English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2011, 00:33   #1521
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
I just wanted to pick a colour which hasn't already been chosen by the Amiga OS developers. I'm probably going to change it to something else in the final version.

Glad that somebody finally tested it and reported back positive results.
HUH??

I emailed jens today, and reported feedback back, .
I even asked some questions.

He proberly has'nt read my email yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigarobbo View Post
To show a time delay to give the Hard drive to be found?
BTW I'm getting 11979 drystones, 12.5 MIP, 9.84 times standard 1200 Speed according to Sysinfo.
Aint had time to fully check it out. kids have the TV, .
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 January 2011, 00:42   #1522
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Well that would just be wierd, cause how would you know about the card in the first place .
Acatune was released when you sent (me) the card. I'm ecologic, so with a pen you could have just put the good link

Anyway...Fortunately there is a great support here.
gibs is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 03:37   #1523
balrogsoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Spain
Age: 35
Posts: 39
Data corrupted with CF PCMCIA adapter

Someone had problems using ACA 630 and a compact flash PCMCIA reader? I have an A600 motherboard rev. 2D, and all data copied to CF card are corrupted, i have tested with ACATune with maprom, fastchip and z2chip functions activated, and i tested also without ACATune, but without any successful result, it only works with ACA 630 disabled.
balrogsoft is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 04:48   #1524
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
After 9 hours of test the ACA630 is stable, but so HOOOOOOT that you can't put a finger on it !!!
gibs is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 05:26   #1525
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
OK, after 15 minutes of testing, my ACA1230/28 is running fine!
(OK, I'm not as patient as gibs.. ;-)

Yeay!

Of course, there's some false advertising here.. I was getting a 28Mhz card, but SYSINFO says it's 29Mhz!!! ;-) :-)

I did have to remove the case to get it to fit, but at least so far (knocking on wood) it's running nicely...

Thanx Jens for a great product and thanx Amigakit for a great store..

64M and 28Mhz.. I feel like Scrooge on Christmas morning... I'm as giddy as a schoolgirl...

What to do with all that power? ;-)
AlienBreed 3D AGA ran great (IMHO)... Same smallish screen and blocky graphics, but seemed much smoother to me... Very playable..

Thanx again,

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 06:49   #1526
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
>After 9 hours of test the ACA630 is stable, but so HOOOOOOT that you can't put a finger on it !!!

At 30 Mhz ??

So why the ACA1230@56 have no rad ?? Please, explain to me ?!!
Cosmos is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 10:31   #1527
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by balrogsoft View Post
Someone had problems using ACA 630 and a compact flash PCMCIA reader? I have an A600 motherboard rev. 2D, and all data copied to CF card are corrupted, i have tested with ACATune with maprom, fastchip and z2chip functions activated, and i tested also without ACATune, but without any successful result, it only works with ACA 630 disabled.
Try removing one of the jumpers NoDisk or BootSel. If that helps, send the card back for service, so proper function can be enabled with jumpers set and PCMCIA working.

Gibs,
there is no need to put a finger on it. It was designed to accelerate your A600, not to please your fingers :-) Jokes aside, it's perfectly normal that a heatsink gets hot.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 12:40   #1528
PulsatingQuasar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
After 9 hours of test the ACA630 is stable, but so HOOOOOOT that you can't put a finger on it !!!
That is why I put a fan and heatsink combination on the ACA630. The fan is 12V but I run it at 7V. It works great.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=1310
PulsatingQuasar is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 14:33   #1529
balrogsoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Spain
Age: 35
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Try removing one of the jumpers NoDisk or BootSel. If that helps, send the card back for service, so proper function can be enabled with jumpers set and PCMCIA working.

Jens
Thanks Jens, i have removed NoDisk jumper, and now it works perfectly! And thanks you for your efforts to bring new accelerators for our classic Amigas.
balrogsoft is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 14:44   #1530
PulsatingQuasar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 57
The Indivision ECS and the chip RAM expansion and some other things have been ordered at Vesalia. AmigaKit doesn't seem to have the Indivision anymore. With that I can finish the ACA630 Amiga 600.


I'm looking forward to the following pieces of upgrades. If and when they appear.

The Indivision AGA mk2 for the Amiga 1200. An accelerator for the CD32 and an Indivision for the CD32 but only if there will be an accelerator for the CD32.

I have no Amiga 500 and don't want one either. So I am really looking forward towards a CD32 accelerator.
PulsatingQuasar is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 15:13   #1531
p@rity
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by PulsatingQuasar View Post
...I'm looking forward to the following pieces of upgrades. If and when they appear.

The Indivision AGA mk2 for the Amiga 1200...
You and me (and probably most 1200 users here) both... I can't wait to get rid of all the bulky CRT monitors on my desk. It sounds like it will be a while longer though.
 
Old 09 January 2011, 15:18   #1532
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by PulsatingQuasar View Post
AmigaKit doesn't seem to have the Indivision anymore.
We have, they came in late Friday. Just have'nt been added to the system yet.
If in doubt, just drop us an email, asking and we will do our best to help.
FOL is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 15:46   #1533
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
HUH??

I emailed jens today, and reported feedback back, .
I even asked some questions.

He proberly has'nt read my email yet.
Ah, okay. Sorry, I didn't want to exclude you.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 16:11   #1534
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Gibs,
there is no need to put a finger on it. It was designed to accelerate your A600, not to please your fingers :-) Jokes aside, it's perfectly normal that a heatsink gets hot.
Jens
Jens,

I'm worried for the keyboard ribbon cable.
As for example in the ZX Spectrum "Issue Two" board the heatsink has burnt all the ribbons. Then Sinclair has released the "Issue 3b" with a heatsink relocated.

On the ACA630 the surface of the heatsink cover all the ribbon cable. It is as hot and large than you could cook a egg on it.
I'm going to look for a way to protect the ribbon cable.

BTW, some people asked me what I think about the ACA630, I did a video:
[ Show youtube player ]

Cheers
gibs is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 16:57   #1535
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Jens,

I'm worried for the keyboard ribbon cable.
As for example in the ZX Spectrum "Issue Two" board the heatsink has burnt all the ribbons. Then Sinclair has released the "Issue 3b" with a heatsink relocated.

On the ACA630 the surface of the heatsink cover all the ribbon cable. It is as hot and large than you could cook a egg on it.
I'm going to look for a way to protect the ribbon cable.

BTW, some people asked me what I think about the ACA630, I did a video:
[ Show youtube player ]

Cheers
It will be fine.

If you feel happy in adding a cooling method, thats up to you.
However adding heatsinks and fans etc etc, will proberly void your warranty.

Last edited by FOL; 09 January 2011 at 17:23. Reason: Cant be bothered.
FOL is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 17:33   #1536
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Could you not just put some insulation tape over the keyboard cable?
Surely that would protect it a little at least...
Peter is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 17:58   #1537
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
@Peter

That was what I meant

@FOL

Damned, the guy that put the fan has lost his warranty ??
If the ACA damage the ribbon, will you send us some new matrix for free?
gibs is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 18:01   #1538
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Re - Ribbon Cable tape - I think I will do the same - cant do any harm....
Peter is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 18:17   #1539
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
If the ACA damage the ribbon, will you send us some new matrix for free?
There is no reason for your worries of a melted cable. The heatsink won't ever reach the melting temperature of that material. Should it ever do that in normal operation (that is: 24/7 operation, which is guaranteed), I'll bring the replacement matrix to your house myself.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 09 January 2011, 18:55   #1540
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
There is no reason for your worries of a melted cable. The heatsink won't ever reach the melting temperature of that material. Should it ever do that in normal operation (that is: 24/7 operation, which is guaranteed), I'll bring the replacement matrix to your house myself.

Jens
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27574 seconds with 12 queries