English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2013, 21:09   #2341
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
Some "xtreme-ham8" pictures to play with:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...9&postcount=22
Ratte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 August 2013, 11:39   #2342
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 120
will a new config tool be released in the near future?
Exit is offline  
Old 15 August 2013, 20:47   #2343
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,416
Will some in depth documentation be released in the near future?
BarryB is online now  
Old 16 August 2013, 03:23   #2344
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Don't forget about the Graffiti mode and vsync support (50Hz mode)?

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 August 2013, 03:33   #2345
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
And 800x600 mode support
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 August 2013, 10:41   #2346
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 486
Would it be technically possible to have 4x lines? I'd love to get those for PAL lores mode... then you could nicely get 1280x1024 output, which is just good for many displays. Hires-laced mode (640x512) goes nicely to 1280x1024 with double lines and would be cool to have 320x256 in the same mode too.
jPV is offline  
Old 15 September 2013, 16:49   #2347
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Hi! Any news of a new mk2 config tool coming out anytime soon?

One that will hopefully support vsync, and also do gaming resolutions that fill the screen better, plus 50hz pal!

Thanks.
hansel75 is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 18:17   #2348
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Bump!

Jens any chance of an update on the status of a better mk2 cfg tool being released?

Or is this not happening anymore? It's been very quiet in here lately

Thanks, Han.
hansel75 is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 19:22   #2349
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansel75 View Post
It's been very quiet in here lately
For good reason: The product and associated config tool work as advertised.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 27 September 2013, 20:08   #2350
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
For good reason: The product and associated config tool work as advertised.

Jens
Any news about the v-sinc and the graffiti support?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 September 2013, 07:29   #2351
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
For good reason: The product and associated config tool work as advertised.

Jens
Hi Jens, Well that maybe so, but there was always the expectation from your customers of a better product then what we currently have.

There is No Vsync support, No full screen gaming resolutions, No graffiti support, No 50hz pal mode!

Sure the Mk2 is usable, but it is far from a fully functional product.

Is it really that much of an ask to expect the features above with a new cfg tool, when we have paid good money for your product.

As at the moment, myself and most likely other mk2 owners aren't getting the basic features we all thought we would get from the start.

Sorry but i honestly expected more...
hansel75 is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 01:16   #2352
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansel75 View Post
There is No Vsync support, No full screen gaming resolutions, No graffiti support, No 50hz pal mode!

Sure the Mk2 is usable, but it is far from a fully functional product.
No Indivision has vsync support (ok, maybe except the external one), so why would you expect that?
Full screen gaming? Create a 640x480 mode and you'll have full screen gaming (most games are 200 lines anyway). 640x512 isn't a valid VGA resolution.
50 Hz output mode should be possible already with the current tool, just isn't included. Also would be nice with a compliant HDMI 720p setting.
demolition is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 01:27   #2353
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
X2 for the enhanced Graffiti mode & vsync/50hz :-)
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 01:33   #2354
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,385
Is there a proper WB driver to use Grafitti mode? I know the BW is limited and it's not a real GfxCard, but it would still help make it possible to use more colors and a back drop without suffering big chip ram hits.
demolition is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 01:33   #2355
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
No Indivision has vsync support (ok, maybe except the external one), so why would you expect that?

From the first core readme:
"Hi,

here´s the long-awaited config&flashtool for Indivision AGA MK2.
Please note that this is an early beta release. Lots of things
need tweaking, and settings are still very academic.

...

NOT WORKING YET:
- VSync feature (caution: not greyed out!)
- Graffiti emulation"
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 02:22   #2356
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
I'm a bit confused here. Isn't Vsync the same thing as 50Hz mode. ie. the output is in lockstep with the native display mode to prevent stuttering?

AFAIK the config tool may allow an output at 50Hz but will still stutter occasionally on smooth scrolling material since the frames are not actually synchronised, just very close in refresh rate.

I feel this is an important feature of a ff/sd. Maybe I'm wrong but didn't it kinda go without saying that this worked on earlier generation sd/ff, amber etc? I have 5 IC products and at the moment I'm afraid this one is the ugly duckling without this. Is there some technical reason why it is not implemented?
jimbob is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 02:38   #2357
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
What I see (appart of the rest of things missing) is that I was supossing it would have a nice mode to use with an ACA card. I have the fastest one, but the only mode working well for me is HighGfx, a bit too much for it, so I just would like an 800x600 mode working with the config program.
I know I can use the first core to have it, but then I can't use the config tool to edit it and have a good screen mode for native -games-, at least that's what it seems to me, perhaps I am wrong.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 04:00   #2358
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
AFAIK the config tool may allow an output at 50Hz but will still stutter occasionally on smooth scrolling material since the frames are not actually synchronised, just very close in refresh rate.

I feel this is an important feature of a ff/sd. Maybe I'm wrong but didn't it kinda go without saying that this worked on earlier generation sd/ff, amber etc? I have 5 IC products and at the moment I'm afraid this one is the ugly duckling without this. Is there some technical reason why it is not implemented?
Yes, 50 Hz does not necessarily imply VSync. Reason is that the Indivision has its own clock not derived from the Amiga, which means it can do a lot of different resolutions and refresh rates. For the Indivision to support Vsync, some syncronization method must be implemented and it would not be easy to achieve without introducing some other problems, like severe jitter on the V clock to the monitor (it might lose sync).
The simplest way I see, is to maybe generate a ~28 MHz clock from the Indivision clock and run the Amiga off that clock instead of its own. That way, the two are running in the same clock domain. It would require some hardware changes though, and not just an FPGA update.
demolition is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 05:51   #2359
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
I see, so the indiMKII has sacrificed perfect reproduction for maximum output flexibility. I suppose that is understandable given the huge variety of displays that it's expected to work with but still, .

You're idea of running the amiga off a clock from the indi is interesting. Sounds like how a genlock works. No idea if the indi has access to the required pins to pretend it's a genlock and I've also seen some smooth scrolling stuff do strange things when a genlock is attached. Probably a no goer.
jimbob is offline  
Old 29 September 2013, 07:54   #2360
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Full screen gaming? Create a 640x480 mode and you'll have full screen gaming (most games are 200 lines anyway). 640x512 isn't a valid VGA resolution.
Whenever i have tried 640x480 a part of the screen gets cut off on full screen games, and 800x600 doesn't fill the screen completely.

Either way it's messy! Also it seems the higher the res you go the smaller the gaming screen.

If you have a better cfg for full screen gaming, please let me know.

It appears i am not the only one that's not completely happy with the mk2, lot's of wanted features missing!
hansel75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.63152 seconds with 12 queries