English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2010, 15:36   #1
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Amiga Users in Bristol / Bath Area?

Afternoon all,

I've just started tinkering around on my A1200 Tower, after a few years of neglecting the poor thing.

I'm in the process of getting back up to speed, remembering the intricacies of the OS etc, and then hope to start trying to expand the Miggy a bit.

Anyway, I just wondered if there were any Amiga users based in the Bristol/Bath area who still use their machine, have expanded their Amiga(s) beyond the initial specs, and who may be interested in meeting up once in a while to swap tips, knowledge etc.

I'm a member of SWAG (South West Amiga Group), but that sees very little activity these days.

Just thought it would be fun to meet up with any local Amiga users who fancy expanding/tinkering with their machines, and swapping tips/tricks.

Anyone?
roberthazelby is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 September 2010, 19:49   #2
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
I'm in the Bristol area. I have 2 original A1200s with HD expansions (one as a spare), still in working condition (though in need of replacement power supply, the A1200 one cuts out intermittently).
I did order a RAM board which turned out to be defective, so for now I'm stuck with a mammoth 2MB Chip Ram on the 'real thing'...

I mostly use WinUAE for my Amiga needs. My HP Pavilion laptop runs it pretty flawlessly, while even my Atom-based Acer Aspire One netbook can run many AGA games full-speed on the go (as well as other platforms), and even Amiga Quake and AB3D2 are playable! This is useful for saving wear and tear on old hardware too.

I have an old 40" back-projector TV, which works with both my HP laptop and real A1200 in both PAL and NTSC modes. Always a useful addition...
Mequa is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 21:46   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,604
I'm in Bath
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 22:01   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
ermm....

Mr Galahad.... sir.....



I think you left this behind....





*teehehehee*
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 22:02   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@roberthazelby

A new miggy member signed up from the bristol area recently - under the name of SkippyAR

seems a nice fellow =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 08:33   #6
bonkers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Berkeley, USA
Posts: 15
Xeron lives in Weston-Super-Mare. He's the guy behind among other stuff Hivelytracker.
bonkers is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 10:40   #7
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Wow. Great to see a nice number of South West based Amiga users.

I've currently got a new 1200 motherboard on order, as the caps on mine seem to have died, meaning my sound is distorted and my right mouse button doesn't work.

Once I've got that installed, I'm going to replace the Xbox hard drive I have in there for a 4gig compact flash, and am also considering getting a PCMCIA network card. (I keep reading about issues with the PCMCIA port. I've got a 68030 card @ 50mhz and 32 megs of fast RAM. Will I encounter issues?)

@Mequa - You say that your WinUAE runs pretty flawlessly. I really must see this. I find that Amiga emulation is 'almost' there, but it's the smooth scrolling of the Amiga that it just can't get right.

I've found that you can have the emulation in 50hz, at the right speed, but with slightly 'chuggy' scrolling, or in 60hz, with smooth scrolling, but everything moves too darned fast.

Rob
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 10:42   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthazelby View Post
I've found that you can have the emulation in 50hz, at the right speed, but with slightly 'chuggy' scrolling, or in 60hz, with smooth scrolling, but everything moves too darned fast.
It's not the emulation, but your monitor (or how you've configured it). Really
TCD is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 10:59   #9
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
Either way you can't beat the real thing.

Its like sex and cyber sex.

(never tried cyber sex btw)
Jimbo is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 11:21   #10
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by roberthazelby View Post
@Mequa - You say that your WinUAE runs pretty flawlessly. I really must see this. I find that Amiga emulation is 'almost' there, but it's the smooth scrolling of the Amiga that it just can't get right.

I've found that you can have the emulation in 50hz, at the right speed, but with slightly 'chuggy' scrolling, or in 60hz, with smooth scrolling, but everything moves too darned fast.
This is a problem with PAL-based games which sync at 50Hz. Many PC monitors can only run at 60Hz, however UAE can speed up PAL Amiga games to sync to 60Hz - only this will speed everything up, and increase the sound pitch. This also requires a reasonably fast PC (Atom and Celeron can struggle here).

To play PAL games with smooth scrolling at the original speed, you'll need to hook up your PC to a 50Hz-capable monitor or TV (I use S-Video output on an old 40" back-projection SD TV, which is adequate for retrogaming), and adjust your display options (usually under your video card manufacturer's control panel) to select PAL/50Hz output for that screen. Make sure you've disabled cloned displays. WinUAE should then be able to sync to 50Hz on that display.

I find 60Hz adequate for most Amiga games though, and tend to enjoy the speed boost.
More dramatic speed boosts can be achieved by disabling Vsync and manually changing the speed in the config file from 60Hz to 120Hz. [ Show youtube player ] in turbo mode.

Last edited by Mequa; 01 October 2010 at 11:33.
Mequa is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 12:16   #11
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
This is a problem with PAL-based games which sync at 50Hz. Many PC monitors can only run at 60Hz, however UAE can speed up PAL Amiga games to sync to 60Hz - only this will speed everything up, and increase the sound pitch. This also requires a reasonably fast PC (Atom and Celeron can struggle here).

To play PAL games with smooth scrolling at the original speed, you'll need to hook up your PC to a 50Hz-capable monitor or TV (I use S-Video output on an old 40" back-projection SD TV, which is adequate for retrogaming), and adjust your display options (usually under your video card manufacturer's control panel) to select PAL/50Hz output for that screen. Make sure you've disabled cloned displays. WinUAE should then be able to sync to 50Hz on that display.

I find 60Hz adequate for most Amiga games though, and tend to enjoy the speed boost.
More dramatic speed boosts can be achieved by disabling Vsync and manually changing the speed in the config file from 60Hz to 120Hz. [ Show youtube player ] in turbo mode.
I created a Turbo version of Stunt Car Racer for AGA and I have to say, it was as quick looking and smooth as the setup you had in that video.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 19:44   #12
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Just to add that my video was the original version, with no hacks other than emulation settings.

I would like to try your speed patch, do you have a URL? I'll see if I can get it any smoother at double speed (if my PC can handle it).
Mequa is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 21:37   #13
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Just to add that my video was the original version, with no hacks other than emulation settings.

I would like to try your speed patch, do you have a URL? I'll see if I can get it any smoother at double speed (if my PC can handle it).
Think its this one: http://www.planetemu.net/index.php?s...rom&id=1079067
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Amiga owners in/near the Los Angeles area interested in helping with a project squirminator2k request.Other 0 28 September 2011 07:53
Other Amiga Folks in the Washington, DC Area? ajacocks Amiga scene 1 07 May 2010 11:01
Wanted: Amiga monitor, Surrey/Hants Area Lordie MarketPlace 0 20 February 2008 20:07
How Many Amiga Users Do You Know Personally? Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 55 27 March 2006 23:07
New Website for UK Amiga Users Mick_AKA Amiga scene 26 13 May 2005 13:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17153 seconds with 11 queries