English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2011, 01:16   #1881
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Nobody can say for sure because they are all different (eg one version of 1B may have had the fixes at the applied at the factory and another one won't)

Best revision is ID3 apparently (rare).
Even 1D3 have timing issues.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 February 2011, 01:34   #1882
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
In theory my rev.2B is one of the worsts, but it's working without problems without even seeing how the timing issues caps are. Now I'm posting using Ibrowse for 68020 (no FPU) and my speed is 8,1mb.
There can't be so many revisions with problems (appart of taking out those caps for non adjusted timing issues), as IC tried their ACA's surely with almost all of them, if not all.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 01:45   #1883
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Even 1D3 have timing issues.
Can you check mine before you send it back to me....want to make sure it will work with an ACA

Last edited by NovaCoder; 23 February 2011 at 03:36.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 03:42   #1884
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Can you check mine before you send it back to me....want to make sure it will work with an ACA
Yours was giving yellow screen when testing with our test memory cards. I removed caps and now they work fine.
So timing issues arent just limited to accelerators, .

I will give it a full testing once all caps are repalced.
FOL is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 04:06   #1885
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Cool, thanks for that my good man
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 12:38   #1886
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I found a player that works right with the ACA: Song Player (version 1.63 in Aminet, not the one of CWB39)
It plays even Mp3, but the sound quality with them isn't very good (don't know why). But if you convert them to Aiff you will listen to them really very very well, and it plays smoothly, letting you open other programs at the same time.
The only thing it lacks it's some skins, but I've found SongFace, that makes it look great.

EDIT:Amplifier works much better than AmigaAmp, but it's not as good as SongPlayer.

Last edited by Retrofan; 25 February 2011 at 10:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 21:39   #1887
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,512
My ACA 630's attachment to the CPU seems to be unreliable. My Amiga failed during the party resulting yellow screen and blinking power LED. The whole computer with turboboard worked fine for a week before, many hours per day. But then I brought it to an Amiga party and after a warm-up (about one and half hour) it failed.

After returning home I turned my Junebug on and it worked fine, but again - after some 2 hours the symptoms returned - yellow plus blinks. I opened the case, pushed ACA to the CPU and then it worked fine again, for some 4 hours. But then somebody kicked my table (not so firmly) where Amiga was laying and it resulted system hang-up, black screen and all three LEDs lit. I had to open the case again and push ACA one more time. It seems those two screws are just insufficient to keep the card in its place properly and I will have to work out some better solution.

And yes - the contacts were cleaned with alcohol before I installed the card. It is also possible that there are those microcracks on 68000's feet that Jens was talking about.
Predseda is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 21:54   #1888
ndial
Registered User
ndial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 15
Oh God!
ndial is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 22:11   #1889
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
My ACA 630's attachment to the CPU seems to be unreliable. My Amiga failed during the party resulting yellow screen and blinking power LED. The whole computer with turboboard worked fine for a week before, many hours per day. But then I brought it to an Amiga party and after a warm-up (about one and half hour) it failed.

After returning home I turned my Junebug on and it worked fine, but again - after some 2 hours the symptoms returned - yellow plus blinks. I opened the case, pushed ACA to the CPU and then it worked fine again, for some 4 hours. But then somebody kicked my table (not so firmly) where Amiga was laying and it resulted system hang-up, black screen and all three LEDs lit. I had to open the case again and push ACA one more time. It seems those two screws are just insufficient to keep the card in its place properly and I will have to work out some better solution.

And yes - the contacts were cleaned with alcohol before I installed the card. It is also possible that there are those microcracks on 68000's feet that Jens was talking about.
You can buy some small thin nuts and bolts that will work much better, obviously you cant overtighten them but they wont slip and pull at the board like the screws. There is lots of room on the underside of the board for the small nuts
kipper2k is offline  
Old 23 February 2011, 22:15   #1890
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,512
Yup, I was thinking about something like that. But It would need at least three nuts instead of four for the good solid stability. I hope I will find any suitable solution and I will report then.
Predseda is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 00:03   #1891
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Yup, I was thinking about something like that. But It would need at least three nuts instead of four for the good solid stability. I hope I will find any suitable solution and I will report then.
Odd,

Mine is rock solid, it cant move off the cpu.
Did you overtighten screws?

Else, I would go with micro cracks too.
FOL is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 07:20   #1892
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Other thing: I found a player that works right with the ACA: Song Player (version 1.63 in Aminet, not the one of CWB39)
It plays even Mp3, but the sound quality with them isn't very good (don't know why)
Yeah, just for the fun of it, I was toying with MP3s. Songplayer came on my ClassicWB FULL, so I tried it.
Now, I have an ACA1230/28, so it's not the top of the line...
The demo song that came with it was terrible. So I started converting down bitrates.
48k was almost workable, but not quite...
32k was the suite spot! (well, very "tinny" mono suite spot )
So, I was listening to a 5 minute song from 1.2M MP3 file!!!

Now, there are better ways to get music on the Amiga, but I was imagining what might have been possible around '93 when MP3s were starting...
I never tried it on my Amiga then (no accelerator), but I can imagine I would have been pretty excited doing that!!!

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 12:56   #1893
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Yeah, just for the fun of it, I was toying with MP3s. Songplayer came on my ClassicWB FULL, so I tried it.
Now, I have an ACA1230/28, so it's not the top of the line...
The demo song that came with it was terrible. So I started converting down bitrates.
48k was almost workable, but not quite...
32k was the suite spot! (well, very "tinny" mono suite spot )
So, I was listening to a 5 minute song from 1.2M MP3 file!!!

Now, there are better ways to get music on the Amiga, but I was imagining what might have been possible around '93 when MP3s were starting...
I never tried it on my Amiga then (no accelerator), but I can imagine I would have been pretty excited doing that!!!

desiv
With SongFace http://aminet.net/package/mus/misc/SongFace you can make it to look like this:

The good it has is it comes already configured in SongFace, so it will play really well, although you still can improve it. But the best with difference is to play Aiff files. Ah, I forgot... it comes ready for karaoke.

Last edited by Retrofan; 24 February 2011 at 13:11.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 22:41   #1894
ishe
 
Posts: n/a
Does anyone know if I have a 68030RP33C CPU (black) can I replace the 25B one on ACA1230/28 and have a working MMU processor?
At least the CPU seems to be on a socket...
 
Old 24 February 2011, 23:04   #1895
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Replacing the EC CPU with an Full CPU (including MMU) would be just fine.
It will void your warranty though afaik.
mfilos is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 23:28   #1896
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Vesalia offers an ACA 1230/28 with MMU now.

http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca1230-28.htm
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 February 2011, 23:44   #1897
ishe
 
Posts: n/a
Ok. Most probably I will only do this if I need the MMU and after the 2 years warranty.
I was also wondering wheter running those 25Mhz CPUs on 28Mhz doesn't introduce instability like some others have on this forum... Maybe the 33Mhz version would give some more stability.
 
Old 25 February 2011, 05:27   #1898
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
With a MMU you can play Warcraft II, Links Pro, Abuse, Sim Tower and heaps of other high resolution 256 colour games through Shapeshifter even on a 28Mhz 030 (I do), but without a MMU the graphics will be slow as mud unless you used an Indivision MKII with its Graffiti mode.
Cammy is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 06:25   #1899
dabone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chattanooga TN, USA
Posts: 108
Quote:
Indivision MKII with its Graffiti mode.
Is there any update on the release date for this?


Later,
dabone
dabone is offline  
Old 25 February 2011, 06:54   #1900
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I'm guessing within a couple of months (finger's crossed)
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26335 seconds with 12 queries