English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2013, 18:18   #2241
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers

Now I see why Apple has "closed" systems. No need to worry about billions of different programs, monitors and user(s) combinations.
Cymru is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 May 2013, 01:39   #2242
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I don't know if I've told before, but what I want is a nice SuperPlus mode working, full screen better . That should be a Pal-Interlaced 800x600 in my case.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 01:43   #2243
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I don't know if I've told before, but what I want is a nice SuperPlus mode working, full screen better
I think you could be out of luck with that one, mate, unless Jens has a change of heart.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
There are more important things on the Todo-list for this flickerfixer. I don't accept feature-creeping - just like I don't accept having to add screenmodes that are younger than the flickerfixer design (such as SuperPlus).
prowler is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 01:45   #2244
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Ok Jens, don't make anything for SuperPlus, just a nice Pal-Interlaced 800x600
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 01:46   #2245
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
I can't fault your optimism!
prowler is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 01:54   #2246
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
(Edit: Prowler you know me, and you know what my optimism has given me: My A1200 BPPC/BVision project, my C64-Mini ATX project -main computer by now, posting with it-, the Mas-Player for sale and my AmiKit for Real on the web... This starting with Amigas 3 years ago.)

I will say why he should:

-I'm not (of course) the only one asking for it, people likes it... Novacoder, Fitzsteve, Mfilos... (Heavyweights, Lol)
-It's faster (and less memory) than HighGFX. The most important to use an ACA with the Indi MKII.
-Has the perfect size
-It uses (here) Pal-Interlaced, 800x600. Anything younger than the Indi design.

Edit: He told this also:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
SuperPlus: This mode was released after the Indivision AGA MK2 was released. You can't expect me to support this and maybe more modes for all times in the future. I might do it, but at this point, we have "known bugs" to fix first. I'm happy to collect information...
Jens
"Known bugs" have been fixed, that's the reason why the Indi is for sale again (thats why I post this), and about information I'm giving it... Pal-Interlaced, 800x600. I'm just "working" for the "I might do it"... (Please )

Last edited by Retrofan; 30 May 2013 at 03:48.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 02:07   #2247
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
SuperPlus is working on the old core, it's what I'm using still
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 02:17   #2248
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
SuperPlus is working on the old core, it's what I'm using still
Yes mate, and great photos and videos you've got with it

Jens was asking for information. Does your system also use Pal-Interlaced 800x600 for SuperPlus?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 02:26   #2249
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Yep SuperPlus really is the best mode for a real AGA machine, with the new core I've had to go back to 640x512 PAL. The image is very nice and stable but it all looks a bit small after I've got use to SuperPlus 800x600 with the original core.

HighGFX doesn't really work for me, apart from the lack of CHIPRAM it also still has the occasional glitch which I don't see in the other modes.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 02:48   #2250
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Well if it can help, here are some screen shots with the ScreenMode info:

8 Colour



256 Colour:



(click image for full size)

BTW this is my Indi MkII in CD32 (A4000/CD32 version) Connect via HDMI
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 04:43   #2251
hiho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Antonio, USA
Posts: 30
How difficult was it to install in a CD32?
hiho is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 05:59   #2252
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Great for a CD32!.

I was asking the message that appears on top of the screen telling what mode it's using for a couple of secs (Indivision AGA....). Here using SuperPlus it shows it's using Pal-Interlaced 800x600.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 22:16   #2253
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Got the new version this morning and it fits with FastATA 1200 MK-IV with one set of rom risers this is because of the new cable attachment design of the Indivision AGA 1200 MK2cr which is now on the under side of the Indi Mk2cr. Would be great if we could get the old ones modified

@Kipper2k need a redesigned cable for your hdmi adapter

Thanks Jens and Amigakit for fast delivery
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 22:43   #2254
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiho View Post
How difficult was it to install in a CD32?
Pretty straight forward, like the A1200 version you need to remove the top shield. I removed the RF Modulator to install my HDMI adapter (sold by Kipper2k)

The CD32 doesn't have the empty bay the A1200 does for installing the connector.

You can see the pics here:

http://www.fitzstevesamigaworld.co.u...s.php?album=15

I am at some point going to do a write up for my blog

http://www.fitzstevesamigaworld.co.uk/

I have already done articles relating to the A1200 version
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 31 May 2013, 04:13   #2255
hiho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Antonio, USA
Posts: 30
Does the shield fit back properly or does it need a bit of bending?
hiho is offline  
Old 31 May 2013, 04:25   #2256
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiho View Post
Does the shield fit back properly or does it need a bit of bending?
I didn't refit the shield, I doubt it will fit. You could always cut a hole or just discard like I did :-)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 31 May 2013, 04:25   #2257
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiho View Post
Does the shield fit back properly or does it need a bit of bending?
No, it needs throwing out of the window
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 31 May 2013, 04:26   #2258
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
No, it needs throwing out of the window
Or that :-D
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 31 May 2013, 04:32   #2259
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
The general consensus is that the shield doesn't fit over the MKII. Most that want to refit their shielding simply cut away everything that goes on top of the Indivision. I did it slightly different.
As stated in Jens post right after, care should be taken to make sure there is no contact between the shield and the pins on the back of the Indivision, and, the cable shoe for the ground may short out the capacitor below it. I got away with it. Anyone else doing it the same way has to verify that they do to.

I have since added a "cut to fit" thermal pad on top of this thing, a 3mm one, meaning it's only just thicker then the space i had between the highest points on the Indivision and the RF shield. Mostly to make sure that transport and banging the Amiga around won't cause it to short out in the future, but also to counter the heat issues some others had, i never got that far, and still haven't, i still need to install the latest software, and update to more "useful cores"
Mr B is offline  
Old 31 May 2013, 14:04   #2260
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
We have had customers leave the shield on shorting out the Indivision.
So I would definitely say leave it off.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.64804 seconds with 12 queries