English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2010, 02:29   #1
heALer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 54
new a1200

Hi there..
I want to buy and amiga 1200 right now, but can't find anyone who is willing to sell one to me. I found a site on the Internet, a shop here in sweden that have totally new Amiga 1200 computers boxed, they sell them for $563 (433 euro) with Magic pack, original, no harddrive,
A1200 with a 2,1GB harddrive, $916 (650 euro), some expensive harddrive....hmm
so what do you think? the a1200 without harddrive, is that expensive?
or I just wait for a great deal coming up on ebay or something.....
heALer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 September 2010, 02:36   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 5,926
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Wow, they are insane prices to pay for an Amiga 1200.

I suggest you register over at Amibay I think you'll find a much better deal

Good luck with your search.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 02:39   #3
Leffmann
Leffmann with two n's

Leffmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,497
Out of curiosity, what store was that?
Leffmann is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 02:55   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,283
WOw....

I know NOS (New Old Stock) can fetch some prices - but that is crazy

if you dont mind second user (or third / fourth for that matter) I suggest asking on AmiBay and keeping an eye on eBay as well.

Recently I sold a good - clean model - without any yellowing

A1200 Kickstart 3.0
030@28MHz
8MB of FAST RAM
40GB HDD (fully setup and then some)
Workbench 3.0 Disks
Mouse, Joypad
PSU

£145 + postage (aprx £9)


A basic (STOCK) A1200 model with Kick 3.0 mouse and PSU should set you back no more than £55 inc postage within the UK - outside the UK I am unsure to be honest -

If you said 60 - 80 euros that would be close to what would be sensible to pay for a working model.... for a collectors piece however.... well.... thats what the big money is all about.

I believe that you would find AmigaKit.com can provide you a new old stock Amiga for much less the cost and with extra gubbins too.

Amigakit prices start at 119.99 euros for the basic model however you can customize it on site with what they offer for a total of 229.56 euros + postage

it includes

A1200 (EU PAL model)
Kickstart 3.1
Workbench 3.0
Internal 4GB compact Flash (hardisk) and IDE interface
White (amiga Logo) Mouse
PCMCIA RJ45 Ethernet via PCMCIA
Magic Pack Software bundle
220volt European Power Pack

you should be able to find a solid fast (50Mhz) 030 accelerator with 32MB of FAST RAM for about 180 euros thus putting you with a very tricked out Amiga A1200 for about 400 euros.

yeah its a lot of money to be honest.... but this hobby is fast growing expensive over the last few years.

I have to admit the A1200 with a 2.1GB HDD for $915 is laudible and grossly offensive to be fair - do you have a web-link to this store?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 02:56   #5
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 153
Keep checking out Amigakit.com who have them from time to time brand new for only £169. Much better than that extortionate price you've been quoted. Or better still hit Ebay, loads to be had on there cheap as chips.
chrispy is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 11:33   #6
heALer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 54
thanks for the answers! That was much cheaper at amigakit! I will check that out.

Zetr0: the store in sweden is http://www.spelfyndet.se/
it's in swedish though.. click on "Commodore" to the left, then "Hårdvara" then AMiga 1200, prices there are in SEK.

i
heALer is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 11:55   #7
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 36
Posts: 510
Funny thing... On the website www.spelfyndet.se you can read:
"Produkten är Fabriksny, komplett och original." which means:

"The product is new from the factory, complete and original."

Wonder if it really is so?
1time is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 12:10   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,805
705 €? F*cking hell! They completely missed out on the 'OMG! L@@K! RARE!' in the description...
TCD is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 12:23   #9
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 502
Either they have themselves paid way too much for some NOS A1200s, or are just trying to cash in on the supposed rarity.
ajk is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 12:54   #10
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 36
Posts: 510
I did send them a mail with the question "Is this really a, never used, never open, never refurbished, never started, brand new A1200"

Will tell you all about the answer when/if i ever get one.

And the price is just crazy.
1time is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 13:10   #11
Leffmann
Leffmann with two n's

Leffmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1time View Post
I did send them a mail with the question "Is this really a, never used, never open, never refurbished, never started, brand new A1200"

Will tell you all about the answer when/if i ever get one.

And the price is just crazy.
Not brand new, but manufactured 1996 or thereabouts and have remained boxed since. It's what's called "new old stock" and they were available for half that price at Amigakit up until recently.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 13:17   #12
heALer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 54
They have high prices on everything..
I looked at amigakit, and they didn't have any A1200 in stock right now, if I didn't do any wrong heh...
I clicked on Amiga 1200 and it says "There are no products to list in this category."
heALer is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 13:23   #13
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 5,926
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by heALer View Post
They have high prices on everything..
I looked at amigakit, and they didn't have any A1200 in stock right now, if I didn't do any wrong heh...
I clicked on Amiga 1200 and it says "There are no products to list in this category."
Send Amigakit a PM, maybe they have one

It said the same for A1200 Keyboards but I sent them a message and they added it to the site

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 13:28   #14
Pavel
The Swede
Pavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Age: 34
Posts: 30
amigakit is currently out of stock on the new A1200. They will have a fresh batch soon. Give em a call, and they will sort you out cuz im sure they are not completely out of stock .

I'm getting another "new old stock" as soon as they are back online. One never knows when they will run out of them completely, and you can never have too many Amigas
Pavel is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 13:29   #15
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 32
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavel View Post
amigakit is currently out of stock on the new A1200. They will be in stock soon. Give em a call, im sure they will sort you out cuz im sure the are not completely out of stock .

I'm getting another "new old stock" as soon as they are back in stock. One never know when they will run out of them completely, and you can never have too many Amigas
Very true!
ck1200 is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 14:10   #16
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
well the ones with gig HDDs in must have been opened at some point

explains why amigakit hast posted in this thread yet then if they are out of stock heheheheh
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 14:18   #17
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 32
Posts: 2,231
So amazing it is still availible But this was too expensive.
kriz is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 14:50   #18
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 36
Posts: 510
Just got an answer from them.

The A1200 they are selling has never been used by anyone.
1time is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 15:29   #19
4pLaY
resistance.no
4pLaY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Norway
Age: 34
Posts: 69
They probably themself have bought them at AmigaKit or earlier shops who had them like Vesalia and KDH :-), just like Datakompaniet used to do here in norway.
4pLaY is offline  
Old 16 September 2010, 19:04   #20
chrispy
Registered User
chrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wales (Gods Country)
Posts: 153
I'm waiting on a new one myself. Originally it was for my mate who came to see me yesterday and got hooked on Alien Breed and Project X but now he's having mine and i'm having the new one.
chrispy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - A1200/A1000/IndiAGA MkII/A1200 Trapdoor Ram & Other Goodies! fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 11 December 2012 11:32
Orig. Commodore A1200 vs. Escom A1200 c0dehunter MarketPlace 5 01 June 2011 21:08
Trading A1200 030 acc and A1200 indivision for Amiga stuff 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 17 14 December 2009 22:50
Trade Mac g3 300/400 or A1200 for an A1200 accellerator BiL0 MarketPlace 0 07 June 2006 18:41
A1200 , and a1200 hardware keropi MarketPlace 23 22 February 2005 01:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21419 seconds with 11 queries