English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 September 2010, 02:50   #1
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 155
What is it with Amiga's

That one is never enough? I've just bought an A500 on Ebay with a 1.5mb ram upgrade and I have no idea why. I was bidding on a 2000 from Germany until the wife put the brakes on, i'm losing it I tell you.
chrispy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 September 2010, 03:27   #2
Cloudane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 77
Beats me. I have 3 of those bloody 500s getting in the way now!

Well in my case all 3 were "sold as seen" and I just couldn't resist getting them working.
Think I see them as like animals, I've made them all better and intend to release them back into the wild if I can bring myself to let them go.
Cloudane is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 03:50   #3
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
Mine all started with the A2000 I found in the trash then I had to dig up the 1200 get that working then the 2 500's only got one of those working now
I want to have all of them at least one of each oh and forgot my 1000 thats
all over the second floor....

Chris
ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 03:53   #4
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 155
I had a 1500 after I sold my A500 back in the early 90's and loved it. Had a Commodore 1950 or 60 Multisync monitor to view everything on and it was awesome. I sold it after I became disillusioned with the Amiga scene mid 90's and deeply regret it so I may be on the lookout for one of those soon (ish) if I can get one without my wife noticing lol.
chrispy is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 07:51   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Once you get bitten by the bug building a collection seems the way to go :-)

Mrs Fitz used to have a one in, one out policy but seems to have got used to a house full of Amiga's now lol!

I'm trying hard not to buy an A2000 :-)

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 08:22   #6
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
I know exactly what you are talking about...

I found a pretty good solution tho...

I bought my wife a REALLY nice camera.....

Now I can say "You know I got another Amiga... Just a little thing.. Just a fraction of what that little lens costs even.. "

Of course, it won't last forever.. But she'll be needing a better lens eventually.. That should be good for numerous expansions!!!

er..

Oh, you wanted to know why we can't stop buying all these Amigas, not a way to keep the wife from stopping you...

um.. nothing here... I just can't help it.. ;-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 08:28   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
500 & CD32. 500 because I had it as kid (but with green power light and more silent drive) and CD32 because it's easy to burn and play games.
s2325 is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 08:36   #8
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Once you get bitten by the bug building a collection seems the way to go :-)

Mrs Fitz used to have a one in, one out policy but seems to have got used to a house full of Amiga's now lol!

I'm trying hard not to buy an A2000 :-)

Steve.
My wife only care's that..
1. there all not on at the same time..

2.she has one that she can get on facebook with..

Chris
ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 11:21   #9
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 776
I know what you meen, my old a500 came out of the attick when my parents moved but time had not been its friend so it got chucked (along with a load of other amiga stuff) . this however made get the urge to buy a a1200 as i always wanted one, went onto ebay and found out how collectable all this stuff is, duh to the thorwing of stuff out!

So got a a1200, then decided I wanted a a500 again for compatibility reasons.

Then went and bought a a2000 which was been sold as video edititing equipment, unfortunatly the board had acide damage so the seller gave me pretty much a full refund just instead of sending it back. Bought a replacement mb which when arrived was well bellow standard and after a very dissmissve email from the seller decided to give me a full refund. So to date the a2000 has only cost me about 15 . Just need to get more time into getting it all running how i'd like it to.

When the gf starts to pout to much, i tend to buy her a pair of shoes that usually does the job.
deicidal is offline  
Old 23 September 2010, 13:55   #10
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 155
Fair play to my wife she's normally brilliant with anything I want to do. It's just my office at home has gone from a very tidy and neat workplace to looking like a repair shop and as she correctly states I haven't finished with the 3 1200's and the 500 yet. When i'm done with them i'll probably get a 1500 or 2000.
chrispy is offline  
Old 24 September 2010, 23:54   #11
HonestFlames
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Telford / England
Posts: 38
My second 1200 arrives next week.

Why have I got it? Because I could. It's not even going to have a PSU, mouse, video cables.

Yet... I've also got a set of 3.1 ROMs on the way for it.

I'm bleedin' stupid.
HonestFlames is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 19:10   #12
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Some people here will know i've gone through many A500's, A600's and a good few A1200's... but now i have none

I'm settling with Toni's masterpiece WinUAE for now
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 19:23   #13
Jonathan Drain
YARDS NEED MORE BYTANIUM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sector K240
Posts: 338
I think I'm safe from the Amiga bug. I only own three Amigas.
Jonathan Drain is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 19:29   #14
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Drain View Post
I think I'm safe from the Amiga bug. I only own three Amigas.
It's only a matter of time... I have to keep pulling myself away from Amibay and Ebay
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 20:51   #15
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
500 & CD32. 500 because I had it as kid (but with green power light and more silent drive) and CD32 because it's easy to burn and play games.
same here, although have another 500 as backup/spare.

I did have 9 at one point but was struggling with space!

Would like a mint 3000 but prices are still a little high...
Paul_s is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 20:59   #16
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
We have a quadrillion of those damn Amiga things.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 26 September 2010, 19:50   #17
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Well I like retro gaming and just one model Amiga will not do for that (without using WHDLoad). So I got a 500 then a 2000, 1200 , 3000 and then a 4000.

Luckily I got the 3000 and 4000 very cheap, that stuff is too pricey.

Amigas don't take up that much space (well except for all my boxed games), but my old PCs and Macs do.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 00:17   #18
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 155
I just picked up a full CDTV system for 70 including postage. I always wanted one of those and could never afford it when I was younger.
chrispy is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 00:48   #19
rockape
Registered User
rockape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lincolnshire, England.
Age: 69
Posts: 158
Hi,

I had a bloke come around my house last week checking for a suspected damp prob, anyway he saw my Amigas scattered around and said.

"We have one of those in our loft, would you like it?"

I of course said "yes".

He even foned back later to say he couldn`t find it, but his son was coming to stay for this weekend and he`d get him to find it for me

Regards, Michael

aka rockape
rockape is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 17:43   #20
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
The actual units aren't so bad, but I've been wanting original boxed games now which take up a lot of space.
Strange that back in the day piracy was fine with me, now all I want is originals.
Funny thing with the units as well. I played on my mates 500 and 500+ but never owned one until I got the 600 in 1993. I've wanted to get all models despite only ever owning a 600 which bizarrely I use the least now.
Eclipse is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31937 seconds with 10 queries