English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2010, 14:03   #1
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Best File System for CF Cards on a Real Amiga

Another of my "Best way to do something" threads where I pick your brains if that's OK...

I have a 2GB CF Card that I am intending to put into my next A1200 which will have OS3.9 installed.

In the past I have always just gone with the built in standard Fast File System to set up my CF Cards but I know that this is not the most efficient way to set them up and there are faster systems available... so the question is..

Which File System is best...?

From what I can see there are three main choices.

1.Fast File
2.SFS
3.PFS

Which do you use and which version should I use for a 2GB card.

I don't need a bigger CF Card in this A1200 so don't need to worry about File Systems offering larger Hard Drive support here.
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 September 2010, 14:24   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@Peter

I've not tried PFS (will once its free )

But SFS is much faster than FFS on the native IDE (2.2mb/sec compared to 1.2mb sec on my A1200/s)

I've not had any problems with SFS, its running fine on all my Amiga's except my A600 as at the time of setting up it only had the 68k and SFS cannot run on <020

PFS however can run on a 68k being I guess one of its benefits

Try SFS mate, its free and under CWBOS3.9 dead easy to setup.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 14:28   #3
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
When I set mine up I used the mighty Killergorilla guide which can't be much different for CF card's. Or maybe max transfer will be?

http://wiki.abime.net/amigaos_workbench/sfs

It does make a huge difference on a normal HD anyway.
Jimbo is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 14:29   #4
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Steve - which version of SFS do you run?
Peter is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 14:30   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
Steve - which version of SFS do you run?
The one included with CWB OS3.9 (latest version of CWB) whatever that is.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 15:32   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Peter

Use this SFS 1.277 - have a read here for a ClassicWorkbench tutorial for enabling large harddisk support.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 16:13   #7
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
SFS better than PFS....?
Peter is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 18:54   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,568
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Use this SFS 1.277
I thought SFS 1.279 was latest.
I use that on my A1200 CF setup without issue.
FOL is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 19:23   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
SFS better than PFS....?
No, but it's free.


Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I thought SFS 1.279 was latest.
The archive on Aminet contains complete documentation and utility programs, the latest 1.279 only contains the file system. So one should download 1.277, read the docs and install the utilities and then download 1.279 and use that.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 20:22   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,568
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
No, but it's free.




The archive on Aminet contains complete documentation and utility programs, the latest 1.279 only contains the file system. So one should download 1.277, read the docs and install the utilities and then download 1.279 and use that.

Ah, did'nt know that.
I have always just used the filesystem not the utilities. Will check it out.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 02:14   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
I am also looking forward to PFS being free, but I wonder how that twat Andreas has destroyed this possibility

In the meantime, SFS has been serving me well on my A1200
Akira is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 11:26   #12
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I do have a copy of PFS2 on CD - If given a choice between that and SFS 1.279 I have no idea which would be best...
Peter is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 11:34   #13
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
I do have a copy of PFS2 on CD - If given a choice between that and SFS 1.279 I have no idea which would be best...
Try them both mate, compare speeds in SYSInfo and see how you get on, would be nice to know for my future setups

Have fun & take pics!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 11:40   #14
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I am tempted to try and get hold of PFS3 and then do the comparisons.

Just thought I would test the water and see if anyone had sat down and done this before (I hate re-inventing the wheel situations - I'm a lazy b*gger you know!)

Actually it might be quite fun in a strange sort of way...
Peter is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 11:53   #15
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Zetr0 usually has a list of speeds where you at Mr Zee?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 12:45   #16
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
I do have a copy of PFS2 on CD - If given a choice between that and SFS 1.279 I have no idea which would be best...
PFS3 on a real Amiga is lot faster than SFS
however PFS uses the 10% of any partition for cache
so if you format a partition of 1gb with PFS3 you get a partition of 900mb....you lost the 10%
Fabie is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 13:31   #17
HonestFlames
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Telford / England
Posts: 38
I could certainly live with losing 10% to a cache. CF storage is really cheap.

I'm still using FFS and OS3.1 on my A1200. It does everything I need it to. Transfer speed is around 2MB/s, which is what I used to get from my 700MB HD, many years ago.
HonestFlames is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 13:40   #18
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabie View Post
PFS uses the 10% of any partition for cache
That's nonsense. These 10 percent are not cache, they are the directory. While other file systems tell you 1000MB free but each file needs several 512 bytes more than its size, PFS tells you 900MB free, but only uses as much space as the file is big.

This means that PFS wastes a lot of space if you only store big files, but it is more realistic than other file systems if you store a natural mix of file sizes.
thomas is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 13:44   #19
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by HonestFlames View Post
I'm still using FFS and OS3.1 on my A1200. It does everything I need it to. Transfer speed is around 2MB/s, which is what I used to get from my 700MB HD, many years ago.
Transfer speed is irrelevant, it does not depend on the file system used. Access time (seek time) is what matters. Try Quake or another game with huge data files, then you will notice the difference.
thomas is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 13:53   #20
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
@ Thomas, so if you had a choice between SFS and PFS3 regardless of cost - which would you use Thomas?
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System.zip for installing on Real Amiga videofx project.ClassicWB 5 17 February 2013 16:50
Is there a Amiga cheat file database system available? Old Fool support.Games 3 08 March 2012 10:32
Amiga File System DyLucke support.Apps 2 04 April 2010 00:28
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!) Macca support.Hardware 11 11 June 2007 13:04
Amiga File-System MajicMushroom Coders. General 10 28 November 2005 19:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25634 seconds with 11 queries