English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 September 2010, 06:43   #121
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Excellent !!!
Cosmos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 September 2010, 06:55   #122
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Cool, getting close to how the A600 should have been spec'd to start with
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 10:10   #123
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Looking good I gotta say. Better get saving then.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 11:35   #124
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
That's what credit cards are for alexh, get now and save and pay but use at the same time? ;-)
Slayer is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 12:11   #125
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer View Post
That's what credit cards are for alexh, get now and save and pay but use at the same time? ;-)
We all know it never works out like that, lol.
FOL is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 12:39   #126
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I haven't made the SD-Ram controller for anything faster than 25MHz/28MHz yet, so at this point, the Blizzard is faster. You cannot pre-order, the accelerators will be available before Xmas from my known resellers.

amigarobbo is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 13:21   #127
Sledge/FLT
Registered User
Sledge/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 19
Jens: It's amazing to see your work in progress. I'm impressed how good you are at doing things like this.

thomas
Sledge/FLT is offline  
Old 25 September 2010, 16:19   #128
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Sledge,

that's because I don't post pictures of the "epic fails" :-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 26 September 2010, 21:54   #129
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
more WIP:

The new A600 prototype is now fully functional. The jumpers worked out as planned:

- both jumpers open: Nothing changed, all disk drives behave as expected

- "Bootselect" jumper closed:
-- internal floppy connector is disabled.
-- external floppy drives become df0: to df2: (if available)

- "noDisk" jumper closed:
-- all connected and unconnected disk drives appear empty (even with disks inserted), which speeds up boot-time on a totally floppy-less computer.

- both jumpers closed:
-- doesn't make sense. I could add something funny here, like swapping the joystick fire buttons port 0/port 1, but that's about as useless as making all drives appear empty and have them "shifted". I guess I can just leave this as-is, unless someone here has a useful suggestion.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 26 September 2010, 22:13   #130
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,173
Great development!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I guess I can just leave this as-is, unless someone here has a...
Oooh! You could...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
useful suggestion.
Oh, in that case.. Carry on.. ;-)

Waiting for the 28Mhz A1200 one myself..
I know, I said I broke down and agreed to an 8M 1200 expansion just before this was offered, but 2 things..

1: This is much nicer, and I'd want it anyway..
2: It's been almost a month since I paid and it hasn't shipped, so I'm beginning to think I'm not getting that one... (Not e-bait) :-(

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 00:39   #131
rockape
Registered User
rockape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lincolnshire, England.
Age: 69
Posts: 158
A600 work.

Hi Jens,

Thats most excellent work your doing

There are a few here at LAG saving for Christmas.

Regards, Michael

aka rockape
rockape is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 05:46   #132
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
more WIP:

The new A600 prototype is now fully functional. The jumpers worked out as planned:

- both jumpers open: Nothing changed, all disk drives behave as expected

- "Bootselect" jumper closed:
-- internal floppy connector is disabled.
-- external floppy drives become df0: to df2: (if available)

- "noDisk" jumper closed:
-- all connected and unconnected disk drives appear empty (even with disks inserted), which speeds up boot-time on a totally floppy-less computer.

- both jumpers closed:
-- doesn't make sense. I could add something funny here, like swapping the joystick fire buttons port 0/port 1, but that's about as useless as making all drives appear empty and have them "shifted". I guess I can just leave this as-is, unless someone here has a useful suggestion.

Jens
Both jumpers closed could enable the Quantum Computer co-processor.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 06:19   #133
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Both jumpers closed could enable the Quantum Computer co-processor.

Or better, enable the built-in fpga VideoToaster
gulliver is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 09:49   #134
dalton
tulou
dalton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Posts: 68
The A600 board looks really nice. I invested in an apollo 630 board several years ago, but it was useless because of (mainly mechanical) design flaws. This seems like a much more solid design, well done!

Looking forward to more news about the A1200 accellerators too. Apart from missing FPU (many demos require it), the specs are really promising!
dalton is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 10:51   #135
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Or better, enable the built-in fpga VideoToaster
Hehe
cv643d is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 11:01   #136
stefcep2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
Or better, enable the built-in fpga VideoToaster
8 meg chip ram-oh wait, they did that on the A4000D.
stefcep2 is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 11:14   #137
Amigaman
Registered User
Amigaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Posts: 116
Just seen the pics, that is a work of genious! Jens, wish you good luck with the board(s) I know I will be getting one as soon as possible. Hope Amigakit will have them in stock!

Couple of questions
1. Is there a minimum kickstart requirment?
2. Seriously, any chance of a disable switch? (without dismantling the A600 and removing the whole kit!) just a jumper that we can add a cable and switch onto maybe?
3. how did the heat test go?
4. Approx power requirements for running all the setup as demoed in your pics (A603, indivision, accelerator and flashdrive on top of normal operations)

Good work man!
Amigaman is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 14:51   #138
Cloudane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 77
Good, now manufacture some more indivisions, they're like gold dust at the moment :P
Cloudane is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 18:43   #139
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
Just seen the pics, that is a work of genious!
Thanks - however, I'm far from "genious". I do my job and look for the obvious solution. Sometimes it requires things like http://rr.c64.org/wiki/File:Contraption.jpg to wake me up, and some other time, I don't fail that badly. Thanks anyway :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
1. Is there a minimum kickstart requirment?
Yes, there is. The A1200 version is best operated with Kickstart 3.1. Kickstart 3.0 does not find the memory, so you should upgrade. If you don't want to upgrade your kickstart, you can close the kick3.0 jumper. This will give you 1MB fastmem (where all the system stuff will be located), and after running the ACAtune tool, you'll have the rest of the memory added to the system.

The A600 card requires Kick2.0 or higher for the fastmem to be found. It's taking advantage of the Z3 autoconfig mechanism, which is not available under Kick 1.3.

The obvious question one might ask is why I didn't implement the same thing on the 1200 card: The answer is "not enough pins on the logic chip". The designs are substantially different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
2. Seriously, any chance of a disable switch? (without dismantling the A600 and removing the whole kit!) just a jumper that we can add a cable and switch onto maybe?
More than just a chance:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ACA630_mass_production_3Dmockup.jpg
Views:	494
Size:	105.7 KB
ID:	26584
The disable-function is untested at this point and will not be tested until the mass-produced boards are here. I'm not planning to make another prototype run, as this feature is not a key feature. It may or may not work, with probabilities for "will work" being higher.

The A1200 version does NOT have this option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
3. how did the heat test go?
I haven't even started. My weekend-activities were "longer than planned". I have a life outside the office as well :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigaman View Post
4. Approx power requirements for running all the setup as demoed in your pics (A603, indivision, accelerator and flashdrive on top of normal operations)
I will of course measure power during the heat test, because the power going into the computer is directly proportional to the amount of heat that needs to be dissipated. My guess is that the setup with flashcard and flickerfixer will be very power-efficient compared to a setup with a real harddrive and a floppy drive installed. It's the first accelerators with full 3.3V logic and low-power SD-Ram. The flickerfixer is known to be very power efficient with it's 1.5V core voltage, and the A603 is based on S-Ram instead of D-Ram, so there's every chance that the standard power supply will be sufficient for the whole thing.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 27 September 2010, 19:50   #140
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,513
Please, Jens, KEEP THOSE SIGNS on the final board as well! I love them!!!
Predseda is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Details for the next generation of Flickerfixers from Individual Computers MarkONE News 2438 01 February 2016 13:04
A600 board versions and accelerator cards LePiaf support.Hardware 9 03 September 2012 13:49
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25730 seconds with 12 queries