2012, 01:28   #372
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 3,655
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
An HDMI connector would be sooo cool on a classic amiga
Certainly the option to use HDMI is the touch that convinces me to buy it.
I do have a Led Tv that lets me see the interlaces modes... but I find that it's image can be improved with more definition, and I want to have the Graffiti possibilities.

In fact now I'm saving money to buy it ("Vesalia:This product is currently not available (ETA: March 2012)").

Ok, you can use an adapter to have an output with HDMI, but that is to make the same thing twice. If it could be HDMI directly as an option it would be perfect.

Last edited by Retrofan; 09 March 2012 at 11:37.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 February 2012, 05:10   #373
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Ok, you can use an adapter to have an output with HDMI, but that is to make the same thing twice. If it could be HDMI directly as an option it would be perfect.
From the manafacturors point of view, and from the resellers, DVI or HDMI isn't equal. This has already been explained. By the use of DVI, we get get the most options for connectivity. VGA, DVI,(any kind) and HDMI. Heck, with the use of an active adapter we can even use DisplayPort, cables and equipment. Sadly those are sort of rare, but it's an option at least.
B!
Mr B is offline  
Old 26 February 2012, 10:28   #374
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 361
What Mr B said, DVI-I is clearly a much better choice for this product than HDMI!
Just buy a DVI-HDMI cable and stop complaining
fgh is online now  
Old 26 February 2012, 12:09   #375
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 3,655
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Perhaps you haven't read what I wrote. I never said to change one for another. I say to add this as an option, that's all. It hasn't to be made by them even. I'm just leaving an idea.

Last edited by Retrofan; 26 February 2012 at 20:54.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 27 February 2012, 21:08   #376
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 40
Posts: 100
release in march of indivision aga mk2?
Exit is offline  
Old 28 February 2012, 05:43   #377
chocolate_boy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Age: 31
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exit View Post
release in march of indivision aga mk2?

I'd take any deadlines with a pinch of salt, "when it's ready".
chocolate_boy is offline  
Old 28 February 2012, 14:52   #378
gunni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dundee
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to gunni
No news on the ACA520?
gunni is offline  
Old 01 March 2012, 22:59   #379
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Well considering Jens had to probably drop everything and diagnose the A1231 board problems i'm sure everything has gotten pushed back.
magnetic is offline  
Old 03 March 2012, 16:27   #380
ByteRyder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Well considering Jens had to probably drop everything and diagnose the A1231 board problems i'm sure everything has gotten pushed back.
Hope not. As I've already pre-order mine from Vesalia. They also told me that the current ETA will be met.
ByteRyder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1332 Today 20:57
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 16:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 16:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 21:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20790 seconds with 12 queries