English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2013, 21:50   #2021
Art
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nowy Sacz/Poland
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
@Schoenfeld

I get it, like mfilos says I have not seen anywhere news about the config tool and I began to write on this specific EAB thread after some years of leave. I haven't read any other threads.

It seems I was under the false impression that the MK2 would scale amiga modes to whatever resolution you set... so now it makes sense why I get the borders.

I managed to get a 800x600@60hz picture for PAL resolutions... it's better.
But still I don't get the option to use a 800x600@75hz mode (for partial PAL "vsync") , the config tool missed completely the clock setting to create one...

this is what my monitor supports, standard VESA modes AFAIK:



now, I cannot create the 800x600@75hz mode, the 49.500 pixel clock is missing from the list so I can't create a 75hz screen... clocks jump from ~42 to ~62 without any middle values.

Also HighGFX shows fine on a 1024x768@60hz screen. But it does blacks out when you open the hdd icons for example... like before but it does the blanking faster.

Basically I need a way to make my Samsung SyncMaster 931BF to display a 800x600@75screen for PAL games , unless there is some other mode I don't see that will try and "keep pal vsync" ... playing at 60hz is awfull as you can imagine. 100hz is out of the question for me, the monitor does not support any modes at 100hz...

About support tickets:
I got my 1st and 2nd MK1 from amigakit.
I traded the 2nd MK1 months ago for a MK2 with an amibay user: I got a new amigakit-purchased MK2. The other user did not want to wait more for the tool that was unavailable at that time.
To whom do I send my support requests? It seemed logical to write here since you posted the news.


edit:

@Art
basically I tried the same settings as you, it works with screen flashing for highgfx and 800x600/60hz for PAL screens... can you create a 75hz 800x600 screen? playing 50hz games on 60hz is awful as you've might have seen...
No, I cannot create anything above 60hz as this is a TV-LCD 50/60 hz
Art is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 April 2013, 21:58   #2022
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I'll be back in Germany next week and will see what I can do in terms of documentation.
I promise that if you will release the low level programming documentation something good will come out of it. Please think about it.

strim is offline  
Old 10 April 2013, 22:26   #2023
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I can't get either a native full screen 800x600 PAL mode, and it gets to the right of the screen with games. HighGFX is nice at 75Hz, although you can leave the pointer out of the screen on the right.
I don't understand a thing. With SysInfo (an example) it's centered, Pal 800x600, but with games it's wrong, to the right. Can it be fixed?

This is with my work in progress AmiKit 2nd update:
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 April 2013 at 03:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 10 April 2013, 22:36   #2024
Art
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nowy Sacz/Poland
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art View Post
No, I cannot create anything above 60hz as this is a TV-LCD 50/60 hz
Also, I was having some serious heat issues and screen corruptions (mobo rev. 1D4) so I had to install a small fan. With one fan I still had some minor corruptions so I installed another fan

http://s1102.photobucket.com/user/Ar...ee2f1.jpg.html

Now it works just fine. No screen corruptions
I am also using a more powerful PC style power supply
Art is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 00:03   #2025
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
here are my pics so far still playing

on a dell2409 1920x1080 monitor using dvi to vga adapter

notice h-offset @50


pal hi-res laced set for 1280x1024

config tool

screen test

screen prefs with unticked hight for 512

ticked hight gives this

see higher hight bug?

high res set for 640x480



low res 2 3rds of screen

sysinfo lowres



super hi-res laced set for 1280x1024





need more play time

Last edited by johnim; 11 April 2013 at 00:14.
johnim is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 00:15   #2026
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,384
For some reason, my monitor won't show anything at the VGA preset (640x480 60 Hz). It acts like there is no signal at all.

Since my monitor also supports 75 Hz input, I decided to give it a try, also to see if it would improve scrolling smoothness. It wouldn't give me any picture at low pixel clocks, but by going up I did make a 640x480 setting at 75 Hz which seemed to work well.
By using this for PAL, it will cut off a little bit in the bottom, but few games use this area anyway, so it might be a good compromise if you want a full screen. On the Superfrog pic you can see that a bit of the text has been cut off and likewise on the AmigaDOS screenie.

Edit: Oh, and it didn't improve scrolling on my monitor, but I have a suspicion that it might resample back to 60 Hz before refeshing the panel, which is why it looks more fluid in plain 60 Hz mode. On a CRT, it should look better though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vgasettings.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	113.7 KB
ID:	35034   Click image for larger version

Name:	amigados.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	136.5 KB
ID:	35035   Click image for larger version

Name:	superfrog.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	199.6 KB
ID:	35036  
demolition is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 00:21   #2027
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
it might be best to have
2 modes in config tool
1 for pal modes
1 for laced modes
johnim is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 00:31   #2028
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,384
It could be useful to be able to use 1280x1024 for PAL modes, which would be exactly 4 times 320x256, so it won't cut anything like it does in 640x480. This would be an extra doubling in both directions, which I'm guessing should be a simple operation?
demolition is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 03:01   #2029
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post

The feedback here has put the "colour shift on sharp edges" on my todo list. Further, we're investigating the possibility of adding a "test" button to the tool which you can press before "apply".

Jens
Hiya Jens,

Yes another vote of the "test" button, I think this is very much needed.

Also, can anyone confirm or deny that the updated core contains Graffiti support? You can simply download on the Graffiti test programs from AmiNet then try it out, maybe test on the latest WinUAE first to make sure you are using the program correctly.

Has anyone got a 50hz PAL mode working for games yet?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 03:19   #2030
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
...Also, can anyone confirm or deny that the updated core contains Graffiti support? You can simply download on the Graffiti test programs from AmiNet then try it out, maybe test on the latest WinUAE first to make sure you are using the program correctly.

Has anyone got a 50hz PAL mode working for games yet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
What? Great Great

I like that you are thinking to make a Graffiti emulation. Do you hear, Nova?
At the instructions it says:
Not working yet:
-VSync feature
-Graffiti support
Retrofan is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 03:38   #2031
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Oh, ok thanks for that info.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 04:30   #2032
bbond007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MIAMI/USA
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I can't get either a native full screen 800x600 PAL mode, and it gets to the right of the screen with games. HighGFX is nice at 75Hz, although you can leave the pointer out of the screen on the right.
I don't understand a thing. With SysInfo (an example) it's centered, Pal 800x600, but with games it's wrong, to the right. Can it be fixed?

This is with my work in progress AmiKit 2nd update:
[ Show youtube player ]
There are a number of factors that will affect the centering.

Sysinfo is a WB program so it is affected by WB overscan prefs. Most games don't observe WB prefs because they don't load WB and have their own bootloader.

Not all games run centered (tend to run to the right) because if they did they would loose use of a sprite or 2... I'm sure someone could offer a more technical explanation at the hardware level, but I have experienced it in a program I wrote, so I do know the limitation exists.

if you go through the games and are happy with the centering, and then set WB app centering inside overscan prefs last.

Last edited by bbond007; 11 April 2013 at 04:41.
bbond007 is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 10:49   #2033
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
the 49.500 pixel clock is missing from the list so I can't create a 75hz screen... clocks jump from ~42 to ~62 without any middle values.
Here's a clear statement - thanks for that. I'll introduce more pixelclocks in that gap with the next release. The PLL won't exactly reach the 49.5MHz, but on a PAL machine, you'll have 49.657MHz. I also noticed that the exact double of the Amiga pixel clock is missing from the list, so I'll add that as well. This will enable you to "manually" create a V-Synced output screen. The exact triple is already there (core A06).

@everyone: If there's an output pixel clock that you require to approach your desired output screenmode, just let me know, and I'll see if that's possible. You can calculate the possible pixel clocks with:

Code:
f=28.37516/2*m/C
where:

f is the resulting pixelclock in MHz
28.37516 may be replaced by 28.63636 in case of an NTSC machine
m is a whole-number multiplier between 1 and 32 (both including)
C is a whole-number divider between 1 and 18 (both including)

m and C make the filename extension of a core: C is an index to the alphabet, so you get a character between A and R. The the 2-digit number after that is the m-value.

The output pixel clock for 640x480 is very low at around 25MHz. I may have to re-calculate the PLL filter values in order to get that stable (i.e. get rid of temperature-dependency). The filter values are currently calculated for higher pixel clocks ranging from 40 to 135 MHz.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 11:54   #2034
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
@Schoenfeld

thanks, can't wait for the update now
keropi is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 14:47   #2035
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
Does it means that indi mk2 will be sold again?
I'm ready to buy...
Reido is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 19:03   #2036
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,415
I've found a nice res for my Workbench, PAL: Super-Hires Laced (1280 x 512), fits the whole screen beautifully except if I run DiskMaster2 at the same res then it won't show any files in the internal viewer when double clicked, get an error saying 'Error viewing file' seems it's run out of Chip Ram? I have 32mb Fast RAM on my accelerator but that's no good when Chip Ram is eaten up with these modes, think I have 570K free with DiskMaster2 running.

Tried FBlit & FText but they seem to cause graphic corruption, any other ways to save chip ram?
BarryB is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 19:06   #2037
kronuz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oslo, Norway
Age: 32
Posts: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to kronuz Send a message via Skype™ to kronuz
Good to see activity here.
I'll hang on to my mkII and wait for the test button. :-)
kronuz is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 20:13   #2038
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reido View Post
I'm ready to buy...
been waiting for a long time
klx300r is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 20:39   #2039
hiho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Antonio, USA
Posts: 30
Has anyone installed one in a CD32?
hiho is offline  
Old 11 April 2013, 21:52   #2040
Art
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nowy Sacz/Poland
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
I've found a nice res for my Workbench, PAL: Super-Hires Laced (1280 x 512), fits the whole screen beautifully except if I run DiskMaster2 at the same res then it won't show any files in the internal viewer when double clicked, get an error saying 'Error viewing file' seems it's run out of Chip Ram? I have 32mb Fast RAM on my accelerator but that's no good when Chip Ram is eaten up with these modes, think I have 570K free with DiskMaster2 running.

Tried FBlit & FText but they seem to cause graphic corruption, any other ways to save chip ram?
They should have released A1200 with 4MB of Chip RAM just like Atari Falcon.
That would be something! Amiga 1200 with 4MB of CHIP RAM
Art is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36258 seconds with 12 queries