English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2010, 14:54   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
How do i make hidden directories/drawers permanently visible?

Ok i've almost finished my WinUAE/WHDLoad setup on my old WinXP machine but i cannot remember how to make hidden drawers permanently visible in WB 3.1! I created a games directory/folder using WinXP so everytime i boot up WB 3.1 i have to manually select "show all files" each time to see the games drawer!

If i remember correctly, there needs to be a .info file containing the drawer volumes/attributes? Can anybody help me with this please

Cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 September 2010, 15:16   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quick and dirty way : Copy another folder .info file and give it the same name as the folder. So if your folder is 'Games', rename it to 'Games.info'.
TCD is offline  
Old 26 September 2010, 15:36   #3
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Quick and dirty way : Copy another folder .info file and give it the same name as the folder. So if your folder is 'Games', rename it to 'Games.info'.
Excellent! that method works very well

Thanks very much
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 26 September 2010, 15:38   #4
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
No problem
TCD is offline  
Old 26 September 2010, 17:02   #5
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 276
You can also set View All Files on or off for the drawer you choose, then Snapshot the Window (with the drawer's window focused, of course).

Last edited by LocalH; 26 September 2010 at 18:45. Reason: typo
LocalH is offline  
Old 28 September 2010, 13:35   #6
Anakirob
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocalH View Post
You can also set View All Files on or off for the drawer you choose, then Snapshot the Window (with the drawer's window focused, of course).
Which will only work IF the directory in question has an ".info" file.
Anakirob is offline  
Old 29 September 2010, 17:38   #7
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 276
Hm, didn't think of that, kinda assumed that the OS would create one if necessary.
LocalH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any way to make ROM calls visible? pintcat support.Apps 7 26 July 2012 16:41
Howto show hidden drawers permanently in workbench?? bazizten New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 18 June 2012 10:05
WorkBench 3.0 not showing all drawers/folders?? PowerPie5000 support.Apps 36 19 January 2009 17:42
New HD, HD light permanently on! girv support.Hardware 13 07 January 2007 22:09
nice os 3.9 Drawers!! BarrySWE request.Apps 9 31 October 2005 11:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21854 seconds with 11 queries