English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 October 2010, 16:28   #1
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
New here, just back into the Amiga

Hi, i've been reading this forum for a few months now and it's rekindled my Amiga interest again so i thought i'd join up and say hi.

I've recently bought an a1200 with 2mb pcmcia ram and 4 gig internal hard drive and am having fun getting back into it although it's a far cry from the 060 based a1200 i had a few years back.

I'm looking at putting Classicwb on it over the weekend if i get the time.

So here i am
Amigafanboi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 October 2010, 16:34   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Welcome to EAB

Classic Workbench is a great choice indeed

For your setup I suggest the Lite or better still the 68k pack (CWB 68k uses a lot less Ram, its geared at A500/A600 with 3.xx Rom however works well on an A1200 with low Ram.)

Enjoy!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 October 2010, 16:55   #3
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
welcome aboard Amigafanboi you finally found home

won`t be long till you start wanting to upgrade that A1200

think about selling that 16bit 2mb pcmcia ram and buy a 8meg 32bit ram card or wait till jens scolfield releases his new ram/030 cards. hopefully before xmas
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 22 October 2010, 18:05   #4
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Welcome to the forum Glad you found us!
ck1200 is offline  
Old 22 October 2010, 22:09   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Hi Amigafanboi, and welcome to EAB!

The Amiga bug's got you again at last!
prowler is offline  
Old 23 October 2010, 10:09   #6
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
Welcome to Eab, one of the best (or best) Amiga forums !!
kriz is offline  
Old 23 October 2010, 12:40   #7
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Thanks!

Kriz i've been reading a few of the forums after being bitten by the bug and this seems the place to be!
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 10 November 2010, 11:43   #8
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
welcome aboard Amigafanboi you finally found home

won`t be long till you start wanting to upgrade that A1200

think about selling that 16bit 2mb pcmcia ram and buy a 8meg 32bit ram card or wait till jens scolfield releases his new ram/030 cards. hopefully before xmas
I haven't had much of a chance to play with the 1200 yet but that sounds like a good idea.

How much is a 2 mb sram card worth these days?
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 10 November 2010, 11:49   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigafanboi View Post
I haven't had much of a chance to play with the 1200 yet but that sounds like a good idea.

How much is a 2 mb sram card worth these days?
I've had a couple, bought and sold the for 25 but have seen them go for up to 40 on feepay! You're better off for an A1200 with a 4/8mb Trapdoor Ram upgrade which will set you back between 30-50 depending on where you buy, maybe a little more on feepay! There is one on their now for 54.99 if you get desperate otherwise put a wanted ad here and at Amibay

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 November 2010, 11:53   #10
Amigafanboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fareham Hampshire
Age: 47
Posts: 142
Thanks Steve, i've recently joined Amibay and have to avoid it as the fingers twitch towards the back pocket which is not good.

I know the sram cardisn't really suited to the a1200 and more the a600.

I'll keep my eye out for a cheap ram expansion.
Amigafanboi is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 11:54   #11
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,279
Welcome fanboi.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 11 November 2010, 12:06   #12
slk486
Registered Looser
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 336
Welcome, welcome!

New "old" Amigans - always great
slk486 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The best way to back up an Amiga? illy5603 support.Other 17 22 January 2013 12:27
Ok ---Im ready to be transported back.back.back to the 90s. Check out what Ive got. nc88keyz Amiga scene 9 12 January 2008 22:58
Back To The Roots back from the dead! MethodGit News 11 22 October 2007 19:27
AMIGA comes back? sw2001 News 19 07 January 2006 13:03
Amiga > PC, but back again? Enverex support.Games 20 30 April 2002 20:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20306 seconds with 11 queries